We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good, the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We got a great rate for a one night stay through Tripadvisor, specially compared to other airpot hotels.
The hotel is new, so new in fact that the GPS would not locate it. We were lucky enough to find their shuttle and follow it to the hotel. We got there 10 min before check in, and they said if we checked in we would be charged another 20 EUR. What? It didn't make sense, but I guess rules are rules, so we just waited... The hotel has a different, more modern feeling, no frills, no non-sense. Their PAN AM theme through out is nostalgic but also hip.
We got two rooms for our family of four, adjacent but not connected. It worked well for us because our kids are older, we enjoyed it as much as they did. We were at a high floor and the windows do open wide, be warned if you have little ones with you. From our room the view of the city was beautiful at night!
The room was very nice, modern, in simple lines with dark painted walls, wooden floors, and hanging lights. Hanging areas by the door/bathroom door made it easier to quickly access coats, purses, etc. The bed was very comfortable, and we had plenty of space, including a sofa. Very nice bathroom as well.
At night we went down to the lobby bar which was very busy, something we don't see at many hotels. The crowd seemed to be a mix of younger group of friends, and businessmen. The atmosphere was very relaxed, most people walking around, using the pool table, ordering food, enjoying their drinks. We had a good time, good service, but terrible food. I believe it all goes from a freezer to a microwave, but for what they charge they should be ashamed of it. We did step into the communal kitchen looking for ice cubes( didn't find it there), and though the idea was brilliant! There was also a washer and dryer, which would be very handy for many.
They offer a shuttle to the terminal, but you have to sign up for it, and pay 3 EUR / person. The van carries 8, if you're worried sign up in advance to save your spot.
Overall our stay was very nice... until the end. As we were leaving our room I dropped papers on the floor, and while picking them up I came across the most discussing hair and dust ball right under my bed! When I walked barefoot the night before the floors felt strange, I had not idea they were just dirty! Yuck! The young woman that checked us out was less than interested on my comments. I only wish I had taken a picture of what was "hiding" in the nice looking room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    391
    140
    58
    37
See reviews for
188
177
146
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

the hotel is very close to terminal 2 in frankfurt airport , and have a good shuttle service ! pick up is free , drop off is 3 euros ! ? , but thats all for the good things , rooms are so small that you think there is not enough air to breath, if you are hungry than you can eat something which you buy in lobby but it looks like it just come out of a machine , bathroom !!! if you have more kg than 75 or if you have xl size it will be very difficult to go to wc
have to open the door to give one leg out and on the other side you give your 2nd leg in the shower cabin , than it can be!!!
price was also strange , after all i payed for 1 night 146 euro (room,drop off,garage ect)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markus20er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here for a night, mainly to catch a flight the next morning. The check-in was complicated - they were very fuzzy about the paper work. Rooms are cramped - but then, you only stay here for stop over. They charge EUR9.50 for breakfast, not worth it, considering the limited spread. They charge EUR12 for parking can in their garage. Though the staff speaks reasonably good english, they are not very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Nice location if you have early morning flights. Free shuttle (if you have collected token from reception) to airport connects you to the main city. From airport you can get metro, bus, taxi to get in the city. This hostel is close to airport not city centre. Nice clean tidy rooms but absence of kitchen does not give complete hostel experience. Nice bar area and staff at the reception are too busy in their apple desktop monitor and if you get a smile from anyone then thats your lucky day!

Room Tip: Get your free airport suttle token or shell out 3 euros per trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeepeshKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here one night whilst waiting to transfer to another flight the next morning. The hotel is well situated, 10 mins walk from the airport, however they have a shuttle bus if you prefer not too. The room was quiet and comfortable, however I cannot comment on the food as I never ate here. The staff all spoke good English and were friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin24722612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night and was very disappointed. The room was very dirty - the bin was full and there was hair all over the bed and towels. Disgusting.
I think the hotel is having very poor management - in the morning there were three staff at the reception, arguing loudly and not paying attention to their guests. I was supposed to take a shuttle to the airport and they were completely unaware of that when the driver came to ask for the missing passenger (me) and also didn't tell me that the shuttle was there.
Also, at the check-out the receptionist insisted to speaking to me in German although I was speaking English and don't understand German. Very disappointed with the stay, poor value for what they offer. But at least the location is great if you have a flight to catch in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundtheworld302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
#26 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#44 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport

Property: MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
Address: Bessie-Coleman-Str. 11, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... it doesn't matter what you take off with, you'll always land well at the MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport. The modern airport hotel is located at Gateway Gardens, only a short walk from Terminal 2. The entire hotel down to the 168 rooms is playfully themed "The Golden Age of Travel". An overnight stay at the airport has never been cheaper, and you can even hold your meetings here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing