We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for people going thru euro train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #79 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Located just accross the euro train station, easy to carry luggages with big family traveling to other europe destination. Free wifi and breakfast also excellent with lots of meat varieties. Bed size also standard european size. Good for business traveller as well.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Eureka3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Eureka 3432,

thank you for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.com and your stay with us.
It is a great pleasure to share your comment within our team.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt.

Sincerely
Your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 467 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Metropolitan and were very satisfied. The room was small but clean, had a capsule coffee maker (would have preferred a tea kettle), good tv and free wireless. The bathroom was exceptionally nice with excellent toiletries (and oddly awful towels). The breakfast selection was perfect although it can be challenging finding someone to bring you coffee. Lovely front and bar staff.

The location is near the train station with all the good and bad that comes with being near a European train station. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a street room on an upper floor and experienced no noise disturbance. The rooms are very sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l2teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear 12teacher,

thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.com.

It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Frankfurt.
We do hope to welcome you soon back to our house.

Sincerely
Your
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked three lovely looking rooms at this hotel to visit the Xmas market and for the price and prestigious appearance of the hotel I would have expected much much more.

Firstly, the beds were very hard and I still have a bad neck three days later.

Secondly, there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was at an extra charge.

Thirdly, wifi was not free and when paid for was very poor standard.

Fourthly, room service had an extra delivery charge of 5 euros?! Isn't that the point of room service?!

Also after a long day walking through the Xmas markets I would have preferred better choice of non-German tv in my room.

However on the plus side, the location was perfect for visiting the Christmas market, the shops and eateries.

The room was clean and had a great shower.

All the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Hoopsnakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Hoopsnake,
thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We are afraid you have mistaken us for another Steigenberger Hotel. Our property is located right next to the main train station and we’re afraid you have stayed in the city center due to the short distance to the Christmas market.
It is our pleasure to confirm that our breakfast is included in all room rates, our internet access is free of charge and we do provide around eight TV channels in englisch language.

Anyway – we would love to welcome you for another X-mas visit in the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan and do wish you a merry Christmas and a successful and healthy start into 2014.

Sincerely
Your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night (5th November) 2013 with D. Hotel is opposite the Hauptbanhof which is really convenient. Its also within 10 mins walk to the new Skyline Plaza shopping centre which is worth checking out.

The entrance of the hotel is a bit strange but I suppose it's standard in Germany?. You walk up some stairs and reception in on the right. On the left is a restaurant and directly in front of the reception is a lounge. There are no where for one to sit as there was no lobby as such. The lift is located at the back of the hotel.

We got a room on the 6th (top) floor. This is where the sauna/steam room and gym is located. The room has 2 single bed joined together. The bed is fairly comfortable. Wifi is available free for 24 hours only.

The room was big and clean and come with 2 radiator but when we were there it doesn't seem to be working. Create a lot of noise though. The bathroom is the best. Its big with his and her wash basin and a stand alone shower and bath.

We had a look at the gym which is standard, nothing special. The sauna and stream room is much better with hot and cold shower and The White Company toiletries. However our room card does not give us access so every time we want to go there we had to ring the front desk, which is a pain. I think they are trying to fix it.

Overall a nice hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundancekid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear RL,

thank you for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.com and your stay with us.
It is a great pleasure to share your comment within our team.

Please note that our lounge is inviting you at any time upon availability to sit and relax with no obligation to order.
Also ist our WIFI access free of charge for the duration of your stay. Our colleagues have provided you with a voucher for only 24hrs as you were staying for one night only. Due to Network balance we do issue free WIFI tickets only for the duration of your stay.
Please be assured that your noisy radiator as well as the room key that did not grant access to the sauna is not up to our regular standard and has been fixed already.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt.

Sincerely
Your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was ok-nothing special....Great Location,close to the central station. Staff spoke good English and kind.comfy bed. But if you expect the 5stars service you would be disappointed...no body came to entrance to pick up luggage, also after check out we asked reception to call a cab for us cos we have so much luggage,but we were just told there are plenty of taxi if we walk to right side..but we asked because we really had a lot to carry.... Bath room, room are comfy and bed was nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear MCocoon,
thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear that we have mostly met your expectations and we are looking forward to share that within the team.
Please accept our apologies in regards to the porterage services. We do provide doormen services, but our colleague must have been with other guests at this moment. Please be assured that we will discuss your matters within our team in order to sensitize for future purposes.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt and the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Most Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of September 2013. The hotel is located just outside of the North exit of Frankfurt Central. It is a comfortable hotel with a great location. However, the area towards the back of the hotel made us a little uncomfortable, so we decided to avoid the area by traversing the train station and getting to the other side using the station main entrance and doing the same on our way back to the hotel (main entrance to north entrance).

The room was comfortable, roomy and extremely quiet, which is surprising since the trains are right next door. It was so quiet that we did not hear anyone on our floor, not even the personnel that were cleaning the room next to ours. The bathroom had a bath and a shower. The shower is small. I'm 5'3"/106 lbs and I was comfortable showering here; however a bigger person may have difficulties. So if that is the case, you might want to take a bath.

The Wi-Fi connection does not work in the room. It only works in the lobby and restaurant. Breakfast is a buffet consisting of cold items: cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, several types of bread and pastries. The personnel offers you coffee (cappuccino, cafe late...) and eggs prepared to your liking which are delivered to your table. Service personnel is friendly and well trained. Tables are dressed with real linens.

We were happy with this hotel and definitely recommend it for your stay in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear MarianC,
thank you for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.com and your recent stay with us.
It is a great pleasure to hear that we have met your expectations and we will happily share your comments within the team.

Please accept our apologies in regards to the poor WiFi connectivity, but we can already confirm that 80 additional access points will be installed in the following week within the entire building in order to fix the described challenges.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt as well as the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Yours sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arriving in rainy dark Frankfurt on an average tuesdayevening, I was glad to find out that the hotel looked nice from the outside and the parking garage was just in front of the hotel. We were welcomed in a good manner, the rooms were adequate, clean and had a nice view(I stayed on the 6th floor). The room lacked a bath however and the Wifi(for which a code was provided at reception) did not work, minibar had only drinks no snacks. However, I had a nice sleep and my colleague was also satisfied with her stay in the room opposite of mine. But I am a man of simple pleasures and so I like the typical German Breakfast with “Kaiserbrotchen”, some nice “Schinken”or other sausage. In that respect hotel Steigenberger Metropolitan is not serving that, it just caters for foreigners the same boring breakfast buffet that you will find in so many hotels. And then I missed the nice Gasthofs that are so dear to me in Germany. All-in all, nice hotel for the tired businessman, not for a melancholic traveller like I am. I would recommend it anyways if somebody would ask.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Willem_ter_Haar,

thank you for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.com.
It is a pleasure to hear that we have mostly met your expectations and we are looking forward to share that within the team.

Please accept our apologies in regards to the poor WiFi connectivity, but we can already confirm that 80 additional access points will be installed in the following week within the entire building in order to fix the described challenges. Due to the historical building a double amount of access points than in usual buildings have been necessary.
Pleas also accept our style of breakfast in order to meet international requirements due to the majority of our guests. Anyway, we are serving traditional as well as regional goods on our separate breakfast menu as you might have seen. Bavarian “Weisswurst” as well as “Nürnberger sausages” for example are served a la carte but without any additional charge.

We do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt and the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Most Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#59 of 270 in Frankfurt
106 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#34 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#7 of 270 in Frankfurt
768 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#36 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#39 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#49 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $143 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing