We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but food tasteless”
Review of Zeil Kitchen

Zeil Kitchen
Ranked #398 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
725 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Convenient, but food tasteless”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is one of several restaurants along the Zeil shopping strip, that are intended for light meals or snacks while shopping.

Food is reasonably-priced by European standards, but they make up with the drinks. The food itself (I had a noodle soup with duck, and the portion was large), while substantial, was pretty bland, especially considering the restaurant's name and presumed culinary aspirations. My soup and a Coke came to less than 12 euro.

Some effort went into the interior decor, with a slightly exotic ambience to match the food. The seats were comfortable enough for a quick meal, but clearly had been chosen to discourage lengthy stays.

Keeping in mind the price and the nature of the location, I think this is a good choice if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    25
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
385 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good Hot Chocolate”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had a break during my shopping in Zeil. I ordered Hot Chocolate & Chocolate cake. The Hot chocolate was good but the cake I didn't like it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenanJamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice food but rude and lazy staff: Expect to wait”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I couldn't fault the food but the staff here really need a good course in customer service and basic manners. If you go there expect to wait for ages before some one comes to serve you and also to get the bill. I waited and waited to get my bill and eventually went and asked the waiter for it. He directed me inside to the till. I asked a woman behind the counter and she was very rude and asked where I was sitting etc. Then the waiter who had served us came along and he said that he never told me to go inside. They just have a really lazy, rude and bad attitude. I would normally leave a tip but this time on account of their behaviour and extermely poor service I didn't. When I eventually got to pay the rude waiter just stood there and waited for his tip and when it didn't come, didn't so much as say thank you or any indeed make any acknowledgement when we left. Unbelievably rude.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient break during shopping”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is in the middle of a wide pedestrian mall. We stopped in for some cake and tea to break up our afternoon shopping. The decor was quite nice and there was a good view of the surrounding area. We enjoyed our cake and tea but thought the service was somewhat slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rieslingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“try it”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I thought it was decent food for a reasonable price. Food is basically Thai/oriental. I guess I might just have tried another decent Thai rest. that is close by - but you won't go wrong with this one - nice atmosphere

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeil Kitchen also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Zeil Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing