We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”
Review of Frankfurt Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frankfurt Hostel
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at this hostel for just one night. It is located just opposite the Frankfurt main station. Considering the fact that the area around the main station is somewhat shady, I felt very safe here.. It has great social vibe, free wifi, free breakfast, clean rooms with bedding, clean bathrooms, locker and of course a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avanti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    211
    114
    36
    17
See reviews for
21
64
168
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is perfect to explore the city, most of the staff were helpful.
The breakfast was nice and some nice restaurant/bars on the same street to eat out in.

A lot has been mentioned about the not so friendly locals hanging around but this is the same as any city near a train station and no one will approach you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I found Frankfurt Hostel great!
It is exactly what a hostel should be - it had a very social vibe, beds were comfy, showers were wonderful, breakfast expected, free pasta every night (what a bonus for young travellers on a budget in the freezing winter!) and friendly staff (however the male staff were way more friendly than the female staff).
Free wifi was also a good bonus.
There was a fair bit of noise from other rooms (I stayed in a double and there was a lot of noise travelling through the corridors late at night from party-goers returning to dorms) but it is a hostel - what do you expect?
Perfect location, close to everything, easy to find.
Everything was clean and in good condition. I have nothing negative to say about this hostel.

Room Tip: Double rooms are great, giving fresh towels each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

i recently stayed here for 3 nights early december 2012, the place was cheap and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
there was a slight problem with our booking as it was not received from booking.com however we received a discounted rate due to this.
there is a complementary breakfast included in the price and whilst we were there a free dinner if required.
this hostel was in a central location with less than a minute to walk to the train station.
would not recommend however for families with young children due to the surrounding area being the red light district, yet for singles and young people this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigtp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

So we stayed here for 2 nights with 2 couples and it wasn0t a really good experience. I will just sum up the good and bad.

Good:
- All you can eat breakfast
- Clean rooms
- You can't hear the noise from the bar if you go up one floor
- Location is near all the interesting places

Bad:
- Location is also near the red light district
- Breakfast is crowded
- The music in the bar is constant annoying electro stuff
- Guests return at all hours to the sleeping quarters andf are very noisy. My friend had to go to a dorm room at 4 in the morning where there was a party going on to ask them to keep it quiet
- We stayed in a room near the main entrance door for the floor, it is some kind of saftey door that closes by itself and every time someone would enter the door slammed shut on it's own. We heard and felt the door slam shut every time.


So we won't stay here again, too noisy and too crowded.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room away from the main entrance of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for one night. We stayed in the 6 mixed doom room. The rooms were clean and the beds were compfy (what you expect for 20.00 Euro a night). I personally found the staff not so friendly and the noise from the street kept me up most of the night. The common area was packed most of the time, so it was hard to find a seat just to relax.

I wouldn't stay here again, but for 20 Euro a night you can't expect too much.

Room Tip: the hostel is in the red light district, so if your sketchy about sleeping near a place like that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in a 10 bedroom mixed dorm.

the room was okay clean, no complaints, BUT the lock system has to be the worst I have ever seen.
I would guess around 1 percent of all guests can open their doors without having other guests explain it to them.

The other experience I had was; that in this 10 bedroom dorm were suddenly 11 people. one person more than beds were available.

So after a complaint, the receptionist would come up to the dorm and read the list of names of the people that were booked into the room.

I was not on the list.
So I told him that I know for sure that I booked until the end of the week.
He just replied "I know you did not, because I work here!"

And while I was hastily looking for the receip in my wallet, he would say "Who did allow you to check out late hmh?"

Needless to say that I could prove with my bill that I was right and not he.

I don't mind the part where 11 people were in a 10 bedroom dorm, things like that happen.
BUT I do mind how he treated me and he was not even man enough to say sorry afterwards.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,480 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 269 in Frankfurt
766 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
565 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frankfurt Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frankfurt Hostel

Property: Frankfurt Hostel
Address: Kaiserstr. 74, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Frankfurt Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 minute walk from Central Train Station! Our Hostel is located in the Heart Of Frankfurt, near shops and restaurants, bars and clubs. It is also conveniently located across the street from the main train station ('Hauptbahnhof') and 17 min. by subway/train from Frankfurt International Airport. Everything Is In Walking Distance! Forget Public Transport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Frankfurt Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing