We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location in frankfurt”
Review of Hotel am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel am Dom
Ranked #179 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“perfect location in frankfurt”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

thanks to trip advisor, i had the chance to stay in this cute hotel. it is on a perfect location, close to the zeil, römer and etc. the subway is so close that you can reach to anywhere (esp. messe) very easily. it is literally at the heart of Frankfurt so you can not get bored even on a sunday. the restaurant underneath the hotel is perfect for German cuisine lovers so actually you do not need to go anywhere at all. Breakfast was ok. There are not much or any toiletteries in the bathroom , only a hairdryer, so take your own. I did not like the idea of the hotel presenting only one key to a double room and taking the key back when you are leaving for the day. Anyway all the staff was nice and friendly. I felt like I was home and definetely stay at this hotel everytime I visit Frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnpsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
8
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I liked this hotel although the relatively small rooms, lack of air conditioning and the minimalistic breakfast. There have a specific atmosphere, which gives opportunity for relaxation and rest after a hard day. Internal decoration is related to opera and opera's singers. Also the staff is very responsive and helpful. Location is more than perfect and you have access to all sight-seeings. Parking nearby is also a good value. Additionally, I strongly recommend the restaurant, which is in the same building.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasilevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This hotel is ok, I would stay again. The service was great. Rooms ok, super nice bathrooms, I have had better beds thought. Rooms outdated but clean.
Its in a nice location, right across from church, tucked away from busy toursist areas but a 5 min walk away.
There is a restaurant there that is really good, good beer.
i would stay here again if in frankfurt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAWKECanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My husband , young son and I have just stayed here for three days and nights as part of a longer stay in Germany. This is a great hotel. We had a suite which consisted of a master bedroom (very roomy) and a sitting room which had a sofa bed for my son. We have stayed in several hotels in Germany over the years and this is definitely one of the best ones. Some reviewers have said the rooms are small - we were in 212 and were very happy with the space.
Plus points: FANTASTIC location - views right out on to the cathedral, complete with floodlit square at night and a cute little cat which strolled round the square to the delight of all visitors
: balcony
: roof fan on ceiling - much needed during sultry August
: hairdryer
: ability to have my son in a separate room - most 'family rooms' involve a put-you-up bed in the same room thus reducing space
: plenty or room for you to hang up your clothes and lots of tables to plonk stuff on - you can actually unpack properly and store your cases
: breakfast - just the right choice without being overfaced
: service - we had to leave at an ungodly hour in the morning to get back to the UK and the night team were as helpful as the day team
: there is an underground station two minutes away,and you can walk to the centre in about 5
: we were offered wi-fi but didn't need it
: great flat screen tv which delighted my son as we don't have one at home - in fact, there two tvs in the suite

On the square there is a wonderful Bavarian-style restaurant and we ate there twice as the prices were pretty decent. It shuts at midnight so there is a bit of noise til then, but as we were on holiday we didn't care.

If I were to go to Frankfurt again I would DEFINITELY stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TabbyFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2009

This hotel was well situated near the Dom within easly walking distance of the old town square. It was clean, quiet and the breakfast buffet was very acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tygalgah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Just spent three days and nights at the Hotel am Dom, Frankfurt. I am 73 and was with my daughter. The hotel was lovely, everything was beautifully clean. The breakfasts were extremely good and plentiful. The hotel was situated in a perfect position with regard to the Christmas Market and shopping at The Zeil and we heard no noise at night. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do anything more to make our stay perfect. I happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon USA
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Excellent location next to the Cathedral in Frankfurt's downtown & only 2 blocks from river & main square. We paid Euro 120/night for a small suite with sitting room + bedroom; some rooms have balconies.
Very good restaurant next door: Paulander which specializes in Bavarian food & beer

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Das Spenerhaus
Das Spenerhaus
#92 of 269 in Frankfurt
83 reviews
Altstadt
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#70 of 269 in Frankfurt
258 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#124 of 269 in Frankfurt
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#139 of 269 in Frankfurt
176 reviews
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#102 of 269 in Frankfurt
310 reviews
EXPO Hotel
#127 of 269 in Frankfurt
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Dom

Property: Hotel am Dom
Address: Kannengiessergasse 3, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Dom Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing