We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel, slightly worse area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rossija

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rossija
Ranked #203 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, slightly worse area...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I wasn't sure whether to review this as many of the other reviews covered a lot of what I am going to say, but I decided to mainly to attempt to reassure people. My colleague booked rooms in this hotel rather than myself, and arrived the day before me, the first time we discovered it was in the red light district. So I checked on here before I arrived the next day and panicked a bit, but after being there it wasn't as bad as I had worried it would be. So the red light location is only one component of the place, and is especially lessened during the week, though the weekends get slightly wilder (and, incidentally, who is getting a lap dance at 7.30am on a Monday?)!

Good things:

Reasonable accommodation, good considering the price and location; in comparable terms probably about Travelodge in the UK. Changed towels and sheets every day, and the housekeeping on one day even straightened my strewn clothes on a day when I had overslept somewhat, which was a nice surprise!

Breakfast nice, continental but a good selection of the type of food available. Though something warm would have been appreciated as the weather turned colder, but I think that is English-ness talking...

Good location, very near the station, which is about 10 mins from the Airport, and you can check in at any time. While it is in the red light district, it is separate from it with a courtyard and mechanised gate. Though some reviewers have commented on the noise from the district, myself I could only hear something on the Saturday night, and it didn't keep me awake.


Bad things:

As mentioned, it is in the red light district. This didn’t seem a problem through most of the stay as even when we arrived back in the later evening there wasn’t much going on; however on the last day we did see some of the problems of drug injecting on the street, drug deals, and prostitutes. I would not have wanted to walk around that area on my own at night- and yet, the next block is absolutely fine, the red light district seems to only be a very small clutch of streets.

The hotel is generally quiet, a lot of people using it for business, but the halls are echo-ey and the doors loud, so if there is a late group arrival, especially if they are a rowdy stag-do-type group it can get quite noisy.

Wi-fi is available via the Cloud network, but it is expensive.

In terms of local facilities, it isn’t a far walk from anything, I was at a conference at the Goethe University and it was a 25-30 minute walk or so at most. There is a supermarket nearby, and a few streets away- less than 5 minutes- are a few bars and restaurants which are quite nice, and reasonably priced for Frankfurt, though nothing particularly special. It is about 15-20 minute walk to the old town and the more tourist area around the river.

Overall, I would suggest this place is ok to stay in, especially for the rates, if you are staying in the city for business, a conference etc; as a holiday destination as a general tourist I would probably go further towards Sachsenhausen and the older area of the town, as it is generally better surroundings, a better choice of bars and restaurants, and nicer to walk home to. Myself, for all the good of the vicinity to the railway and other facilities, and the relatively pleasant nature of the hotel, I would probably stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: The upper floor gets the least of the noise, and rooms at the back of the property rather than the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank millenniumperegrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    32
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
6
14
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Do not stay here. The hotel across the road is newer, cheaper and alot nicer. Unmade room, stank of smoke, dirty, rude staff, etc etc. Not nice

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very hard to review this place, as I have experienced the worst and the best during my stay

The best:
- fairly priced, with comfortable and decent rooms. (Even if the price of the room is more than 2x the regular price during major exhibitions, it is still a bargain for Frankfurt)
- nice breakfast for the price
- very good location, a short walk to the train station, and a 15 minutes walk to the "Messe".(this can save really a lot of time if you have to go to the exhibition, avoiding traffic jams and taxis shortage)
- friendly staff (especially the reception ladies in the morning)
- a few grocery stores very close to the hotel.

The worst
- location is a nightmare, right in the middle of the red light district...Drug deal at hotel door all day long. Large groups of sketchy and intimidating people in the streets nearby. Doesn't feel safe at all, especially late night.
- very noisy rooms (or noisy neighbors?) Be ready to be awake by loud door "bangs" several time in the middle of the night.
- rude staff (especially late night) Remember to leave your key to the reception, if you do not want to hear a rude "Schlussel!!!" shout to you, without any "please" or "thank you" added to it.
- bathroom needed some maintenance (broken tiles, broken shower door)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cabbagetowntoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel is quite difficult to find as its behind a rolling shutter and not clearly marked. You have to press a buzzer to press a buzzer to get in which then leads onto a courtyard.
Check in was fast and there is a small lift which will get you to your floor.
Rooms vary in size with bathroom with shower and 2 beds and TV but no tea making facilities.
The breakfast is a typical continental breakfast (ham, cheese, cereal and bread) which is nice.
There's no WIFI or computer facilities at this hotel and the constant rumble of the underground trains.
There isn't much to say about this hotel but the area is in the middle of the red light district which I wasn't expecting with prostitutes on every corner and also drug dealers openly dealing to addicts and tramps begging for money and large groups of people everywhere.
Don't think I will be going back to this area but it does seem better during the day but it does feel intimidating especially at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel has many advantages :
1. Located right across the Central Station.
2. Located in the middle of Red Light District of Frankfurt
3. Located 5 min walk from the City Centre
4. Very affordable tariff.
5. Friendly Staff
6. Decent Breakfast

Could i ask for more?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nitinsoni80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
432 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

An excellent hotel. I was anxious after reading the reviews on trip-advisor but I was surprised to find that all of them was wrong.
Firstly, the hotel location: It's very near to the station. Just opposite the station there is a street called Tanustrasse. Go along the street till you come to a crossing, turn left and the third building is the hotel.
Regarding the neighbourhood red-light district, I didn't see any call-girls, or any sort of disturbance or drunkards. Well, there are a couple of go-go bars and discotheques but they keep to themselves and are not interested in the passers-by. We returned to the hotel at 11 pm after some work and it was as safe as anything and we never felt fear.
The room was literally huge and there was ample space for walking, the bathroom big and they were spotlessly clean. Adequate lighting in the room.
The breakfast was surprising good considering the room rate and the choice plentiful.
Branded hotels should learn a thing or two from these small hotels regarding service ( which was 24/7) and the room size. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend this hotel whole-heartedly to any of my fellow-travellers. Just give it a shot and see whether anything that I have described is wrong.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_B_Maitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

we stayed here for only one night it is very nice to see the location as it is very near to central station nice breakfast , very good quality of food.....
also in very good price...

as it was a bussiness trip the environmet in room is very cosy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajan_tangri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
Carlton Hotel - Frankfurt
#206 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Innenstadt
Munchener Hof Hotel
Munchener Hof Hotel
#158 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Frankfurt
#146 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rossija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rossija

Property: Hotel Rossija
Address: Moselstrasse 46 - 48, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rossija 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rossija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rossija Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing