We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercator Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercator Hotel
Ranked #149 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Windsor
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a rip off!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Arrived on Sunday afternoon around 17.30., booked this hotel via a web site and requested a non smoking quiet room. Before being given my room key I was asked to pay ( most hotels I've stayed in take payment when checking out) I thought it was a bit strange,however I payed the extortionate bill €270 !!! and then was given my room key,(room 503) the lift took me to the 4th floor and you then have to walk up to the 5th floor, when I opened the door I was greeted by a smell of old stale smoke and dampness! I immediately went back to the reception and was then given room 506, this smelt better,however,as the 5th floor is literally in the roof the small bath had a shower head fitted about 3 feet above it, totally impossible to shower. When I mentioned this to the receptionist I was told that the rooms are allocated on a first come first served bases and there were no other rooms available. Had an extremely uncomfortable nights sleep, the bed and thin duvet were both poor quality and the only window was a sky light didn't have any way of blocking the light of the full moon, so the room was completely lit up. The second night I stayed it rained,I knew this because I was woken by the sound of dripping water, I couldn't believe what I saw, the spare bed had a ring of water that was a result of the sky light window leaking! When gave my room key back I once again stated that I was unhappy with the room and that there was a leak, complete silence was all I got. This should be classed as a hostel rather than hotel and how it has achieved a 3 star rating is beyond belief!!!! I could list more bad point about this place but I'm sure you've got the message by now .....AVOID!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WindsorGouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    47
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
14
29
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I visited the Mercator in order to visit relatives and go to the Frankfurt Christmas Market. The location was ideal as it was only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and markets. It is a basic hotel providing good value for money in Frankfurt. The rooms could do with an upgrade but at the price paid it is ok if a bit on the small side. It has all the facilities required for a short stay. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a reasonable selection provided.The staff were very friendly and helpful. In a city where hotel prices can be high the Mercator was reasonably priced and good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Close to shopping area and central Frankfurt. Easy to find but nearest S+U Bhan konstablewerch has many exits, head for the C&A and walk past the walden hotel and the mercator is easy to find. Put average for room because I think it could do with painting and decorating, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

staff was friendly, but:
i stayed on the 5th floor - the elevator ends on the 4th floor, so you have to carry your bags up.
the room was warm and sticky, there is no air-conditioning
breakfast was ok
but - for 190 eur - this is totally overpriced

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Mercator is a basic hotel providing good value for money in Frankfurt. The rooms are functional if a bit on the small side but provide all the facilities required for a short stay. Breakfast was included in the price and there was a reasonable selection provided. The location is slightly out of the centre but there is easy access to the trams etc. in a city where hotel prices can be high this hotel was reasonably priced and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris22
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room was a decent size with two comfortable single beds pushed together and adequately furnished. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower over the bath, but the shower was poor due to low water pressure. The hotel was very noisy when people were coming and going from the hotel due to thin walls ... doors slammed loudly when closed and voices carried. There was also a considerable amount of noise from traffic on a nearby main road although the hotel itself is on a quiet street. The location is good near to a wide choice of restaurants and bars and close to both underground and trams tops. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice of cold meats, cheeses, pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fruit and a small amount of hot food (scrambled egg and sausages).
The hotels website states that they have a bar but this was not the case.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Normally in my reviews I say you get what you pay for, but in this instance I won't! We stayed for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis and paid £98. We arrived late at night and reception was closed - no reception, a simple phone call, code entry, and the key magically dropped down into a machine!

Breakfast was great - the usual stuff.

Noise - we were disturbed on Monday morning by the weekly bin collection but we simply shut the window it was fine. It was pretty warm in the room though.

I had some concerns about our room being so close to the top of the communal stairs - I needn't have worried as there was a small porch type arrangement so it was quiet.

A great location and a great base from which to explore.

Reception were fine - I am not one for having 'love in' with staff and their approach suited me fine.

I would happily recommend this place for a seriously good value place to rest your head.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Select Hotel Aria
#161 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Innenstadt
Villa Orange
Villa Orange
#51 of 275 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#108 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#227 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Innenstadt
Golden Leaf Hotel & Residence Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercator Hotel

Property: Mercator Hotel
Address: Mercatorstr. 38 | Bornheim, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercator Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing