We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Senckenberg Natural History Museum (Naturmuseum Senckenberg)
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.38*
and up
Frankfurt City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #5 of 407 things to do in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fantastic display of dinosaurs from tiny trilobites to t-rex. In addition o the main attraction, there is also a floor dedicated to stuffed animals. Visitors of all ages would enjoy this museum.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my boyfriend love history and museums, so this was great. It had loads of things to see and very interesting displays! The one of the Anaconda was quite scary but very interesting.
It wasn't too much to get in, I had a discount as I'm a student in Frankfurt but I think for my boyfriend it was about 3 Euros.
Even though the place is interesting, my boyfriend doesn't speak German, so for the vast majority of the museum he wasn't able to read the plaques, but seeing as he studies Archaeology, he ended up explaining most of it to me! I think maybe if you don't speak German, ask for a leaflet guide or bring somebody who does speak German with you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rchlyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    298
    75
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great visit for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited on a Thursday afternoon and by luck, arrived just after a big group of teens left the museum. There were few visitors besides us which made it an unhurried time, ideal for my 4 year old. We spent about 2-3 hours wandering leisurely throughout, including a relaxing late lunchin the cafe. All their exhibits were good, although I wish there were more hands on displays (I.e. Brussels' dinosaur exhibit). The huge central display of large skeletons was excellent. We all enjoyed the taxiderm rooms... Completely fascinating! It was neat to also see the exhibit from Grube Messel, which is in nearby Darmstadt. For non-German speakers, most every species is labeled also in English, but the descriptions are in German which may bother you if you're one who enjoys reading every single plaque. For those with kids, there's a small but well stocked play area (toys, small table with coloring pencils, children's books) on the 2nd floor of the restaurant. Seating is very plush there, with a modern lounge vibe. Try the menu specials as well as ordering off their menu (found on the museum website). If you would rather not eat at the museum, there are some nice cafes nearby as well as Boeckenheim weekly Market right around the corner on Thursdays. (We stopped through there enroute to the nearest parking garage).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of hours wandering thru this museum. Of particular interest were the prehistoric exhibits which include finds from 50 million years ago (a tiny horse - cute!) and apparently the only American (Woolly?) Mammoth skeleton on display in Europe. The Egyptian Exhibit includes two mummies of children, kind of macabre but you can't help being drawn to them, so well preserved. Also representations of sadly extinct species such as the Quagga and - the creature I really wanted to see - the Dodo (it's skeleton). The mammals shown in their natural habitats are quite well displayed (look real in your photos!) but some of the impressive collection of stuffed bird specimens are a bit moth eaten and dusty. But that's okay. They don't need to get new ones! All in all probably something for everyone and especially the kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fossils of dinosaurs and prehistoric animals, old and vintage building, fun for kids and adults! They also organize finger-food dinners for large groups so u can eat, drink and enjoy museum in same time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Srkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal qc
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently visited this museum with family in Germany. Two students 15 and 19 and three adults; 50,56 +62. the entry price was only 23 E for all of us. The Museum is clean, well laid out and interesting. It was easy to spend two hours reading and seeing interesting exhibits. Even saw some rock samples from our home province of Quebec.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank djb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senckenberg Natural History Museum (Naturmuseum Senckenberg) also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Senckenberg Natural History Museum (Naturmuseum Senckenberg)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing