We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum fur Post und Kommunikation

Museum fur Post und Kommunikation
Ranked #28 of 404 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

A wonderful place for celebrating Bday parties with kids. They can run, play, touch and learn...all in one. We chose these place for bday of our daughter and it was a good choice.
Parents can relax in museum`s cafe.
Interesting !!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    63
    19
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
675 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 513 helpful votes
“Repetitive, obvious, much missing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was no doubt hampered by the fact that all the display text was in German, but it seemed that this museum simply displayed lots of memorabilia related to Communications. These included a big assortment of mailboxes, mail delivery vehicles, telephones, and such.

A small part was devoted to explaining writing and record-keeping, and early computers. As far as I could make out, there was no serious effort to cover such major themes as the evolution of human speech, the simultaneous invention of writing, phonetic vs. pictographic writing, printing, tele-communications from the telegraph to lasers, or the structure of the internet.

This subject is worthy of a better effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Inventions that don’t need translation – technies & non-techies will love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

It used to be the Museum fur Post und Kommunikation, and now it has many artifacts on various forms of communication, from sanskrit to letters via post office, to telegraph, telephone, radio, to movies, to cell phones. What I thought was interesting was seeing devices like the phonograph, the telegraph and the telephone with displays showing their German inventors – I thought many of those were invented in America. It would be fun to compare the American and German devices and their invention dates. One display honored Alexander Graham Bell for his work on the telephone. The movie display seemed to be dominated by American films. It was easy to enjoy the displays of various prototype devices without needing to know German. The first section even had a booklet guide written in English. (I didn’t see one for other parts of the museum.) There was no entry fee the evening I went. I thought it was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
Level Contributor
376 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Beautiful descovery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

A jump into the story of communication.... But not only.

You will start from illustrations into the caverns and will join the most modern communication instruments having a beautiful trip through post services, the first telephone, the telegraph....

Beautiful the short selection of scenes with telephone calls extracted from famous films !!!!

Very nice for young, children and olders....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great museum, if you know German”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

3 Euro entry fee for an interesting insight into how communication technology has changed over the years. The exhibits are great but the lower level exhibits are all in german so if you dont know the german language, you could be missing out on some interesting facts. Nonetheless, the exhibit on the higher level was in english and very interesting. There's a childrens section which looked very interactive but seemed to be roped off for the children. I'm not sure if that area is solely for school kids or has to be booked before hand. I would've liked to try a few of those childrens exhibits.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum fur Post und Kommunikation also viewed

 

Been to Museum fur Post und Kommunikation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing