We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #80 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in January and while the weather was snowy and cold as soon I walked up the red carpeted stairs I was in for a treat! I thought the room was excellent and the breakfast too! I can see the negative points that made people say this is not a 5 stars Hotel! Only 1 pillow - surely thats not what people expect from luxury hotels! I'm sure they could bring you more if you ask!? ( I still think it should be there already!) Also the breakfast service should have been a lot more special it did lack of attention to detail considering I could see only 5 (?) customers at that time! They may want to review this process and improve it! On the positive side the hotel is excellent condition, the staff were extremelly polite and well presented and I really enjoyed the toiletries in the bathroom, ''the white company'' I think! The bathrooms are nice! The location is excellent when travelling by train the hotel is next door to the train station!

Room Tip: a room with a view of Frankfurt towers
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Roberto,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.
We are happy to share your appreciation with our team.

Please be assured that you speak “out of our heart” regarding the pillows. We are always strive for best services, but some unforeseen wishes need to be outspoken for us to make our valued guests feel like home. Our housekeeping would be more than happy to have an additional pillow or any other item delivered to your room in just a few minutes.
Apart from this we do already have in most - and by the end of the year in all guestrooms 2 pillows per guest established.
We do also apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused during breakfast and will discuss this within the team for future improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again to the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan.

Sincerely
Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 445 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week as we were taking part in an exhibition. Overall it was a very good hotel, although our room smelt slightly of sewers on occasions. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very attractive in my opinion. They had free wifi - very important. Food wise - the breakfast was not bad. We had dinner there on a couple of occasions - the food was good, but when there is high occupancy I cannot speak very highly of the service. The waiters were fine but the kitchen was very slow as they were dealing with a lot of room service so I would not have a big dinner there again. I liked the bar area - it was cozy and the service there was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr retro46,

vielen Dank für Ihr positives Feedback und damit verbundenen Aufenthalt in unserem Hause.
Wir freuen uns sehr Ihr Lob an unsere Kollegen weiterleiten zu dürfen.

Gerne möchten wir uns für die eventuellen Unannehmlichkeiten bei Ihnen entschuldigen bezüglich der Wartezeiten im Restaurant.
Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass insbesondere bei a la carte verköstigten Gruppe eine etwas längere Wartezeit zustande kommen kann. Daher informieren unsere Mitarbeiter unsere geschätzten Gäste oft direkt bei der Bestellung. Wir würden uns zukünftig auch über eine vorherige Reservierung sehr freuen um zu Gunsten unserer Qualitätsansprüche planen zu können.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie bald wieder einmal in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben

Ihr Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

On our first visit, we chose this hotel solely due to it's close proximity to the railway station (it's right next to it!). However, we have grown to like this hotel - the superior rooms are well equipped, have nice bathrooms but are only average in size.
The room price includes a buffet breakfast with a very generous selection available. This is one of the best buffet breakfasts we've had in a long time.
The restaurant is pleasant, has a reasonable menu but to my mind is well over-priced compared with independent restaurants in the area (having said that, they're prices are comparable with other main hotels in the area).
The reception staff are very well trained, speak perfect English if required and were extremely helpful.
My only criticism was it proved difficult to get a drink from the bar - we waited for over 10 minutes - no bar staff to be seen. Six other customers were also waiting. I mentioned the problem to the Reception staff and they promised to get somebody to serve us. A few minutes later two staff arrived and served us. It's not a major issue, but it would nice if the hotel management could keep an eye on this.
To sum up, we still like the hotel enough to be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear dmg31,

Thank you for your positive feedback and recent stay with us.
We are happy to share your appreciation with our team.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused in regards to your visit to our Metropolitan Bar & Lounge. We hope you agree with us stating that this is not the regular standard. Please be assured that we will brief this within our team.

It is our pleasure to be of service again for your upcoming stay.

Sincerely
Johanna Wamser
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank a1234554321z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked 1 night here in a single room for a business trip. The room i was allocated was right next to the lift and it was incredibly noisy. I asked to be moved and they said there was only one room left which was a smoking room, which I looked at and didn't like as it smelled of smoke. I went back to booking.com and was able to book other rooms at different categories for that night. So clearly they did have rooms available. I am not sure why they wouldn't offer them, but i wasn't happy with the room or the service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Andrea,

thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the inconveniences we may have caused.

Unfortunately we have to confirm the procedure of our colleagues concerning the availability that day. It is always our main concern as well as standard procedure to accommodate the individual requests of our values guests in order to personalize our provided services.
The system setup of booking.com as well as all other online travel services allows always to look at all existing room categories as in your case. If you would have proceeded to actually book a room, you would have been prompted to a message that states, the chosen category is not available. Unfortunately that is only visible for an actual booking attempt.

Dear Andrea, we do hope to have answered your questions sufficiently. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not too far distance.

Sincerely
Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan


Mit herzlichen Grüssen,
Ihre
Johanna Wamser
i.V. Stellv. Direktorin / Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent here three nights during new years eve in december 2012. The hotel is located in front of the main station, so a perfect position to arrive from airports and move around rhe area. The area is not the best one, as in many big city the railway station is not he best, but here I felt safe. The red zone is in a close street, but choosing the other parallel street is a good deal, avoidi g this area.
Room was nice, with big bath well equiped. Wellness area not so big, with a steam room ( unfortunately out of order) and a Finnish sauna.
Staff really nice and helpful in each request.
Breakfast service good, with plenty of choice: eggs, omelettes, bacon...on request.
We spent also the new year's eve in the restaurant. Really calm and pleasant dinner with really good food.
I can suggest this hotel to all want a good accomodation for a good price!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natanBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013
Google Translation

Guten Tag,
herzlichen Dank für Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Hause sowie Ihre gute Bewertung . Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat und Sie einen angenehmen Abend an Silvester bei uns verbringen konnten. Gerne geben wir Ihr Lob an unsere Mitarbeiter weiter und freuen uns , Sie bald wieder im Steigenberger Metropolitan Frankfurt begrüßen zu können.
Eine gute Zeit im Neuen Jahr wünscht Ihnen
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Rooms: I stayed in this hotel about 7 years ago and got a good impression of the rooms. However, now I stayed here again for business 2 nights and noticed nothing got changed, meaning, you can see the rooms are getting worn out. The room size is OK, a bit on the small side. To open the closet doors is not too easy due to the unhandy design of opening the doors. The shower is nice and bright. The shower was very clean, the room was OK from clean point of view.

Breakfast: Rather good. You can order certain items from the waiter/waitress such as eggs, porridge, etc. The porridge is however the worst I ever had, it is very dry, lukewarm and no taste.

Location: Not the nicest area of Frankfurt, but a good location in any case. Right next to the main trainstation and walking distance to the business district and even shopping districts.

Reception: Friendly, however, when asking for a nice Italian restaurant, we got directed to a pizza place.

Paid 148 Euros a night including breakfast, which is way too expensive for this hotel. Also the 5 stars the hotel is, is in my opinion overrated. I would say an average 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013
Google Translation

Guten Tag,
vielen Dank für die Bewertung Ihres Aufenthaltes . Wir sind immer dankbar über Anmerkungen unserer Gäste, die uns helfen, unseren Standard zu verbessern , gerne geben wir Ihre Anregungen an unsere Mitarbeiter im Frühstück und an der Rezeption weiter. Es tut uns sehr leid, dass Ihnen von unseren Mitarbeitern eine Pizzeria empfohlen wurde, selbstverständlich verfügen wir auch über Informationen über andere italienische Restaurants.
Wir wünschen Ihnen eine gute Zeit im Neuen Jahr und grüßen Sie herzlich aus Frankfurt,
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 271 in Frankfurt
737 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 271 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#74 of 271 in Frankfurt
78 reviews
Hotel Cristall
#81 of 271 in Frankfurt
127 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#35 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan

Address: Poststr. 6, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#29 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#40 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#52 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $137 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan it takes only a few minutes by public transport or taxi to the Frankfurt Exhibition and Congress Centre, Frankfurt Airport, the banking quarter and the famous shopping mile, the Goethe Strasse and to the Zeil shopping mall. Other landmarks of the Main metropolis such as the Alte Oper, the theatre, galleries and the Senckenberg Museum are not far from the hotel either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing