We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this Hotel mention to be in Frankfurt ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #62 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Is this Hotel mention to be in Frankfurt ?”
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

It's in a bad location - takes at least 30 mins brisk wlk from romerplatz area.
It's a dodgy looking area.
They have 1 menu for food in the evening. Pizza. Seriously ?
At least make it German food !

Rubbish wouldn't stay here again.

The staff were friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domhnachdaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, which we read with deep regret.
However, we appreciate you comments on good service you received.

Apparently we haven't been the right hotel for your travel needs. Holiday Inn Express hotels do usually not offer any kind of food, except breakfast. Our location is in the city of Frankfurt, 7-8 minutes with public transportation from the central station and about 15 minutes from downtown. Walking might indeed end up in a much longer duration. Both, our own website and the TripAdvisor site use maps to indicate the location of hotels for your convenience. Maps do not hide distances.

Thank you again for sharing you thought with other TripAdvisor users.
We hope you visit Holiday Inn Express hotels in the future.

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    208
    142
    33
    5
See reviews for
117
100
61
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe is just a average hotel of its kind. Downsides include the bad location (industrial area), high charge for the garage, and the loud street directly in front of it. Very good breakfast definitely has to be mentioned. Friendliness of staff is good, but their competence could be improved.

Room Tip: avoid street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyDiggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked staying with us and enjoyed our breakfast and found the staff friendly.

Nevertheless, there seems to be enough room for improvement for us to get 5 out of 5 TripAdivsor points, e.g. by getting our newer staff to good knowledge.

By the way, alternative to our 12 EUR per day covered garage parking, there is always the option to park along the street outside the hotel for free if space is given.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Holiday Inn Express again in future.

Best regards,
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Driving up from Munich, we stopped in at Frankfurt for the night. We found the hotel with relative ease and soon discovered the easy option was to park in their private car park... Street Parking is available, but a bit of a pain - for the tourist anyway!
The welcome was typically German - To the point less the niceities! It's not rude, It's just the way the language is - For a western tourist, it can feel a little abrupt, but you shouldn't let it worry you.
The rooms were large and the bed comfortable. The bathroom and amenities were all fantastic - I've stayed in plenty of 4 and 5* that aren't as comfortable as this!
The bar staff were good and there was a good selection of beer and wine available.
The 'local characters' I refer to in the heading were about the only downside - The hotel is located on the edge of a seemingly seedy type of area - We saw a few drug users, hookers and that type of crowd, mixed in with the everyday folk... quite openly plying their trade... It wasn't a case of feeling nervous - it was more of a case of looking twice... digesting and moving on. Neither of the above activities had a negative impact on my stay in the hotel.
Holiday Inn Express is good as it offers breakfast! From the 2 or 3 I've stayed in, its a run of the mill, know what your gonna get type of breakfast... but it's good and it's consistent - Thats all you need!
We did venture out into Frankfurt in the evening - And boy oh boy - We found an amazing little restaurant that served up some fantastic, traditional german cuisine! My father was in Germanic heaven. I'll try to attach the photos! The restaurant is call Das WirtsHaus. Absolutely fantastic - Their is a platter option for two at about 20 euros a head - It's worth every cent!
We also went out to the tallest building in frankfurt and took the lift up to the top for 5 euros, for a great view of the city - I recommend this if you have the chance!

All in all, a really comfortable hotel and a great little restaurant made our short lived stay in Frankfurt most enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian8Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your nice and also detailled review on your stay in Frankfurt. We loved to read it!
It's great that you liked staying with us!

Don't be afraid of what you called "locals". They will their lives, as you live yours; they won't intefere usually. If you feel uncomfortable in one or another area, simply move on, there are many more nice places in Frankfurt to see than the area around the central station, such as the MainTower, the river Main, the Römer square and so on. And lovely restaurant with great erman food. Try places in the district of Sachsenhausen. Off downtown, but very recommendable.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Frankfurt!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed here twice last summer, and both times we were extremely satisfied.

The staff were friendly, polite and helpful, even when dealing with frustrated travellers taking their feelings out on the staff. The room was clean and comfortable.

It isn't exactly within walking distance of anything exciting, but there is a bus stop right outside the front door, making it easy to get to the Hauptbahnhof and, from there, to the rest of the city.

A definite bonus was the free wi-fi in the comfortable lobby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Caroline,

Many thanks for sharing your review with TripAdvisor!

We are very happy to hear that you liked staying with usm and are also proud to have made your stay comfortable and your appreciation of our staff efforts. It's not always easy to stay calm and polite all the time, however, every guest has his or her point and that's what we'd like to find out and comfort afterwards :-)

Hope to be able to welcome you again to Frankfurt!

Best regards
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

we stayed here during the Frankfurt book fair, so price was certainly $$$$. I can understand that hotels make use of the opportunity to make more money.
While at the bar and wiling to eat we wanted to see the menu: the options were pizza and/or pizza. All other dishes were mentioned on the menu as "sold out". Breakfast was crowded, an the room at the end very noisy.
i will try to book timely next year...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your valuable feedback and thanks for taking your time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you have not liked staying with us during Buchmesse.

The issue you have pointed out with the limited dinner has been commented earlier on already. Holiday Inn Express hotels usually do not offer any food except our breakfast, however, we were able to offer a limited snack menu. However, our food provider stopped the production of the articles we used to sell very short term and could not offer any alternatives.
For the moment, we are looking for alternatives to offer you.

Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Best regards,
Martin and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights. Too long! Hotel does what it should, but no creature comforts - no comfy arm chairs or sofas to relax in either in room or lobby/lounge. Continental breakfast only, no food worth writing about in evening. Very basic, on the fringes of Frankfurt in a semi-industrial area. minimum of 10euros for cab to city centre. I'd stay for a night, possibly 2, but never more in one stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Tom E,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments have all been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for posting your comments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Due to the name Messe, I initially thought that this hotel was very close to the exhibition center, however I was wrong, as this is quiet far away, I mean it would be close if you draw a direct line, but unfortunately there was no easy way to get there, either you have to wait for the bus to arrive(every 10-15mins) which goes all around and gets to the main train station, from there you can take the tram, this process take around 30-45mins. Or can walk 1km to the nearest tram and then take the tram, or the one we took most often during our 5 day stay was the taxi, as we were too tired of walking around each day at the exhibition.

As for the positives, it's very clean and modern, the receptionist was helpful, but most of the time she was along in a fully booked hotel which meant that you need to stay in line for some time to talk to her.

Other downsides are that it's located in a industrial area that seems to have some places already run down, so there is noting to do right outside of the hotel, and there are no convenient stores that are close by either.

Breakfast was alright in European standards, but it was the same thing all 5 days we stayed there, so on the last day we actually didn't bother even eating anything as we were for fed up of it. And coming from Asia with a non-red meat diet meant that it was bread and butter meal for us.

All in all I wouldn't stay here again.



Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Hiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Hiran K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our hotel to be clean and modern as well as our staff to be helpful. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I understand that accessibility to certain places is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the location of the hotel. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Bockenheim
Novotel Frankfurt City
Novotel Frankfurt City
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,498 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Address: Gutleutstr. 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeChoose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe hotel for a convenient location 10 minutes by taxi from the Messe exhibition grounds, and 20 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Continental buffet breakfast in our airy Great Room prepares you for a fruitful day at the Messe or exploring the Old Town. Return to your warm-hued Guest room with free wireless Internet access. If you're arriving by car, we're just 1.5 km from the A5 motorway. Frankfurt's Gallusviertel and Gutleutviertel business quarters are 1 km away, while Höchst and Eschborn industrial parks are less than a 15-minute drive. Complimentary wireless Internet in our smart Lobby area means you can plan your day over coffee. Our 2 meeting rooms, with wireless Internet access and natural daylight are tailor-made for private conferences. Bus 37 takes you from our door to Frankfurt central station in 7 minutes. Take a 10-minute stroll from the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to the River Main promenade for panoramic Frankfurt views. The cobbled Old Town and bustling Zeil shopping promenade are 4 km away. Meet and mingle in the granite-floored, open-plan Lobby and browse complimentary newspapers over drinks and snacks. You can check your emails in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. For restaurant tips and Frankfurt city maps, just ask the friendly staff at our 24-hour Front Desk. At Holiday Inn Express children and teenagers are special guests: up to two children under the age of 18 stay free of charge, sharing room with their parents. According to Holiday Inn Express standards, also breakfast for children is without extra charge, already included in accommodation price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing