We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #63 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was just great for an overnight stopover when catching a train @ 8am the following morning. The hotel is literally just across the road. Rooms were a good size, clean and "complimentary mini-bar" is always a plus. Easy walking to the main attractions and shopping areas, good breaky, easy check in and out.
No real WOW factor but comfortable and convenient...

Room Tip: Great location to train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrownsAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Family Brown,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.

We are honored to share your compliments with our team and do hope to welcome you soon back to Frankfurt.
Maybe next time a little longer 

Sincerely

Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    176
    65
    25
    14
See reviews for
42
97
57
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed in the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan in Novemebr 2012, while travelling on business. If you are travelling by train, the Metropolitan is 250 metres from Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof (main railway station). The rooms are quiet and have great showers. Breakfast is a great self service continental buffet affair served in a high ceilinged room at the front of the hotel. The area surrounding the hotel can be a little seedy at night. However, this should not deter you from staying at ze Metropolitan. It is close to metro and rail links to get you to your desired destination in downtown Frankfurt am Main.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bones6t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Bones6T

vielen Dank für Ihr positives Feedback und damit verbundenen Aufenthalt in unserem Hause.
Wir freuen uns sehr Ihr Lob an unsere Kollegen weiterleiten zu dürfen.

Gerne möchten wir Ihnen auf diesem Wege Ihre absolute Sicherheit bezüglich der von Ihnen angesprochenen Lage unseres Hauses direkt am Hauptbahnhof versichern. Wir haben täglich unsere Doormen an unserem Hoteleingang postiert und bisher keinerlei schlechte Erfahrungen zu verzeichnen.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie bald wieder einmal in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben

Ihr Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. Next to the main train station..this meant that we could get to almost anywhere we wanted. Although we went in March, it was still snowing on and off and cold so I was glad I didn't have to walk far to get to the trains and subway. It's just 3 mins away really.

The room was a generous size and turndown service was always prompt. We got small packets of Haribo gummies. A nice touch! And so different from the usual chocolates.

Bathroom was roomy and clean and breakfast spread was good too. I would stay here again if I went to Frankfurt once more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfeyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Gwenni3,

Vielen Dank für Ihr positives Feedback. Wir freuen uns sehr dieses mit unserem Team teilen zu dürfen.
Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie bald wieder einmal in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben

mit herzlichen Grüßen
Ihr Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Johanna Wamser
i.V. Stellv. Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in January and while the weather was snowy and cold as soon I walked up the red carpeted stairs I was in for a treat! I thought the room was excellent and the breakfast too! I can see the negative points that made people say this is not a 5 stars Hotel! Only 1 pillow - surely thats not what people expect from luxury hotels! I'm sure they could bring you more if you ask!? ( I still think it should be there already!) Also the breakfast service should have been a lot more special it did lack of attention to detail considering I could see only 5 (?) customers at that time! They may want to review this process and improve it! On the positive side the hotel is excellent condition, the staff were extremelly polite and well presented and I really enjoyed the toiletries in the bathroom, ''the white company'' I think! The bathrooms are nice! The location is excellent when travelling by train the hotel is next door to the train station!

Room Tip: a room with a view of Frankfurt towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Roberto,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.
We are happy to share your appreciation with our team.

Please be assured that you speak “out of our heart” regarding the pillows. We are always strive for best services, but some unforeseen wishes need to be outspoken for us to make our valued guests feel like home. Our housekeeping would be more than happy to have an additional pillow or any other item delivered to your room in just a few minutes.
Apart from this we do already have in most - and by the end of the year in all guestrooms 2 pillows per guest established.
We do also apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused during breakfast and will discuss this within the team for future improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again to the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Sincerely
Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week as we were taking part in an exhibition. Overall it was a very good hotel, although our room smelt slightly of sewers on occasions. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very attractive in my opinion. They had free wifi - very important. Food wise - the breakfast was not bad. We had dinner there on a couple of occasions - the food was good, but when there is high occupancy I cannot speak very highly of the service. The waiters were fine but the kitchen was very slow as they were dealing with a lot of room service so I would not have a big dinner there again. I liked the bar area - it was cozy and the service there was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Herr retro46,

vielen Dank für Ihr positives Feedback und damit verbundenen Aufenthalt in unserem Hause.
Wir freuen uns sehr Ihr Lob an unsere Kollegen weiterleiten zu dürfen.

Gerne möchten wir uns für die eventuellen Unannehmlichkeiten bei Ihnen entschuldigen bezüglich der Wartezeiten im Restaurant.
Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass insbesondere bei a la carte verköstigten Gruppe eine etwas längere Wartezeit zustande kommen kann. Daher informieren unsere Mitarbeiter unsere geschätzten Gäste oft direkt bei der Bestellung. Wir würden uns zukünftig auch über eine vorherige Reservierung sehr freuen um zu Gunsten unserer Qualitätsansprüche planen zu können.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie bald wieder einmal in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben

Ihr Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

On our first visit, we chose this hotel solely due to it's close proximity to the railway station (it's right next to it!). However, we have grown to like this hotel - the superior rooms are well equipped, have nice bathrooms but are only average in size.
The room price includes a buffet breakfast with a very generous selection available. This is one of the best buffet breakfasts we've had in a long time.
The restaurant is pleasant, has a reasonable menu but to my mind is well over-priced compared with independent restaurants in the area (having said that, they're prices are comparable with other main hotels in the area).
The reception staff are very well trained, speak perfect English if required and were extremely helpful.
My only criticism was it proved difficult to get a drink from the bar - we waited for over 10 minutes - no bar staff to be seen. Six other customers were also waiting. I mentioned the problem to the Reception staff and they promised to get somebody to serve us. A few minutes later two staff arrived and served us. It's not a major issue, but it would nice if the hotel management could keep an eye on this.
To sum up, we still like the hotel enough to be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear dmg31,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.
We are happy to share your appreciation with our team.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused in regards to your visit to our Metropolitan Bar & Lounge. We hope you agree with us stating that this is not the regular standard. Please be assured that we will brief this within our team.

It is our pleasure to be of service again for your upcoming stay.

Sincerely
Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#46 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristall
#88 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#35 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#40 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#41 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing