We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Italian in Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria Promis

Trattoria Promis
Ranked #308 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Italian in Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a tasting experiance in this family running trattoria. As I'm a vegeterian, they formed a new menu for me. Both the meal and the wine were really delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,091 reviews
519 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Pretty good cucina a la Mama... Wine a bit expensive, but authentic cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We ended up paying a good 100 Euro for two bottles of wine of nothing overly Special, and 40 Euro per Head for Food.
Food was good, and when you go there, ist not only Food, but the warmth of the owner and the care by the Team and the smallish size that ind of beams you right into a true italian place.

Authentic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fine Italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

I went to this restaurant for the first time 2 weeks ago and I will come back soon. Small choice but everything I took was tasty. Wines are a dream. Staff very friendly. I did not wait long.
Only negetive thing are prices. A little high but quality costs:)
A nice discovery in Frankfurt!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Molto rumore per nulla”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

For having the reputation of being one of the best Italian Restaurant in town the disappointment was great when I finally ate there months ago.
An excellent selection of wines, also a small but fine selection of dishes offered.
Unfortunately the Truffle pasta I chose to eat was disappointing. Pasta was properly cooked and of good quality. Unfortunately the truffles used were way too - let's say "aged". Their aroma was basically gone. I don't eat truffles too often, so you can imagine how I felt after having heard from the Cameriere how great it was supposed to be.
Yes, waiters is a full chapter about Promis: they tend to push too much in proposing expensive dishes. I have no problem at all in spending for good food. But I dont like to get the feeling I am not a guest at the table, rather a customer to be squeezed... why then?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcob1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place with the feel of family and fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a tiny little restaurant with very professional service and a terrific kitchen. I ordered a veal dish (they had one with sage which was also excellent) but I think mine was with lemon butter. I've never tasted a more tender and delicious veal filet. It melted in my mouth. With it was the sublime sauteed spinach, not drowning in garlic like so many places, but just irresistible, and potatoes. I ate every drop on my plate, it was all so delicious. I highly recommend this lovely little place. A real find.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Promis also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Trattoria Promis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing