We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient break during shopping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeil Kitchen

Zeil Kitchen
Ranked #268 of 2,445 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient break during shopping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is in the middle of a wide pedestrian mall. We stopped in for some cake and tea to break up our afternoon shopping. The decor was quite nice and there was a good view of the surrounding area. We enjoyed our cake and tea but thought the service was somewhat slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rieslingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    34
    23
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“try it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I thought it was decent food for a reasonable price. Food is basically Thai/oriental. I guess I might just have tried another decent Thai rest. that is close by - but you won't go wrong with this one - nice atmosphere

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinningforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Windsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Food ok, drinks a little more expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This restaurant is located on the "Zeil", the main shopping street in Frankfurt. The building itself is made out of glass window parts which in the summer can be opened. It in addition has many seats outside. However in winter/autumn it can be cold inside if you are sitting directly at the windows as the air is circulating from there.

When ordering food be ready to receive it right away. This leads to the only conclusion that they just heat up big pots of spiced rice with vegetables. They will then just add the meat/shrimps you have selected. It is not bad but also not that overwhelming. Still at a price of around 8-9 Euros per person the plate is very full. So in general the food is ok but could be better. Still I have seen much worse.

Drinks were around 5 Euros like a glass of wine or beer. A shot of Tequilla was 4,50.One anoying fact was that around 10pm they started to put away all things in the restaurant they did not need anymore. They close at 11:30pm. So for me it was a little bit uncomfortable to sit around while they guys start to put all things away. The waiters were all polite by the way.

So if you just want some drinks, this is the place to go I guess. At least if you want to stay on main street. For food maybe select something else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruandrettert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
“Expensive by US standards but OK for Europe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Spice Kitchen is one of the many restaurants and cafeterias in the area between the Hauptwache and the Konstablerwache. This is rather a cafeteria, standing right in the middle of the main pedestrian street, less than two blocks from the Konstablerwache train and underground hub and also a couple of blocks from Best Western Scala in Frankfurt, for which I posted a review right here, in Trip Advisor.

They have a take out service and those who have only one dish for six or seven Euros standing at the window on the pedestrian street will find it very cheap… But NOT if you eat inside!

I had lunch there on Sunday June 24, 2012 between 4:30 and 5:30 pm because they serve non stop from 10 am till midnight. I tried to eat inside, in an AC room, but there were some Troglodytes screaming like Tarzan calling Chita in the middle of the jungle, so I went outside, where they have several smoking tables on this very large pedestrian street.

Unlike many restaurants in Europe, they didn’t have any set menu for lunch and I had to eat “à la carte”. Maybe they do offer it from Monday to Friday, as they often do in most places, but this was Sunday and virtually no restaurant offers a set menu during the weekend, with a couple of exceptions like the Indian restaurant in Vienna, Austria, where I had an honorable set menu buffet lunch on Sunday May 20, 2012 for only 8 Euros plus drink, and for which I also posted a review in Trip Advisor.

My lunch was rather simple. I only had a good Chicken Fried rice at 7.80 € and a very good dessert called Nuts Marlenka at 3.40 €. Since their wines were too expensive, I had a Draft beer (0.30 cl.) for 3.30 € and a good espresso for 2.30 €

The total came to 16.80 € that I rounded up to 18 €, which converted roughly to $22.65 US. For half that price, you may have an unlimited buffet in a Chinese restaurant anywhere in Florida, but that’s what you should expect to pay in the old continent for a light two course lunch…; if you are lucky!

Food was OK and service was fast.

This Spice Kitchen is pricey by US standards, but rather average for Europe, especially England, Holland and Germany! Only Madrid is cheaper, as you will see by reading my reviews in Trip Advisor.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Efrin_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice food and good outdoor location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

food was nice and for me they offer lot of vegetarian option. iwe ate twice there and it was good,
location is very good and they have outdoor sitting which is good for tourist.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chaudhary53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeil Kitchen also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Zeil Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing