We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and quaint.”

Gasthaus Zum Eisernen Steg
Ranked #190 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Great little pub, loved the decor. The food was very good. We ordered the pork in mushroom cream sauce, boiled eggs and potatoes with Frankfurt herb sauce, and frankfurter with potatoes and sauerkraut. It was nice and quiet and frequented by locals judging by how they greeted everyone who walked in as if they were regulars.

A great German-esque experience.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank scareyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2015

If you are keen to get verbally assaulted and sworn at, go to this place.

My partner and I dropped in to have a look at the menu, we were looking for a nice place for a relaxed dinner. My partner also used the bathrooms while I was still checking out the menu. BIG MISTAKE. The waitress started verbally assaulting us, throwing swear words at us. She also requested a 50cent charge for using the bathroom - which we (totally stunned and speechles) paid. The waitress should really be ashamed of herself. Representing Frankfurt in such an embarrassing way is unheard of. We are both locals and won’t come back to this absolutely disgraceful place - and we will also make sure none of our friends or family will step a foot in this "restaurant".

I wonder if any of the guests who were watching the bad behavior of the waitress will ever come back?

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 123Ontour123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Great place. They have 4 different types of tank beer, all very very good. The food is absolutely great and the strudel I had for desert was perfect. Highly recommended!

Thank Francisco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2015

We went out looking for an authentic German evening meal and we found what we were looking for here. Really great authentic food served with a local friendly atmosphere. Lots of local people eating there too. I'd definitely recommend a visit. We enjoyed our experience and had good tasty food.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank Bobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

After crossing Eiserner Steg we found a German style pub. It was a good surprise as we entered and found a nice pub with no more than ten tables. We had sausages with sauerkraut, potato salad, and an apfelstrudel for desert which was great. The beer was fine, but the apfelwein was not. We will be back!

Thank fabiof358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus Zum Eisernen Steg also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus Zum Eisernen Steg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.