We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte
Ranked #67 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Just the Basics”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is caters to the business crowd, and only offers the bare necessities. If you get breakfast included in your room rate, the buffet is your standard Continental European fare, though they offer Belgian Waffles made-to-order. Not once did any server show me to a table, come by to check on me, offer me a fresh pot of coffee, or inquire as to whether I wanted any made-to-order breakfast items. The room service selection is horribly unappetizing, and is only served until 10pm. There aren’t any good restaurants within walking distance, so be prepared to eat dinner elsewhere! Despite having BWR Diamond Elite status, the staff did not offer me any sort of room upgrade or late checkout. In fact, I saw absolutely no benefit to even having BWR Diamond Elite status! The “double” room is a typical European double – two twin beds that can be pushed together. The bedding was fine, but the bath towels were threadbare! Some of them were even beginning to unravel! Oh, and bring your own après-shampoo (aka conditioner); the hotel doesn’t provide it. Given the price and location, I think this hotel needs to step it up! Though it’s conveniently located near the U5 Geissnerstrasse tram stop, it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the heart of downtown Frankfurt.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    108
    41
    16
    5
See reviews for
31
44
24
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel is "outside" of the downtown area, but with the new public transportation #18 streetcar in front of the hotel, it makes commuting much easier with a 10 min ride to the pedestrian shopping area "Zeill". The rooms are a decent size and clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice. There is a gym, but it is small with only about three pieces of equipment. The location to the US Consulate is convenient and there is a very nice grocery store across the street to buy drinks and snacks to put in the empty mini fridge in the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. You also have two choices of restaurants inside the hotel, The Cube which has a bar and tables serving sandwiches, salads, burgers, etc., along with a more upscale restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanjaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I booked this hotel because I had a meeting literally around the corner. If you are wanting a good hotel experience, this ain't it. The rooms are very basic, no mini-fridge, no IRON even, no bottled water (there is a vending machine down the hall). Also the gym is incredibly basic, with one treadmill, and one bicyle, and one universal machine which was out of order during my visit. It's fine if you have a meeting in the area, don't think I would stay there if I didn't. Oh yeah, all the rooms are twin bedded, no queens or kings. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

What a nice place this is! I'm so glad I chose it when visiting family in the area. After experiencing downtown Frankfurt on a busy day, I was so glad I was in a residential neighborhood rather than in daytime frenzy and (sometimes) lurid nightlife in the city center! This Best Western sits at a 3-point intersection where Homburger Landstrasse meets Friedberger Landstrasse at the Friedberger Warte (watchtower; now a restaurant). The hotel is close to the 661 (exit 9) by auto, and an extension of a U tram is being built up the middle of Friedberger, so downtown will soon be a short ride away (www.hotmap.com/frankfurt). The airport is a 38-euro taxi ride but is easier than taking bags on the airport train to the Hauptbanhof and changing to the U line.

The neighborhood is safe and pretty. A newcomer need only take care not to be hit by trams or bicyclists sneaking up from behind. A novice walker must watch that he stay in pedestrian lanes, and be alert for a ringing (or a person saying "ding-ding") behind him. Pedestrians have the upper hand at crosswalks, where stop-traffic buttons work fast and are universally obeyed. The compound of the U.S. Consulate is across the street, A market is a block away.

This hotel is special. The "IB" in its name stands for "Internationaler Bund," meaning the place is a partner with a program that trains special populations in job skills, in this case, the hotel industry. (For more information go to: www.internationaler-bund.de and choose "English".) The building is new construction, built about 5 years ago, very well soundproofed, with individual climate control (AC included) and furniture in like-new condition. Desk staff speak, or are learning, English at a faster rate than I am learning German.

I had a super room. I paid the slight extra for a guaranteed smoke-free room on one of the top floors, though cigarette smoke was never a problem. It was noticeable only on the first level, which is the conference facilities. Needless to say, my room was very clean -- I can't quite say "spotless" because there were some drip marks on the carpet from accidents with bleach. I lucked into a corner room; it included a sofa so could sleep three. There was a large bathroom with a luxurious, glass-enclosed shower and a robe waiting for me. There was a programmable safe in the clothes cupboard, plus minifridge, coffee service, wifi, cable TV (some channels in English), and both heat and air conditioning individually controlled, i.e., all the amenities of the expensive downtown 5-stars, at half the price. The card given to me with my room key had a "hotline number" to phone for any needs, such as a bath item forgotten when the room was set up. Notices pasted on windows apologized for noise from tram line work, but with windows closed no street sounds came in. (BTW: the front desk has a big box with a collection of power converters for electronic equipment from all parts of the world.)

Included in my room rate was a buffet breakfast as full of choices as any 5-star. I especially appreciated the Nurnberger sausages, fresh fruits, and breakfast pastries. Different kinds of fresh-baked hard rolls were popular with many guests, and one day I noticed that folks seemed to be getting Belgian waffles by special order. Must have been that morning's cooking lesson. Two mornings I noticed a small plate with a variety of dessert-like goodies that I speculated were samples of the previous night's pastry class.

There are two things in which this hotel let me down: one was that in the evenings the TV carried graphic advertisements for escort services, broadcast on what had been the children's entertainment channels by day. I needed a weather channel and porn was proffered. The other was a biggie: the beds.

My hotel bed is very important; I need a Marriott-quality bed wherever I go, being a senior with joint issues. When I first saw the beds in my room, I thought they had not been made up. This hotel is currently using the small beds made for cruise ships and riverboats: a pair of 2m by 1m bases, upon which, onboard ship, is placed a wide overlay for passengers wishing a matrimonial bed, or the bases are separated and given two single overlays for twin beds. This Best Western doesn't have the overlays! My beds were a pair of bases wrapped tightly in rubber sheeting, over which was stretched a bottom bedsheet. I was told that Germans love their beds hard, but THIS I did not expect! Nor did I expect that the bedlinens would be no more than just a narrow duvet (only the length and width of the bed; didn't cover all of me), and a 1m square pillow (?) that was loosely filled with a crackly, dusty substance. Fortunately, after a couple of painful hours on that bed, I realized I could use the cushions from the sofa to make my bed softer, and the bathrobe rolled up under my head for a pillow. Sadly, the bed arrangement keeps this place from being 5-star quality...and will keep me from being able to stay there again.

I sensed that upgrades are ongoing, perhaps as budget allows. I am hoping that before I am in Frankfurt again this hotel will have the overlays -- hopefully the marvelous new memory-foam overlays like the one on the Swiss riverboat that I had just disembarked. Guests who arrive by car can bring their preferred bedding from home, but I can't do that on a Lufthansa jet. The bilingual room information says management offers a "neck pillow" available on request; I didn't find out what that was. I hope by the time I will be there again, overlays -- and down pillows, too -- will be available on request...if not on all beds.....

And wider duvets............

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manekineko38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Had a great 2 night stay. Needed a room with 2 beds, no problem. Room was huge, breakfast was really good buffet, bartender was great and the food in the reataurant was good. Location, it is fine for work, next to US consulate. Road is under major construction, putting a u line in. Will be a 4+ location when done. As is, 10 min walk, 20 min u train ride to downtown. I would recommend, especially for English speaking tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel is literally just around the corner from the US Consulate; nice if you have business there and need to stay over. There is public transportation within walking distance, but look it up on a map and print a timetable before you go if you need it, as the hotel staff seemed to be rather ill-informed about the location and schedule. When asked, I got "down the street there's a bus stop" and that was it. There is a streetcar stop in less distance in the other direction which is much more convenient to the downtown area. Open parking is free; garage parking 10€ per night. The Biergarten and Restaurant in the old Warte across the street is nice. The prices were reasonable and the service was friendly. We had a triple room which was quite large and perfectly fine for a long weekend. There was a huge road construction when we were there which made getting into the hotel parking lot a bit confusing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friedbergerwarte, General Manager at Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Writer,
Thank you being guest with us and for your comment on TripAdvisor! I recognized that you have had a pleasant stay but we still have to improve certain things.
I learnt that we have to train our staff for more convenient advices to our guests and I promise, we will work on it! The road construction will be finished by December and I ’am glad, that our guests will presently not be disturbed due to good sound proof windows.
And I’ am happy to inform you, that you will find a tram-station near by the hotel from December 2011, which will get you to down town very easy and fast. I am looking forward welcome you again at the BEST WESTERN PREMIER IB Hotel Friedberger Warte and thank you again.
Best Regards,
Michael Mauersberger (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is an excellent hotel on the outskirts of Frankfurt.

It is located well within easy travelling distance to the city centre.

We also went to the Friedberger Warte restaurant across the road. This was an excellent choice of traditional german food. Great atmosphere and very friendly staff.

I look forward to visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Advena Motel Frankfurt
Advena Motel Frankfurt
#133 of 269 in Frankfurt
61 reviews
Westend-Süd
NH Frankfurt Villa
NH Frankfurt Villa
#41 of 269 in Frankfurt
218 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Beethoven
Hotel Beethoven
#106 of 269 in Frankfurt
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bockenheim
Novotel Frankfurt City
Novotel Frankfurt City
#53 of 269 in Frankfurt
887 reviews
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#22 of 269 in Frankfurt
652 reviews
Gerbermuehle Hotel
#93 of 269 in Frankfurt
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte

Property: Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte
Address: Homburger Landstrasse 4, 60389 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bornheim , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#43 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#45 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Frankfurt
Frankfurt Best Western
Friedberger Warte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing