We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget brilliance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Mercator
Ranked #205 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Normally in my reviews I say you get what you pay for, but in this instance I won't! We stayed for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis and paid £98. We arrived late at night and reception was closed - no reception, a simple phone call, code entry, and the key magically dropped down into a machine!

Breakfast was great - the usual stuff.

Noise - we were disturbed on Monday morning by the weekly bin collection but we simply shut the window it was fine. It was pretty warm in the room though.

I had some concerns about our room being so close to the top of the communal stairs - I needn't have worried as there was a small porch type arrangement so it was quiet.

A great location and a great base from which to explore.

Reception were fine - I am not one for having 'love in' with staff and their approach suited me fine.

I would happily recommend this place for a seriously good value place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mercator Hotel for one night after a long flight to Frankfurt.

The room was clean and tidy, not huge but that's no drama. It was a convenient location, about a 10-minute walk into downtown Frankfurt. The shower was a bit small but also not a big concern. We had no problems with noise, it was very quiet where we were.

I would've given this hotel 3-stars but the extra star came from the great customer service we experienced there (and good customer service seems limited in Frankfurt).

We landed at 6:30am in Frankfurt and went straight to the hotel to see if we old leave our bags there until check-in. They went one better and let us check straight in. The lovely gentleman who checked us in also (without asking) got out a map, showed us where we were, where is good to go and when is a good time to go there. He also straight up told us about the free wifi and gave us the password. We dropped in several more times to ask questions which he answered for us with no worries.

All up it was a clean, comfortable, friendly place and I would return if I was to go back to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, just a couple of blocks from busy commercial Berger street with shops and lots of good restaurants. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt. Fairly quiet, clean, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Booked online but cheaper if you call them directly.

Room Tip: They have single rooms in the attic,cute and inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is located 10mins walking distance from the main zeil street. Next to the hotel is a very nice Italian restaurant and on the main road (close to the tram station) is an inexpensive bakery. Rooms are pretty large. 3 of us stayed in the room and and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taramenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with tram around the corner, and walkable to lots of restaurants, shops, and the river. The room was kept clean daily. There is a lot of street noise in the morning and hallway noise from anyone closing their door. Our room did not have a fan in it, and its was pretty hot (no AC) but ask for a fan - that will keep you cool and also help drown out some of the noise. We booked through hotels.com and its description for this hotel/room said there was an in-room safe and minibar, but neither are present. Also, bring your own shampoo - a combo bodywash/shampoo is all that's provided. If you're looking for value, this could be a good option for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameoldg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having arrived from trip in NY, the Euro 40 a night is a steal ! My room was clean and the floors were timber (thank God, otherwise for those with allegies carpets are a curse). I was here in spring and on a wam day say 28 degrees Celsuis you got only a standfan to cool down (not sure if this applies to all rooms).

The good part of the hotel is price but be prepared to pay Eur 70 during busier period and E130 or more during the 3 major fairs held in Frankfut (i am told one for cars, the other for books and 3rd eludes my memory).

Breakfast needs to be booked in advance at Eur 8 per pax. As there are many restaurants 5 minutes away towards the busy Konstabler Metro, you need not have to eat downstairs if you can walk about for breakfast en route to the Metro. Yes there is a italian restaurant across the street and further up near the polizei (police station there is a restaurant as well as a supermarket, As this hotel is semi suburban there is homey feeling around the hotel.

I would come back again but need to watch the dates to aviod peak season rates.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Unfortunately I was there on business and somebody else did my booking. I would have chosen maybe the other hotel which is in front of this one. The hotel is quite central and main attractions are within a walking distance. It's a good compromise but the price was OUTRAGEOUS, then I discovered that there was an international business conference going on in the city so all the hotels had horrible prices.
However, the hotel is clean and breakfast is ok (lot of packaged stuff unfortunately).
The room I stayed in was quiet but the windows wouldn't open and were without blids. Moreover the bathroom (very clean) was without shower and with a bathtub.
There was also a misunderstanding with the bookings but the staff didn't lose the patience and was quite helpful in trying to find a solution.
There are no restaurants nearby (only Italian) but the main shopping and old areas are quite near. The city has a good transport system should you decide not to walk.
The area is quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Select Hotel Aria
#177 of 271 in Frankfurt
61 reviews
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#236 of 271 in Frankfurt
180 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Memphis Hotel
Memphis Hotel
#132 of 271 in Frankfurt
227 reviews
Colour Hotel
#221 of 271 in Frankfurt
307 reviews
Innenstadt
Villa Orange
Villa Orange
#81 of 271 in Frankfurt
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Mercator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Mercator

Address: Mercatorstr. 38, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Mercator Hotel)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $52 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Mercator 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Mercator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercator Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing