We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Favored Hotel Scala
Ranked #106 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in this Best Western Hotel Scala for one night with my friends. It is a nice hotel with very cosy and comfortable rooms. The location is simply great. In a quite area but very close to the main shopping street - Zeil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    139
    80
    17
    15
See reviews for
37
83
45
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Simply put the best thing about Scala is its Location by transportation and walking distance from the Ziel Shopping Center. It lacks amenities such as a gym or room service. The WiFi was not steady and we kept having to get new passwords for it from the front desk. We weren't told there was a charge for breakfast so some days we only took an apple from the breakfast bar and got charged 20 euro. This was my first time in Frankfurt so I had to adjust to everything being smaller (the bathroom was kid sized, the tub especially was very tight) and in addition you get charged for things that are usually free such as shopping bags, the bathroom in the train station or extra ketchup at McDonalds. Scala is clean and its staff polite but at the end of the day you are getting what you pay for. Watch out for charges that aren't readily disclosed and ask before presuming things are free. I got an unexpected giant bill at checkout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmisaMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLOT, Catalonia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a basic hotel, very close to Zeil shopping area and to plenty of restaurants. Prices are very reasonable even in Fair days, which is not usual in Frankfurt. Underground station of konstablerwache is at walking distance with direct connections to Frankfurt Messe, which you can reach in 10 minutes. Rooms are small but reasonably clean. Breakfast is very standard. The main problem, specially for business travelers is that WIFI is not working properly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catvics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

For the price, I was expecting a bit more comfort. The beds were singles, the tub a half-size tub, there is no mirror over the vanity, and limited other conveniences. More importantly, there is a bar outside or across the street, but it actually sounds as if they are right outside - as there is nothing in the windows to muffle the noise. The hotel should double pane these windows, or at least add a sound barrier behind the curtain to cushion the noise from the night life that goes on until 4 in the morning. I pre-paid $14 Euros for breakfast which was a crappy buffet, and as I was in a rush, couldn't even get a decent cappucino to go as there is no one working from the hotel to order anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not over the street, or is quiet. Don't prepay the breakfast. Bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kforney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would normally take it for granted when my hotel stay is good. Especially for most time, the hotel is just booked for me to crash in after a long day out sightseeing and stuff so not much to comment most of the time.

So this is a very special review that I actually bother to write on my Hotel stay experience. Actually, the greatest fear that I am having now is that I may be letting a best-kept secret out that might just jeopardized my future great experience with this hotel should it's popularity surges further.

Nice comfy Bed - checked
Clean and New Facility - checked
Friendly Reception and Speedy Check-in - checked
Excellent Location to Shopping/Grocery/Convenient Store - checked
Proximity to Train Station - checked (4 S-Bahn Stops away, S-Bahn Station - nice 5mins walk)
Free wifi in Room - checked

Breakfast may be a little on the high side but good alternative on Sunday or Public Holidays when most of the shops around are closed. Unless you consider MacDonald's as your reasonable morning pick-me-up! (Mac's coffee is getting pretty bad in Frankfurt!)

However, I do have a little gripe about their small shower enclosure that is a little tight even for a small asian built like mine. Not forgetting to mention the inconspicuously fixed metallic door-stopper that was badly positioned right in front of the wardrobe, which I had inadvertently snubbed my big toe on it a few times!

Otherwise, a splendid stay overall for couple or single only!

Price wise, do check their website for the best deal especially for the weekends that is without any trade fairs or conferences.

Yes, this shall be my crashing pad in my next trip to Frankfurt, again!

Thanks Scala for the 1st Best Western Experience!

Room Tip: Do ensure your windows are closed properly as the hotel housekeeper has the habit of leaving it ajar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good place to stay during messe, comfort floors are well decorated, clean, good breakfast, central to everything, will choose again when going to messe, the tube is just few steps away, kebap is just across the street, they serve fab food there, very good when hungry after some fun 4am in the morning. Well done good place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ervis555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went to the Frankfurt Christmas market and stayed at this hotel for the first time. The room was ok for the weekend. It was clean and warm. I did not like that the room had two beds, one big enough for one person but too small for two people and another single small bed. However, it was clean and quiet (third floor at the back) so we could sleep well. The room had a minibar but did not have a tea/coffee maker. The bathroom was very small but acceptable. A big plus was the free wifi. We did not have breakfast as there is enough places to have breakfast outside. The location was perfect. It is very easy to get there from the airport. We took a taxi (€30) but the train is also very handy and much cheaper (getting the S8 or S9 and exit at Konstablerwache, then 50 mts walk). The hotel is located just beside the shopping area and 20 minutes walk from the Sachsenhausen (pubs area), 10 minutes walk to the Fressgasse. The hotel has no bar or restaurant but there were plenty of places around to eat or drink. Staff (day and night) were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaLetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
EXPO Hotel
#118 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#80 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#126 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#146 of 269 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#7 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#29 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Favored Hotel Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Favored Hotel Scala

Property: Favored Hotel Scala
Address: Schaefergasse 31, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Scala)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Favored Hotel Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Scala is located conviently in the city centre of Frankfurt. You will find shops and department stores within a few minutes by walking. Our Hotel provides 40 guest rooms, standard and comfort class. The comfort rooms offer an aircondition and a safety box. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom, hairdryer and cosmetic mirror. The rooms also have free wifi, minibar, telephone and Satellite- TV with more than 100 international TV channels. In the mornings you can enjoy our hot/cold buffet breakfast. Reception is available 24 hours. We look forward to welcome you at the Scala Frankfurt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Favored Hotel Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Scala
Best Western Frankfurt
Frankfurt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing