We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners have lost Interest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #64 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I would say that anyone describing this Hotel as 'Greatness in a Hotel' either has the bar set very low indeed or is connected to the Hotel.

If it had been near 100 Euro a night then fair enough - OK value. At the extortionate, blood boiling price I was forced to pay during Ambiente, at nearer 300 Euro, it deserves both barrels.

The dark green carpet in the room was covered in white stains.
The only food I ate there was a burger which was disgusting.
The view from my window was of a dark poorly maintained crumbling interior central 'well' of internal windows.
The shower head fell off and landed on mine.
The Wifi kept repeatedly failing including during Skype calls to my children.
The beds cheap and are covered in some sort of plastic under the sheets which is very uncomfortable and sweaty at night.

When I asked for an Iron at 7.30am before heading to work (there wasn't one in the room which is ridiculous) I was told that there was not one available until 11.00am!. It was only after getting quite angry and suggesting they checked with other guests for any that were free that one turned up within the minute. The ironing board was really cheap and almost unusable when it did.

The plus points, to be fair, are a nice enough looking restaurant and bar / reception area and actually very cheerful and courteous staff - but the staff are not supported by the owners - left feeling like I'd been ripped off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSM680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear DSM680,

Thank you very much for your Feedback.

We are really sorry that our hotel did not meet you expectations.
We take your criticism seriously and will deal with this in order
to improve our services and equipment.

Thank you for your compliments on our staff, we will be happy to forward
these compliments.

We really would be happy if you give us a second chance to show you
that we are really working on our services and equipment.

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 279 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Flemings are generally a reliable choice for no-frills business trips and having stayed at the Hamburger Allee branch in Frankfurt I expected the Messe version to be up to the same standard. Certainly the welcome of the staff, their helpful and efficient approach at check-in, at the bar and in the restaurant was every bit as good as before. The rooms are nothing fancy or luxurious but they have all you need for a business overnight. The beds are comfortable, the wi-fi works very well and generally the facilities meet most reasonable expectations.

However this was the first time I have ever experienced what I can only describe as a two-tone shower! Coming from the centre was good hot water, but around the edge of the shower-rose the temperature was decidedly chilly - and this was the case both when I arrived and was changing for the evening and the next morning before breakfast.

My room was also out on the landing rather than behind the firedoors in the corridor and so I got quite a lot of noise from the elevator and from the hard floor surfaces as other guests came and went - plus quite a strong drain smell coming up from somewhere!

So sadly despite the excellent breakfast, the good location close to Frankfurt's enormous showground this branch of Flemings will be off my booking list for a return visit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Sue-and-Steve-Ascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Sue-and-Steve-Ascot,

We thank you that you took time to write us your feedback about your stay.
It is really important for us that you let us know your experiences in our house.

Thank you also for your compliments to our staff, which we are happy to share.

Your statement concerning our showers is new for us but of course we will
immediately investigate. Because you are right that you should expect a shower
with uniform water temperature in our house.

We feel really sorry that you have taken us off your booking list.
We also do have silent rooms in our house which you can book.

We would be delighted if you could give us a second change!

Kind regards


i.V. Nina Dorothee Hühner
Stellv. Direktorin / Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been staying at this Fleming's every January for the last 5-6 years for a large trade fair at the Messe Frankfurt.
The good things-
The service is exquisite. From the bartenders to the girls that check you in at the desk. Everyone is friendly, prompt and professional and many seem to have been here for many years as I see the same faces all the time.
The location is excellent if you are attending a trade fair at the Messe Frankfurt. 10-15 minute easy walk. Several good restaurants in a short walk away or not far from the Hauptwasche which is filled with cafes and shops.
Good breakfast each morning with lots of choices and excellent coffee.
The bad things-
The mattresses are wrapped in plastic to prevent any damage which tends to make you sweat like a hog in July during the night despite how cool the room is.
If you have a room facing the main intersection you are on, traffic is noisy and there is a fire station down the street that sends trucks with blaring sirens past your window during the night.
the prices have certainly gone up a lot over the years which I know coincide with trade fairs but come one, upwards of $350 to $400 a night? Not worth that.
The shower is a but strange being a glass box in your room with little privacy if you are sharing a room.

Overall, this is a good hotel but it can cost you and for those not used to European style hotel rooms, it may take a little getting used to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bueller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the second time we have been at this hotel and it will be on our permenant list for Frankfurt. Its a 2 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and trendy. The breakfast is awesome and the staff are super nice and attentive.

Room Tip: Get one down the hall as the front rooms (although much bigger) are noisy from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottie96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is good in many ways. The rooms are aesthetically pleasing, spacious, and the bathrooms are remodeled. It is also 2 blocks from the Frankfurt Train Station. But that is also the problem. The hotel is at the intersection of the two of the busiest streets in Frankfurt if not all of Germany. Even though I was on the 4th floor, the street noise was ferocious. All night long it was constant horn honking, police and ambulance sirens. The Tram also runs 5 feet in front of the building starting sometime about 5 or 6 am. I think I slept about an hour. Which is just unacceptable when the basic functionality of a hotel is to give you a place to sleep.

Unless they greatly improve their soundproofing, it just isn't worth staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank 72worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant food for Breakfast, restfully slept on a comfortable bed and >€10 taxi to the centre of the world's largest Christmas Markets. Sauna wasn't working, but pleasant staff and nice cocktails made up for it. Will stay at Flemings again if in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzzaTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Good location next to main train station. One of the better choices in that area. Be aware, though, that the area is not totally safe at night (I was robed once this year).

Efficient service, but late at night checkin can be staffed with newbies who only know the basics and are not trained to do advanced tasks (such as changing a billing address).

Cleanliness gets "average" because of annoying smell in staircase.

Otherwise recommended.

Cleanliness gets "an

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eildon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
25hours Hotel by Levi's
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
705 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#52 of 269 in Frankfurt
118 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#58 of 269 in Frankfurt
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe

Address: Mainzer Landstr. 87-89, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#47 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $93 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only a 10 minute walk from the trade show grounds and in direct proximity to the Frankfurt Central rail station, the First Class Hotel gives you an ideal environment not only for business occasions. Look forward to outstanding design, inviting comfort, and culinary delights, such as our popular grill and seafood delicatessen. The modern look in the typical Fleming's style awaits you in each of our rooms. Beautiful materials in green and creme tones, combined with refined, dark woods give the room an understated elegance. The individually controllable light pattern on the head of the bed is equally exceptional. The fully glass-enclosed bath compels with modern materials from cool granite to brilliant stainless steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing