We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #66 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I stayed here recently for the Frankfurt sound and light exhibition. I was quite disappointed to see that the hotel rates were greatly exaggerated for the MESSE as I had to pay 245 euro a night fora room. I did reserve a room several months beforehand but to find out that other higher standard hotels had charged less for their rooms with far better services was quite disappointing. I have stayed with the ICH brand and felt that this particular chain was taking advantage of customers. When I came to check out the receptionist apologised about the expensive rate and comped the internet as he said that it was indeed very expensive for a HI express. The best advice is to go and find a hotel that is cheaper and has better accommodation. Le meridian or even Roomers boutique hotel is the same price or cheaper on some rooms and this is better located to get to the MESSE

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if want to get to the Messe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ethixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRAGT, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Dear guests,

Thanks for your comment on your hotel experience.

We understand that your where not happy with the rate you have paid in comparison to other hotels in the city. From what we understand, you had selected the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt Messe, although even 5* hotels such as Le Meridien or Roomers were offering good deals. And honestly, if these hotels were selling a similar rate, this would have been a great deal to book!
IHG branded hotels offer a discount Advance Purchase rate - good when you are sure about your travel plans.

Kind regards
Martin Nock & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 546 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

This was my 5th stay maybe in a Holiday Inn Express hotel and the Express never disappointed me. Very nice property, clean and tidy. Rooms exactly as you need them for a short stay in city hotel on a business trip. Paid for 65euros per room per night including average breakfast for 2 persons I think i an excellent choice not to far from city center. We also had a car and there was free public parking in front of the hotel, private parking behind and garage at extra charge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Checked in very late, the desk staff was very nice, we were so tired just went up to the room and crashed, slept like babies, the bed was very comfortable, well appointed room. The next morning when we got up and looked around, the lobby had a great great breakfast spread, free wifi in the lobby. only two km away from the Main train station of Frankfurt.

Room Tip: Parking is not free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahoree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here recently using the 2-for-1 promo. However, we arrived late so that we missed the first day. The reception folks were very nice in giving us two rooms for one night (to make up for the lost night).

Breakfast was also provided. For app. 85 EUR for two rooms, I have no reason to complain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudd_stuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Of all the Holiday Inn’s I have visited in Frankfurt this is the closest to the city centre, but it is located in an industrial area, so not pretty. The hotel is to the normal Holiday Inn Express standard, the rooms are OK, if a little small, but you get what you pay for. The hotel has a small bar and does basic food in the evenings; I would recommend taking the 2km into the city and get something there. There is free wifi in the bar area, of I think it is 15€ a day in the room, so take a drink in the bar and surf in public. The hotel car park is 12€ per day, and you need to get your ticket validated and the reception before you leave, so a bit of a pain.

Would I stay in this hotel again, yes, but it would not be my first option.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back, a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russ-the-rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently stayed at this property as a part of our Germany tour and this hotel is though conveniently situated close to Frankfurt Downtown we found it lacking in service perhaps maybe it was a express hotel. For eveything right from a pillow to a pin, we were asked to pick it up from front desk.The airconditioning was turned off stating its winter and if you open the windows there is the road traffic noise all night!!Also rooms felt claustrophobic though the breakfast was okay!
Would surely NOT recommend it as a family property!! Fare from Airport is 30 Euros so might as well spend the 60 Euros on a Airport hotel!

Room Tip: On the front side there is the road traffic and rear side there is the train lines so take ur pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lssrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We recently returned from a 1-night stay in Frankfurt as part of a longer trip through Germany. This was a last-minute stay, as we cancelled a night in Baden-Baden while we were traveling and made a decision to overnight in Frankfurt instead. We knew nothing about this hotel ahead of time, and chose it because we could find it in our GPS easily and because it offered availability at an inexpensive rate. For 59 euros and a clean room, I guess I shouldn't complain.

We stay at Holiday Inn Express chain quite frequently, and found that this hotel fit into our expectations of the brand. The room was plenty large, clean, and comfortable. It looked new and was a fine property. The staff spoke English well.

My number one priority for a great stay is a good night's rest, and I am thankful that I received exactly that at the Holiday Inn Express. The room was wonderfully quiet, and we loved the firm pillows offered by international chain hotels rather than the feather pillows typically found elsewhere in Germany.

Our disappointment is with the hotel location. As we stumbled upon this hotel with no planning, we made do with it but I wouldn't recommend it for a multi-night stay on a tourists vacation. There is a bus stop about 5 minutes walk away, but on weekends the bus runs quite infrequently making it difficult to rely on public transportation. The subway is not within walking distance. For such a short stay, we chose to taxi to Sachsenhausen for dinner and a night out (which is all we had time for anyway given an evening arrival in the city and a morning flight home). A taxi was about 12 euro each way. This district was a lot of fun, with lots of restaurant options and a lot of nightlife. Great people-watching!

There was plenty of parking at the hotel, and easy access to the autobahn. The airport was a quick, easy drive in the morning.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, with a standard German buffet of cold cuts, breads, cheeses, cereals, and juices. However, the food was not of the same quality we had at other hotels offering the same variety. We had been spoiled earlier in the week with such fresh food that we were not expecting canned fruits, prepackaged spreads, etc. Breakfast was quite crowded, so expect to wait in line for a while to get your coffee and food before sitting down.

There was a computer and printer in the lobby available for use, at a rate of 5 euro for 30 minutes. It was convenient for printing out boarding passes for our flight, but if you need to be wired in for business I would bring your own laptop.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bqkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,929 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bockenheim
Novotel Frankfurt City
Novotel Frankfurt City
#49 of 270 in Frankfurt
932 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#65 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,561 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 270 in Frankfurt
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe

Address: Gutleutstr. 296, 60327 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $67 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomeChoose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe hotel for a convenient location 10 minutes by taxi from the Messe exhibition grounds, and 20 minutes from Frankfurt Airport. Continental buffet breakfast in our airy Great Room prepares you for a fruitful day at the Messe or exploring the Old Town. Return to your warm-hued Guest room with free wireless Internet access. If you're arriving by car, we're just 1.5 km from the A5 motorway. Frankfurt's Gallusviertel and Gutleutviertel business quarters are 1 km away, while Höchst and Eschborn industrial parks are less than a 15-minute drive. Complimentary wireless Internet in our smart Lobby area means you can plan your day over coffee. Our 2 meeting rooms, with wireless Internet access and natural daylight are tailor-made for private conferences. Bus 37 takes you from our door to Frankfurt central station in 7 minutes. Take a 10-minute stroll from the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe to the River Main promenade for panoramic Frankfurt views. The cobbled Old Town and bustling Zeil shopping promenade are 4 km away. Meet and mingle in the granite-floored, open-plan Lobby and browse complimentary newspapers over drinks and snacks. You can check your emails in the 24-hour self-service Business Centre. For restaurant tips and Frankfurt city maps, just ask the friendly staff at our 24-hour Front Desk. At Holiday Inn Express children and teenagers are special guests: up to two children under the age of 18 stay free of charge, sharing room with their parents. According to Holiday Inn Express standards, also breakfast for children is without extra charge, already included in accommodation price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing