We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Adequate for pre-flight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Ranked #60 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Puget Sound, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Adequate for pre-flight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here at the end of our German vacation in order to easily catch an early morning flight from Frankfurt. Staff, as others have said, were a little too "cool" for their own good, but the room was fine and the wi-fi worked well. Unfortunately, our final view of lovely Germany was of a huge construction site next door...try to get a room on the other side of the hotel, if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    328
    110
    47
    28
See reviews for
159
138
129
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A fine "hip" hotel, small-scale rooms though absolutely comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast. Beware of fluctuating room prices, I have done well off season but paid more than double for the same room in high season. Staff could be less "hip" and more elegant/sophisticated, they have a great product.

Room Tip: Book early. Windows are a noise-proof design, with good darkening shutters and drapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winklergp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After an unhappy stay at Holiday Inn Express, and the irrepressible feeling of entrapment...with no Wifi, our second night we switched to Meininger Hotel,

We had a nice experience at this nearly new facility, with modern design, and payed little more than the Hostel price for 2 person private room...38.70Euros. Very comfortable beds, compact W/C & Wifi downstairs. Bar was a nice place to land after a long day, with Pizza & Beer . No free breakfast, but they do offer at 7.50E. Make sure you have your 3 E tokens for Returns to terminal shuttle, or it can delay the whole bus. Free Courtesy bus runs from Term 2 D/E, Door 8 and you can see the Hotel/Hostel across the highway. We like the decor, and soundproofing.

Only fault was there was a unfunctioning therostat, and though it would be OK, was cold by morning.

Room Tip: A corner room, away from highway very desirable with 2 window overlooking grassland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived at this hotel having booked a twin room to be told they did not have such a thing as twin,they were all doubles. We were served by an Asian man who most probably was new to Germany and very much full of his own importance. He was patronising and off hand. He was keen to sell the services of shuttle bus, you can walk to the airport in 5 minutes. And the breakfast.We used Venere to book the hotel. I made a complaint about the room not being a twin Venere did not reply to us. I will not use Venere again. As for the hotel the rooms are very small,housekeeping was a little erratic. I think they hotel need to instill into the staff,particularly the Asian male receptionist that lying to customers is not acceptable. The real reason I believe a twin room was not offered was because we booked in advance and the hotel were selling the twin rooms for three times the price when we arrived. This was a case of profiteering. The Asian receptionist may feel he has arrived as a receptionist in A German hotel and that he is above the guests, I certainly got that impression,however,management need to tell him strenuously without guests he would not have a job. I urge this hotel to take action on this urgent lack of training in this particularly employees case. Would I recommend you stay there dear reader. Well book in well advance the walk up rate is a rip off. Be prepared not to get the room that you have booked. If the hotel management deal with the issue of this particular receptionist I guess it is ok but certainly not worth paying a lot of money for.

Room Tip: That is tough as we found we did not get the room that we booked.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank deandonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and had a very good experience. It is very close to Terminal 2 and ideal for someone who has an early flight. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Tareq who was efficient and courteous. The hotel offers a free shuttle from the airport that runs every 30 minutes, but there is a €3 charge on the way back, but the distance is very short and you can walk it in 10 minutes. Breakfast costs €8 and included cold meats, cheese, hard-boiled eggs and hot frankfurters, plus the usual teas/coffees, fruit, etc. There is also a guest kitchen available for those on a budget.
The rooms are very clean and modern but minimalistic. As this is close to the airport, during the day you can obviously hear the noise of the airplanes, but with the windows closed, it is not a problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSwan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Friendly and young staff at this hotel, the rooms are basically new and I had a good sleep there. There is a bar downstairs where you can order drinks and snacks, but no full service restaurant and rather really just "microwave" snacks. The WIFI comes for free. We ordered something from the nearby Sushi delivery service via phone and they were happy to bring it to the hotel. The hotel was packed with all sorts of traveller and the bar service people were running at 100 % to keep up with the orders. The hotel provide a free shuttle bus, BUT ONLY FROM TERMINAL 2 and only free of charge on the way to the hotel. The way back you must pre-order and pay. For a group of 2 or 3 people it will be easier and more comfortable to take a taxi. With hand baggage it would be 5 minutes walk to Terminal 2 of the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta777jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great choice near Frankfurt international airport. Rooms are clean, surprisingly quiet and reasonably priced, a bit small though. It is possible to stay with your dog for a small fare. Would definitely stay here overnight between flights again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tn_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfurt
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
#29 of 275 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis Frankfurt Airport
Ibis Frankfurt Airport
#2 of 7 in Kelsterbach
4.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Element Frankfurt Airport
Element Frankfurt Airport
#51 of 275 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Property: MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Address: Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... it doesn't matter what you take off with, you'll always land well at the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport. The modern airport hotel is located at Gateway Gardens, only a short walk from Terminal 2. The entire hotel down to the 168 rooms is playfully themed "The Golden Age of Travel". An overnight stay at the airport has never been cheaper, and you can even hold your meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing