We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots for little”
Review of Apfelwein Solzer

Apfelwein Solzer
Ranked #53 of 2,509 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kronberg im Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots for little”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This might not be the most beautiful of Frankfurt's typical Apfelweinkneipen, but you certainly get a lot for your money! A genuine crowd, big screens for soccer games, pretty efficient service and solid food. Try the Schweinshaxen, a BIG portion of pork knuckles, practically without fat but with great crisp skin! DO drink the Apfelwein, after the third glass it tastes great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioHermani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    96
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Krüstchen and Apfelwein”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

2 years ago I was in this restaurant when I visited with my family in Frankfurt and I absolutely loved it. A few weeks ago I had the opportunity again. Such great food! The Krüstchen with the famous Grüne Sosse (green sauce) is just out of this world. Of course, the Apfelwein (apple wine) is a MUST to go with it. People are extremely nice and the food did take no time at all considering that the restaurant was packed (thankfully we had a reservation). Try a Mispelchen afterwards - you will not regret it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinaWismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceedingly busy, but worth the squeeze”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I visited here with colleagues on my last night in Germany, and despite the fact that the place was heaving (potentially due to the Frankfurt motor show) we managed to find a spot perched at the end of one of their long tables.

Service was good as they had plenty of staff in, and the menu was also available in English. We decided to have a jug of the Apfelwein (very reminiscent of proper Somerset cider) between us, and I had the Schlactplatter - a very meaty dish with mash and sauerkraut which was absolutely delicious - and rather filling.

Would love to come back to try a few more dishes that my German colleague recomended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We were guests”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fortunately we were guests and were able to just walk up to our table. The place got very busy.
You must try the Apelwein as the name of the place suggests. It's put me back onto cider after a lot of years not drinkling it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Englishdiner2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Good luck getting a table!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes, it is great. In my opinion, the best of "Frankfurter Essen" meaning they have lots of regional foods cooked just a bit better than the competitors. The best "Grüne Sosse" and Handkäse just a bit different and a bit better. On a weekend - full house! Make a reservation or you just might get lucky finding a place to sit. I guess the rest of Frankfurt knows about the place already.

I highly recommend the Frankfurter Krüstchenschnitzel, basically a breaded lean pork fillet with horseradish, green sauce, and an egg on top. The chocolate pudding comes highly recommended but personally I have never had room to fit dessert after the huge meal.

The prices are reasonable and the service is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluglotse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apfelwein Solzer also viewed

 

Been to Apfelwein Solzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing