We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service and worse behaviour of Breakfast emploees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe
Ranked #212 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed November 18, 2010

It was a horrible stay I had in this hotel. For the price they are asking, it is one of the worst hotels in world. The breakfast was never enough there. I complained thrice. And because of this, the the breakfast serving emploee misbehaved with me. Would you believe this? I immediately left the hotel, although it was booked for another day.

Deutsch: bitte besuchen Sie dieses hotel nie. Sie werden kein gutes Zimmer bekommen und ein sehr schlechten Service erhalten.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirag09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 481 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2010

3 star hotel (close to a 2 star).
Rooms are small and very old.
No lounge to have a drink or rest, no bus. services, etc.
Elevator is extremely old and slow. Easier to use the staircase.
Breakfast is OK.
The only good think about the hotel is its location. Right in the center of Downtown Frankfurt and 5 min. away from Frankfurt's Convention Centre.

If you're planning to go to the Convention Centre, it could be an option, but I said "could". There are plenty of hotels in the area which are way better and even cheaper. Now I know.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CooperSJCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Due to the size of the rooms, the property is great if you have a quick 1-2 trip. The staff is very friendly and makes up for what the property lacks in facilities. Convenience is also an issue, since the hotel is just a 5 minute walk from the Poststrasse exit of the Frankfurt central Rail Station (Hauptbahnhof). Overall, the property is "not bad".

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyberworld Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Stayed 5 nights on business as I had to visit the exhibition centre for a trade show.

Pluses: Friendly staff. Close to main station (5 min walk), Tram stop outside door, Close to exhibition grounds (10 min walk). Reliable free high speed internet. Good breakfasts included with room. Clean rooms.
Minuses: My non smoking room was supplied with an ashtray, matches and a smell of cigarettes. Room safe was bolted to a removable shelf in the wardrobe - pointless! No restaraunt or bar so one must go elsewhere for a dinner and drink. Wireless Internet is run by a 3rd party provider and the hotel ran out of cards with logins and passwords. I had to wait a day before I could get access. Only one iron and ironing board in the entire hotel, so access can take a few days if there is demand. Tiny lift, suitable for 2 people and 1-2 suitcases. You may have to wait a while to get access when it is busy. The area that the hotel is situated in feels rather sleazy. The photos of the hotel that show the big white tower on top of the building is misleading. The white tower belongs to a building several blocks away and just looks like it's part of the hotel. The photo does not show the streetscape for good reason.
As a tourist hotel, it is adequate. As a business hotel, it is certainly lacking. The staff do their best with what they have to work with and they are nice enough. If your demands are not high, then I would stay here. However, if you are in Frankfurt on business and need business amenities and conveniences then stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZorbaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We booked a room 2 weeks before an event, and when we asked them later on if they had a conference room we could use, they said that they did not have any other services than the bedrooms they offer. When I said that we had to cancel in order to book a hotel providing conference rooms, they said that since their cancellation policy is 10 WEEKS, they would charge us 80% of the bill as a cancellation fee.
BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trulyhappened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

American Express mistakenly had this hotel rated as a 4 star property which was the only reason I booked it. I went to the Hotel website before booking which is entirely misleading. All the rooms seem to be facing a busy street leading to the Frankfurt Hbf. And sorry, but closing the windows does NOT block out the noise. The A/C did not work in my room and the staff really didn't care. I asked for a fan and the desk clerk almost laughed at me. This hotel is about 2 blocks from the red light district. Great location for that and the Main Train Station if those are your goals. I was in town for business and paid 140 Euro - OUCH! Couldn't wait to get out. The bathroom stunk and all and all, I definitely will not repeat.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank texaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

The hotel is really close to the central station, just a five minute walk, two houses down from hotel Manhattan, and also within walking distance to the fairground. Not in the red light district! It also is on a big and very busy road, so the rooms facing the front are rather loud when the window is open. Closing the window shuts off most of the noise, but might be unpleasant in the summer (no a/c). The single rooms are rather large for German single room standards, with a large bed - or maybe it was a double room that I got for a single. The furniture is nice, the only unpleasant thing was the smell in the bathroom, possibly from sewage. Personnel is very nice, very friendly and personal service. The usual breakfast, a bit weak on the fruit side (only tinned pineapple and small, old apples). All in all not a luxury hotel, but well worth its 3 stars and at 39 euros extremely cheap. Only caveat: In October 2007 the owner changes, and that could mean changes, who knows whether for better or for worse.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gernereiserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Innenstadt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
#61 of 270 in Frankfurt
629 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Ibis Styles Frankfurt City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe

Address: Duesseldorfer Str. 20, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $55 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing