We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for film lovers”

German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum)
Ranked #10 of 433 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A museum dedicated to film history and technology. The museum also hosts film screenings.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for film lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This incredible place has displays lots of objects from the movie history - from a Cinematographe Lumière to a replica of the "Alien". There you'll be able to watch things such a collection of short movies from Georges Meliès, and another one of recent award-winning films. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FelipeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    121
    23
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Oscar buzz with explanation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Plenty in English in a town that is a bit short on translations. Great cafe too...try the cherry drink! The third floor tribute to the oscars was very informative. Plenty of movie clips on all three floors-worth a visit-you need about 3 hours there

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A superb museum for anyone interested in cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was staying near Frankfurt for a few weeks on business and had the opportunity to visit Frankfurt on a Saturday on one of my free weekends. A friend had mentioned seeing this museum so we went to check it out. When we went the admission price was €10 including the temporary exhibit, which turned out to be very good value.

The museum must have only opened recently (or been refurbished), as it looked very new, with a very modern style of presentation. What I loved was the shear range of exhibits, from the very early age of moving images right through to the art of lighting and digital editing. There were lots of amazing displays (the Alien suit being my highlight), but also some great interactive areas and plenty of opportunities to watch short clips / films showcasing techniques of cinematography, sound, set design etc.. It's a prime example of how a modern museum can be truly interesting, and not just a case of trudging around reading labels and looking at objects behind glass.

I could have spent hours in there, despite the small size of the museum, and will happily return again if I'm ever in Frankfurt.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jsgreen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Historic cinematography at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

A great little museum with diplays depicting the process of putting pictures on a screen for public enjoyment throughout the ages. Very visual so the lack of anything other that German language legends with the displays does not seem to be a big handicap for non-German speakers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ExploreEuropeLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I looked forward in going to the film museum and when I got there it didn't dissapoint. It was like watching how film started through the years. It was also great that everything was both in German and English. A lot of interactive stations. And the film reel at the end show various movie styles en acting styles was worth €5 on its own.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteynSA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum) also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to German Film Museum (Deutsches Filmmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing