We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and relaxing gardens to wander around in”
Review of Palmengarten

Palmengarten
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.09*
and up
Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #3 of 435 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Frankfurt's beloved botanical gardens are home to 50 acres of tropical trees, orchids and ferns.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Large and relaxing gardens to wander around in”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Interesting selection of plants and in Summer there are outdoor activities/concerts on. Nice restaurant in the grounds also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Debstar36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    444
    90
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising place in the middle of the city”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we arrived and saw the price we were not sure that it would worth it but then we saw how huge the park is and how much different plants you can see and we changed our mind, this park deserve to be visited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devil28190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Little Oasis inmidst the city”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Check out the event calendar and you might get to enjoy a classic or jazz concert for free (besides the regular park entry).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A pleasant oasis in a pleasant city”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

These are Frankfurt’s Botanical gardens, not far from the Alte Oper. As might be expected, we found the gardens clean and well organised. The admission fee is €7 per adult [16.8.2013). There are several modern greenhouses containing a variety of different plants and habitats from around the world and a series of gardens laid out with flower beds, fountains, etc. The oldest buildings house those plants (e.g. palms) that need the warmest and most moist conditions. The gardens are very tranquil and are located in an attractive part of the city. Our only problem was wasps, as Frankfurt has plenty of them in August. Allow yourself 2/3 hours for a visit. Overall we enjoyed the gardens, we felt the fee was reasonable value and the location was worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Palmgarten in Frankfurt is a haven of peace and quiet. The plants and flowers are beautiful, no matter what season you visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmengarten also viewed

 

Been to Palmengarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing