We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel of my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel of my trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked this hotel specifically because it is close to the airport and supposedly offers an airport shuttle.

We gave up on the shuttle and had to WALK from the airport - fortunately it wasn't that far.

When we got to the hotel and wanted to "book" the return trip to the airport, we were told it was full and would have to pay for a taxi. Nice.

They told us the kitchen was open 24 hours - that was a lie.

On top of all that, the staff were just plain rude.

Of our 3-week trip in Germany, this was, BY FAR, the worst hotel we stayed in.

Do not book this hotel.

Room Tip: Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILikeIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    403
    141
    58
    39
See reviews for
192
180
150
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highworth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We picked this hotel for a stopover on a long car journey across Europe because it is close to the Autobahn. However it is in the middle of nowhere and we had to ask three times at airport security and other hotels before finding it.

However, once we were there we were happy with our choice. We had a double room and a twin room but they were 6 floors apart - the one on the 7th floor had a brilliant view of the airport though. We ate in the hotel in the evening - the choice of food was pretty limited (pasta or pizza) but was relatively cheap, quick and filled the necessary holes! The staff were friendly and answered any questions we had.

The rooms weren't huge but were clean and well appointed. They also offer free wifi and even had 3 pin UK sockets so we didn't need to dig out the travel plug to charge the laptop for the teenagers! And they could charge their iPods in the dock provided too!

In the morning we found the hotel even has a really smart self-catering kitchen complete with washing machine, tumble drier, cooker, crockery etc. If we'd known about this sooner we'd probably have made good use of it.

We didn't have breakfast so can't report on that. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers if you are looking for somewhere clean, relatively cheap and close to the airport.

Room Tip: As far as aircraft noise is concerned our teenagers (who had a room on the 7th floor facing the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeydob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very relaxed and cool atmosphere - my kids loved it. Fanatstic service and friendly staff - exceptionally helpful. We stayed here at the begiining and end of our stay in Germany and used the left luggage service (for free). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert,CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter found this hotel which was a surprise for all of us. It's new and very mod so the teenagers loved it. The beds were great, pillows, too. Problem is the food they serve is for teenagers, not really adults, especially for dinner, so we walked to a nearby hotel and ate real German food, German beer. They didn't have a family room so gave us two adjoining rooms for the same price, very accommodating! Had a good night's sleep...we weren't there long, just between flights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Offthebeatenpath011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over between flights. We ordered a family room but they offered us two doubles for the same price - wonderful. The room is simple, clean and with a spacious bathroom. The air conditioning did work well and the beds were comfortable and the pillows fantastic. I asked for a slightly later check out time (11:30 instead of 11) and funny thing, the key stops working after 11! But they let us back in and did not charge us for this. Generally it's 10 euros to keep the room until 2 or later. The price was very good and the front desk workers were enthusiastic and happy. I had a coffee in the morning and used their internet. As there were four of us we took a taxi each way to the airport, which was simpler than the shuttle. Had we arrived at Terminal 2 I would have used the shuttle, the directions to which are printed on the confirmation page.

Overall, a great place to stay, my teens especially loved it!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was great because it was easy to reach. Also, the end room that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desertminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Checked in here at 1:00 am in the morning without any problems and they honoured my request for a top floor room overlooking the airport. Staff very friendly. Just a ten minute walk if that to Terminal 2. You can see aircaft landing on new runway as well, but noise didn't seem to be a problem,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfurt
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
2.1 mi away
NH Frankfurt Airport
NH Frankfurt Airport
#1 of 8 in Kelsterbach
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Property: MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Address: Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... it doesn't matter what you take off with, you'll always land well at the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport. The modern airport hotel is located at Gateway Gardens, only a short walk from Terminal 2. The entire hotel down to the 168 rooms is playfully themed "The Golden Age of Travel". An overnight stay at the airport has never been cheaper, and you can even hold your meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing