We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, Convenient with Great Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercator Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercator Hotel
Ranked #156 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient with Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mercator Hotel for one night after a long flight to Frankfurt.

The room was clean and tidy, not huge but that's no drama. It was a convenient location, about a 10-minute walk into downtown Frankfurt. The shower was a bit small but also not a big concern. We had no problems with noise, it was very quiet where we were.

I would've given this hotel 3-stars but the extra star came from the great customer service we experienced there (and good customer service seems limited in Frankfurt).

We landed at 6:30am in Frankfurt and went straight to the hotel to see if we old leave our bags there until check-in. They went one better and let us check straight in. The lovely gentleman who checked us in also (without asking) got out a map, showed us where we were, where is good to go and when is a good time to go there. He also straight up told us about the free wifi and gave us the password. We dropped in several more times to ask questions which he answered for us with no worries.

All up it was a clean, comfortable, friendly place and I would return if I was to go back to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
14
29
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, just a couple of blocks from busy commercial Berger street with shops and lots of good restaurants. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown Frankfurt. Fairly quiet, clean, good breakfast and very friendly helpful staff. Booked online but cheaper if you call them directly.

Room Tip: They have single rooms in the attic,cute and inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caribttourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is located 10mins walking distance from the main zeil street. Next to the hotel is a very nice Italian restaurant and on the main road (close to the tram station) is an inexpensive bakery. Rooms are pretty large. 3 of us stayed in the room and and everything is very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taramenezes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with tram around the corner, and walkable to lots of restaurants, shops, and the river. The room was kept clean daily. There is a lot of street noise in the morning and hallway noise from anyone closing their door. Our room did not have a fan in it, and its was pretty hot (no AC) but ask for a fan - that will keep you cool and also help drown out some of the noise. We booked through hotels.com and its description for this hotel/room said there was an in-room safe and minibar, but neither are present. Also, bring your own shampoo - a combo bodywash/shampoo is all that's provided. If you're looking for value, this could be a good option for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameoldg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
443 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having arrived from trip in NY, the Euro 40 a night is a steal ! My room was clean and the floors were timber (thank God, otherwise for those with allegies carpets are a curse). I was here in spring and on a wam day say 28 degrees Celsuis you got only a standfan to cool down (not sure if this applies to all rooms).

The good part of the hotel is price but be prepared to pay Eur 70 during busier period and E130 or more during the 3 major fairs held in Frankfut (i am told one for cars, the other for books and 3rd eludes my memory).

Breakfast needs to be booked in advance at Eur 8 per pax. As there are many restaurants 5 minutes away towards the busy Konstabler Metro, you need not have to eat downstairs if you can walk about for breakfast en route to the Metro. Yes there is a italian restaurant across the street and further up near the polizei (police station there is a restaurant as well as a supermarket, As this hotel is semi suburban there is homey feeling around the hotel.

I would come back again but need to watch the dates to aviod peak season rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Unfortunately I was there on business and somebody else did my booking. I would have chosen maybe the other hotel which is in front of this one. The hotel is quite central and main attractions are within a walking distance. It's a good compromise but the price was OUTRAGEOUS, then I discovered that there was an international business conference going on in the city so all the hotels had horrible prices.
However, the hotel is clean and breakfast is ok (lot of packaged stuff unfortunately).
The room I stayed in was quiet but the windows wouldn't open and were without blids. Moreover the bathroom (very clean) was without shower and with a bathtub.
There was also a misunderstanding with the bookings but the staff didn't lose the patience and was quite helpful in trying to find a solution.
There are no restaurants nearby (only Italian) but the main shopping and old areas are quite near. The city has a good transport system should you decide not to walk.
The area is quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I got a very good rate for this hotel, but was quite disappointed when I arrived. My room had an unpleasant smell (residual cigarette smoke maybe), the bathroom was a bit scummy and I didn't really want to examine the corners and under the bed too closely. I stayed for 3 nights though and by the end I grew quite fond of it. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly, so by the end I would probably go back quite happily. Just don't expect too much for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristoldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Select Hotel Aria
#165 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Innenstadt
Villa Orange
Villa Orange
#34 of 275 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Innenstadt
Am Zoo Hotel
Am Zoo Hotel
#200 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
EXPO Hotel
#102 of 275 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#202 of 275 in Frankfurt
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercator Hotel

Property: Mercator Hotel
Address: Mercatorstrasse 38 | Bornheim, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 275 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, ETB, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercator Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing