We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Mercator
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Villa Orange(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
EXPO Hotel(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Zeil(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
11
50
48
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
50
48
17
12
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 138 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mercator Hotel for one night after a long flight to Frankfurt.

The room was clean and tidy, not huge but that's no drama. It was a convenient location, about a 10-minute walk into downtown Frankfurt. The shower was a bit small but also not a big concern. We had no problems with noise, it was very quiet where we were.

I would've given this hotel 3-stars but the extra star came from the great customer service we experienced there (and good customer service seems limited in Frankfurt).

We landed at 6:30am in Frankfurt and went straight to the hotel to see if we old leave our bags there until check-in. They went one better and let us check straight in. The lovely gentleman who checked us in also (without asking) got out a map, showed us where we were, where is good to go and when is a good time to go there. He also straight up told us about the free wifi and gave us the password. We dropped in several more times to ask questions which he answered for us with no worries.

All up it was a clean, comfortable, friendly place and I would return if I was to go back to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, just a couple of blocks from busy commercial Berger street with shops and lots of good restaurants. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt. Fairly quiet, clean, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Booked online but cheaper if you call them directly.

Room Tip: They have single rooms in the attic,cute and inexpensive
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is located 10mins walking distance from the main zeil street. Next to the hotel is a very nice Italian restaurant and on the main road (close to the tram station) is an inexpensive bakery. Rooms are pretty large. 3 of us stayed in the room and and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taramenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with tram around the corner, and walkable to lots of restaurants, shops, and the river. The room was kept clean daily. There is a lot of street noise in the morning and hallway noise from anyone closing their door. Our room did not have a fan in it, and its was pretty hot (no AC) but ask for a fan - that will keep you cool and also help drown out some of the noise. We booked through hotels.com and its description for this hotel/room said there was an in-room safe and minibar, but neither are present. Also, bring your own shampoo - a combo bodywash/shampoo is all that's provided. If you're looking for value, this could be a good option for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameoldg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having arrived from trip in NY, the Euro 40 a night is a steal ! My room was clean and the floors were timber (thank God, otherwise for those with allegies carpets are a curse). I was here in spring and on a wam day say 28 degrees Celsuis you got only a standfan to cool down (not sure if this applies to all rooms).

The good part of the hotel is price but be prepared to pay Eur 70 during busier period and E130 or more during the 3 major fairs held in Frankfut (i am told one for cars, the other for books and 3rd eludes my memory).

Breakfast needs to be booked in advance at Eur 8 per pax. As there are many restaurants 5 minutes away towards the busy Konstabler Metro, you need not have to eat downstairs if you can walk about for breakfast en route to the Metro. Yes there is a italian restaurant across the street and further up near the polizei (police station there is a restaurant as well as a supermarket, As this hotel is semi suburban there is homey feeling around the hotel.

I would come back again but need to watch the dates to aviod peak season rates.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews