We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but the bare minimum” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #65 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean but the bare minimum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I am a Priority Club member and stay in Holiday Inns because I am used to the service they provide. We stayed in this hotel upon our arrival in Germany and two nights before we left. The hotel is clean, the rooms are small and supply just the bare essentials. A bed, tv, towels and dual purpose soap. The breakfast was good, and the coffee machine was great! The only complaint I would have is that the woman who was front desk clerk when we checked in with on October 2nd was not very friendly at all. A first impression is a lasting impression. Luckily the rest of the staff was helpful and friendly - especially Ana who runs the bar in the evening. You can walk most places from the hotel without any problem -- restaurants, train station, downtown. There is a really nice area to walk along the river front. Just beware, there is a club close by and it is noisy at night if you do not have the window shut all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol-in-colorado22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your nice review. We are happy to see that you liked staying with us.

Thank you for the comments on the staff, especially Anna was happy to hear that you enjoyed her service.

Holiday Inn Express is the midscale-focused service brand of IHG. If you like some more amenities etc why not try a Holiday Inn or one of the other brands such Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo or InterContinental.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express in future.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    199
    139
    33
    6
See reviews for
113
97
60
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Situated in the central area of Frankfurt this hotel offer decent accomodations for travellers on business or on a touristic trip. Hotel personnel are friendly and always willing to help. Nothing is left unattended. Receptionists seem to be pleased to catter to guests. Rooms are clean and decent. The strongest point is the breakfast, served until 10:30 on weekday and until 11 on weekend, which is convenient. You don´t have to wake up too early to have your breakfast. Enjoy the a wide selection of bread, jams, fruit and the warmest espresso ever. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I do recommend this hotel. The price is another strong point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joaommoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Obrigado for your nice review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us.

Thanks for pointing out the nice staff and the long breakfast hours.Actually it's 11.30h on weekends and bank holidays, so an extra half hour to get a good sleep.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again!

Best regards
Martin Nock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Rooms are tiny and very hot. We opened the window but the outside odor was overwhelming. People congregated outside of our window and smoked well into the early morning hours. The beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast was good but not good enough to make me return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneB295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry to hear that will not return to the hotel as you were unsatisfied with our hotel prouct.

Our rooms have a size of 18 m2 including bathroom, which is a common European room size in midscale hotels. Regarding the smoke from outside we regret to read this and can imagine that this can disturb a good night sleep. In future we would recommend to speak to hotel staff so that can assist in finding a solution.

Nevertheless, we hope to be able to accommodate you in a Holiday Inn Express hotel worldwide again.

Best regards
Martin Nock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was there with my father.
We got the handycaped accessible room and it was more then enough. Even switched to normal after checking it.
Breakfast is great.
Room is good.
Bed - a bit soft for me but still good.


THE STAFF IS AMAZING.
Helpfull, professinal and nice.

Overall great expirence.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your great review and recommendation.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and point out our great staff.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again!

Best regards
Martin and the team of the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The overall location of this hotel was good - close to the main railway links and approximately 20-25 minutes from the main town. For a comfortable base to explore Frankfurt city it is well placed. HOWEVER.... the hotel and IHG in general may wish to seriously consider who their immediate neighbours are!
We arrived in the afternoon on a Friday and the hotel was very clean, rooms are what you would expect from a good Holiday Inn Express. The hotel on the whole was quiet and we were looking forward to a good night's sleep after a long day sight-seeing. To our sheer disbelief, this was not going to happen. Nextdoor to the hotel is what looks like an abandoned warehouse, but on closer inspection it is in fact an UNDERGROUND NIGHTCLUB!! - "Tanzhaus West" which is open Friday and Saturdays nights. From 22:00hrs to past 07:00hrs, this establishment played heavy and exceedingly loud techno dance music; at times it was so loud that it vibrated the glass on the bedside table!!
We were staying with another 2 friends, who had the misfortune of listening to this for both of our two nights stay. I couldn't put up with it any longer, and sought the reception staff, who to their credit were extremely helpful in finding us another room and provided bed linen to make up the sofa bed (which was not made when we moved rooms). Having spoken to the gentleman on the reception, he actually informed me that the rooms we were staying in (Rm 532 and 536) were listed as QUIET ROOMS?!?!?!!! Quiet for the deaf and extremely hard of hearing may be, but for anyone else, this was the loudest room I have ever stayed in - the bass sounded as though it was being played from under our beds!
Overall then, this hotel is well equipped for an Express, has good, friendly, helpful staff, superb breakfasts and is very clean and tidy. If you wish to stay up all night ask for the rooms on the railway side of the hotel - you get to party without having to pay an entrance fee!! If, however, you actually want to use it for what it is built for (i.e. sleeping) I would suggest you ensure you have a room at the far end of the hotel...and take your earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srdenny80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travellers.
We are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your night due to noise from outside the hotel.

The management and security of the Tanzhaus West has been informed when you contacted us about noise. Unforunately we had no other means than to contact the police to get them more quiet, which also not took place. From experience, the owner of the club are very much interested in having a quiet exterior of the club so that our hotel guests are not being disturbed.

Thank you however for pointing out good hotel staff service!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express.

Best regards
Martin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlv
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

good location about 5 mins drive from main train station. bus is 1 min walk from front door. good breakfast buffet. room is small. sofa for the kids to sleep is not ideal. payment needed for hotel parking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We are happy to see that you enjoyed staying with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Holiday Inn Express

Best regards
Martin and the team of the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel, super staff and great breakfast that was included in the room rate, which is very unusual for Europe. One employee stood out among the others, her name was Monica, she went above and beyond to help us with anything we needed. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks for your fabulous accolades!
We are very happy to see that you liked staying with us - and point out our good services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the hotel!

Kind regards
Martin Nock and the entire hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#42 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
#72 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Address: Gutleutstr. 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeChoose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe hotel for a convenient location 10 minutes by taxi from the Messe exhibition grounds, and 20 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Continental buffet breakfast in our airy Great Room prepares you for a fruitful day at the Messe or exploring the Old Town. Return to your warm-hued Guest room with free wireless Internet access. If you're arriving by car, we're just 1.5 km from the A5 motorway. Frankfurt's Gallusviertel and Gutleutviertel business quarters are 1 km away, while Höchst and Eschborn industrial parks are less than a 15-minute drive. Complimentary wireless Internet in our smart Lobby area means you can plan your day over coffee. Our 2 meeting rooms, with wireless Internet access and natural daylight are tailor-made for private conferences. Bus 37 takes you from our door to Frankfurt central station in 7 minutes. Take a 10-minute stroll from the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to the River Main promenade for panoramic Frankfurt views. The cobbled Old Town and bustling Zeil shopping promenade are 4 km away. Meet and mingle in the granite-floored, open-plan Lobby and browse complimentary newspapers over drinks and snacks. You can check your emails in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. For restaurant tips and Frankfurt city maps, just ask the friendly staff at our 24-hour Front Desk. At Holiday Inn Express children and teenagers are special guests: up to two children under the age of 18 stay free of charge, sharing room with their parents. According to Holiday Inn Express standards, also breakfast for children is without extra charge, already included in accommodation price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing