We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humiliating & Terrible check-in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #79 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Humiliating & Terrible check-in!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked this hotel through Expedia but when this hotel received the booking they couldn't find my reservation. We arrived at 2330 and tried to check-in but was told by the hotel clerk that sorry we don't have a reservation for you so more than likely you booked a different Fleming Hotel. I said "no I booked this hotel at this address"... The clerk continued to talk down us saying we have for reservations but none are yours... i even showed him the reservation confirmation email for the hotel but still no success.. The clerk talked to us like we were stupid... Keep in mind that its late at night... So after arguing trying to convince the clerk the we have a reservation, he told us to go sit at the cafe while he researched further... At this point we are very upset! Instead of him putting us in a room until the morning while they figure everything out he made us sit while others watched thinking we are lying about our reservation... About 25 mind later he came back apologizing saying a mistake was made on their part when they received the booking from Expedia.com. Whoever from the hotel that received the booking used my middle name instead of my last name to hold the reservation... We were very disappointed... I hated his attitude towards us from the time we arrived... When we finally got the room key we took all our bags to the 2nd floor only to find out the key didn't work!!! Keep in mind it's now after midnight and we are very tired! So went back down to get a new key... In order for us to get some good sleep we put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door so we can get some uninterrupted sleep... For some reason because the sign was on the door the hotel called and WOKE US out of our sleep asking to clean the room!!! I was so upset!!! the next day I noticed that the showers are positioned near the window where the curtains do not close all the way allowing the room on the corner the opportunity to see inside when the light is on! Very creepy!!! The rest of the room was fine... The first night is what really ruined it all.. We stayed 2 nights (36 hrs)... Breakfast was okay but we do not consider it a buffet... A few cold items but the warm foods they bring to you upon request... Slow service! This hotel is good price wise and location but service is terrible!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Jamaal H.,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with me.

I feel really sorry for the experiences you had to make during Check-In.
And you are right that this should not be the service offered by our hotel.
Please apologize this incident!

I will take your criticism as an opportunity to train the employee again
in its operation and conduct.

Please excuse also the disturbance of our Housekeeping department. Normally
they call the guests not before noon to make sure when service should be offered.
I will also take care of this.

I apologize again for these incidents during your stay and we really hope that
you will come back so that we can convince you from our service and that we
worked on it.

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    138
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
9
49
25
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is located just next tot the train station and is very close both to the fairtrade and some of the banks in Frankfurt. So it might be a place of your choice if you need to travel by train or you travel in business.

The area by itself is not that nice. It is very close to a red light district and on the way to the hotel you might meet some junkies. Also the view from the hotel's windows is relatively bad. From some of the rooms you will see just a ruins of some other houses.

Pros: Breakfast - one of the best I had on my business trips, close to business, nice sauna

Cons: Not a nice area, distant to the city center, average fitness center.

I would not recommend it to the families with children and couples on a city break holidays, but if you travel solo and/or business this is a good choice.

As a recommendation let me say that for me this is my first choice hotel when I'm in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Tomasz M.,

Thank you very much for your entry on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you feel comfortable in our Hotel and that you
enjoy our breakfast.

It is very nice to know that we are your first choice in Frankfurt.

We even can tell you that the district of the main station is one of
the districts in Frankfurt with a lot of security and police which provide safety.
The ruins next to our hotel will be demolished in the near future
and we hope that the view will then be better.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at your next trip to Frankfurt!

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I picked this hotel as it was the closest to the bank I was visiting on business. All the main German banks have HQs on the same street or very close, and listening into the conversations during dinner, nearly all the guests seemed to be visiting bankers. The hotel's service levels are high; I requested an iron and ironing board and they arrived within five minutes. There is strong Wi-Fi connectivity with no drop outs, which you will need as only a few English channels on the TV. I wasn't paying but I thought Euro 138 a room in April 2013 was reasonable. However, the presence of the banks make Frankfurt an expensive place. I saw a Porsche Panamera being used as a taxi. Take a beige taxi or stick to the main street to and from the railway station. No one is wearing a suit on the side streets around the station. Tip; for an original frankfurter, do what the locals do, and queue up at one of the busy stalls in the indoor food market near the old town.

Room Tip: I had a room next to the lift, which is often the nosiest in a business hotel, but it was not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanglefoot_Milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ms./Mr. Tanglefoot-Milton,

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our hotel.

We are pleased that you had a nice stay and that we were able
to convince you of our service.

We would be glad if we can welcome you again during your next trip to Frankfurt.

Kind regards,


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a few times now always for work. This time 2N. Location is good, close to the main station and next to the bankers district.

Location - good, close to main station (5min walk), close to the bankers district, (close to the red light district for people who mind as a bit dodgy in the evenings), at a big crossing hence be a bit careful with noise, tram station just in front of the hotel.

Room - had a room on the 4th floor facing backyard. Not nice view but quiet. Balck-our curtains, TV in the room, kingsize bed with medium hard mattress. Room was relatively clean and simple. Not an extremely nice decoration but for me I do not care for a few hours of sleep. The bathroom was open to the room meaning the shower was with glasswalls just opposite the bed, walk in sink, toilet in a separate (none glass) room. All in all, simple but ok for a night. They have aircon in the room and a lift going up to the rooms.

Food - breakfast buffet is quite nice with a lot of choice of warm food (mainly eggs, bacon, sausages), but also a lot of good variety for cold cuts (meat, cheese, salmon, etc), cereal, different sorts of jam, joghurts, juices, coffee, tea and various types of bread and rolls. Staff was friendly also at reception and in the restaurant. Think you can have dinner here too but not sure hence please check if you need to.

As I am easy and just looking for few hours of sleep in a clean room, this option works out well for me and taking it most often when in Frankfurt.

Room Tip: I had a room at the 4th floor and would clearly recommend asking for a room at a higher floor given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr Andreas B.,

wir danken Ihnen, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben unser Haus auf dieser Seite zu bewerten.

Es freut uns zu lesen, dass Ihnen unser Haus in allen Bereichen gefällt und Sie diesen Eindruck
weitergeben.

Unser Restaurant hat durchgängig für unsere Hausgäste und für Gäste von außerhalb geöffnet.
Vielleicht haben Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Aufenthalt Zeit sich hier verwöhnen zu lassen.

Auf Ihren nächsten Aufenthalt in unserem Hause freuen wir uns schon sehr!

Mit freundlichen Grüßen


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed there for one week, during my Business visit to Frankfurt. Room was clean and excellent. WIFI was very good. Shower and toilet were nice. Overall had a very good stay. I had trouble in getting the travel adapter from reception. They gave a travel adapter, which doesn't suit my Phone. I had to live with my dead phone for a day. Second day I managed to get the correct travel adapter for my Phone/Laptop. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna_Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for writing your feedback here at Tripadvisor.
We are really pleased that you had a wonderful stay in our house
and that you share your compliments on this platform.
Our staff also looks forward about your compliments.
We are delighted to welcome you soon again in our house.

Kind regards

i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I would say that anyone describing this Hotel as 'Greatness in a Hotel' either has the bar set very low indeed or is connected to the Hotel.

If it had been near 100 Euro a night then fair enough - OK value. At the extortionate, blood boiling price I was forced to pay during Ambiente, at nearer 300 Euro, it deserves both barrels.

The dark green carpet in the room was covered in white stains.
The only food I ate there was a burger which was disgusting.
The view from my window was of a dark poorly maintained crumbling interior central 'well' of internal windows.
The shower head fell off and landed on mine.
The Wifi kept repeatedly failing including during Skype calls to my children.
The beds cheap and are covered in some sort of plastic under the sheets which is very uncomfortable and sweaty at night.

When I asked for an Iron at 7.30am before heading to work (there wasn't one in the room which is ridiculous) I was told that there was not one available until 11.00am!. It was only after getting quite angry and suggesting they checked with other guests for any that were free that one turned up within the minute. The ironing board was really cheap and almost unusable when it did.

The plus points, to be fair, are a nice enough looking restaurant and bar / reception area and actually very cheerful and courteous staff - but the staff are not supported by the owners - left feeling like I'd been ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSM680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear DSM680,

Thank you very much for your Feedback.

We are really sorry that our hotel did not meet you expectations.
We take your criticism seriously and will deal with this in order
to improve our services and equipment.

Thank you for your compliments on our staff, we will be happy to forward
these compliments.

We really would be happy if you give us a second chance to show you
that we are really working on our services and equipment.

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot,
Level Contributor
283 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Flemings are generally a reliable choice for no-frills business trips and having stayed at the Hamburger Allee branch in Frankfurt I expected the Messe version to be up to the same standard. Certainly the welcome of the staff, their helpful and efficient approach at check-in, at the bar and in the restaurant was every bit as good as before. The rooms are nothing fancy or luxurious but they have all you need for a business overnight. The beds are comfortable, the wi-fi works very well and generally the facilities meet most reasonable expectations.

However this was the first time I have ever experienced what I can only describe as a two-tone shower! Coming from the centre was good hot water, but around the edge of the shower-rose the temperature was decidedly chilly - and this was the case both when I arrived and was changing for the evening and the next morning before breakfast.

My room was also out on the landing rather than behind the firedoors in the corridor and so I got quite a lot of noise from the elevator and from the hard floor surfaces as other guests came and went - plus quite a strong drain smell coming up from somewhere!

So sadly despite the excellent breakfast, the good location close to Frankfurt's enormous showground this branch of Flemings will be off my booking list for a return visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sue-and-Steve-Ascot,

We thank you that you took time to write us your feedback about your stay.
It is really important for us that you let us know your experiences in our house.

Thank you also for your compliments to our staff, which we are happy to share.

Your statement concerning our showers is new for us but of course we will
immediately investigate. Because you are right that you should expect a shower
with uniform water temperature in our house.

We feel really sorry that you have taken us off your booking list.
We also do have silent rooms in our house which you can book.

We would be delighted if you could give us a second change!

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Bliss
#82 of 269 in Frankfurt
157 reviews
25hours Hotel by Levi's
#22 of 269 in Frankfurt
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#48 of 269 in Frankfurt
771 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 269 in Frankfurt
698 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 269 in Frankfurt
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe

Property: Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Address: Mainzer Landstr. 87-89, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#51 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from the trade show grounds and in direct proximity to the Frankfurt Central rail station, the First Class Hotel gives you an ideal environment not only for business occasions. Look forward to outstanding design, inviting comfort, and culinary delights, such as our popular grill and seafood delicatessen. The modern look in the typical Fleming's style awaits you in each of our rooms. Beautiful materials in green and creme tones, combined with refined, dark woods give the room an understated elegance. The individually controllable light pattern on the head of the bed is equally exceptional. The fully glass-enclosed bath compels with modern materials from cool granite to brilliant stainless steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing