We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this sweet taste of germany in frankfurt”
Review of Gerbermuehle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gerbermuehle Hotel
Ranked #93 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“loved this sweet taste of germany in frankfurt”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spent one night at this gem of a boutique hotel in Frankfurt on our way from Croatia back to the US. Part of the chain of Design Hotels chain* it was a sweet taste of germany and its reputation for innovative design and technology within the hospitality market. Apparently architects are challenged to create these unique individually-designed hotels all over the world. Each one has its own signature and flavor. A book in the room had photos of all of them. Here there were beautiful, comfortable rooms with lovely views of the river behind the hotel. High-tech/high-end options included in the design of the bathrooms and electronics in the rooms. A popular Beer Garden and separate restaurant (with outdoor patio!) are on the property in the midst of this park-like setting. Certainly did not feel like we were in a big city not far from the airport. Service was great. Food was delicious, ambiance delightful. Highly recommend.

[From Design Hotels website: ("a curated selection of more than 200 independent hotels in over 40 countries across the globe ... More than a collection of hotels, the company is a collection of stories. Each property reflects the ideas of a visionary hotelier, an "Original," someone with a passion for genuine hospitality and cultural authenticity, for thought-provoking design and groundbreaking architecture. All "Originals" stand for the individual, aesthetic and service-driven experiences that their hotels provide."]

Room Tip: request room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
34
6
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights and I have mixed feeling about the hotel.
The room was nice and modern, however i found many strange things, especially when it looks like a very business people oriented hotel, it was definitely not eg there is desk for your computer and wi-fi etc but there is no power point, so I had to connect my computer closer to the toilet's power point. There was no iron/iron board in the room. When I tried to call reception I tried several numbers and since there was no hotel guide finally I had to physically go to the reception... of course they reacted promptly.

I decided to have dinner in the room even though I found a menu, there was no information regarding whether it was room service or until what time it was served, then I tried to call once again it did not go thru and at the end I just gave up.

Bathroom was nice and spacious with a great big top shower head, body wash, soaps etc from L'Occitane, this brand have beautiful stuff but the shampoo at this hotel, smells of a really bad chemical liquid, nearly like cough medicine, really awful. All others products were amazing though.

Location wise, it is quiet however you need taxi to go anywhere since public transport is kind of far... unless of course you enjoy walking and have the time to do so. Unfortunately if you are here for business then you may have no choice but to grab taxis.

Overall a nice looking place but disorganised and not very user friendly. The staff was great! very helpful and approachable. The bar staff were also great and very professional, breakfast okay but nothing memorable, I think there was no much variety for breakfast.

I think it may be a nice place to go for drinks and dinner but to stay it is a bit inconvenient and pricey.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonlightRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After a long overnight flight the staff at Hotel Gerbermuehle found, at 7am, an excellent vacant room in which we could collapse. The accommodation was spacious, a very high quality of fittings and furniture with a comfortable bed. The staff continued to remain friendly and helpful for our short stay. Dinner overlooking the river was nourishing and relaxing. The included breakfast was excellent and proved to be the best breakfast we had during the following 4 weeks of travel.
For some travellers the location which is a little out of town may be an issue. It was easily walkable largely through parkland along the river.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorne1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This very modern boutique hotel faces the Main river and is next to a large park. Although it was about a 25-30 minute walk to the city center, we loved the location (very quiet and relaxing atmosphere).

We stayed is the room "Lili." The room was spacious and immaculate. It had two TV's (one in the sitting room and one in the bedroom). There was free wireless. Mini bar items were free. We had a great view of the river and summer garden. The service was amazing. All staff were professional, outgoing, and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river and summer garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Situated next to the river and along a very well used bike and pedestrian path, this hotel was a perfect place to explore the sights of Frankfurt. Excellent breakfast assortment and eggs to order to start, and a 30 minute walk to old town to explore. I thought it was the perfect distance and loved being able to enjoy a few runs along the river. The rooms are modernly furnished and clean and the staff helped this American figure out where to park and eat!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharksPep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Not in the City Center, but vey close to it, this is a very nice Place to dine, snack, Sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

i have spend all weekend in Franfurkt and stayed in Gerbermuhle hotel. i've enjoyed every second being there, the restaurant stuff was so friendly and helpful, i felt like home, no, better than at home! absolutely fabulous place to be, cant wait to come back there one more time! There are many hotels in Frankfurt - but in terms of price and quality Gerbermuhle is the best i've tried so far!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alxLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Hotel Beethoven
Hotel Beethoven
#102 of 269 in Frankfurt
57 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Hotel Am Berg
Hotel Am Berg
#98 of 269 in Frankfurt
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westend-Süd
NH Frankfurt Villa
NH Frankfurt Villa
#40 of 269 in Frankfurt
210 reviews
Hotel Cult
#66 of 269 in Frankfurt
401 reviews
25hours Hotel The Goldman
#23 of 269 in Frankfurt
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerbermuehle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerbermuehle Hotel

Property: Gerbermuehle Hotel
Address: Gerbermuehlstr. 105, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gerbermuehle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most beautiful spots in Frankfurt is open to the public.A building that is part of Frankfurt’s history has been creatively renovated and is now waiting to be admired. Visitors and sun-worshippers can unwind in the Gerbermühle’s well-known Summer Garden. Gourmets and connoisseurs will find the restaurant with its Winter Garden and adjacent terrace a unique spot to celebrate and spend unforgettable evenings. Travellers and business guests alike will find the Hotel Gerbermühle an ideal location for perfect nights and rewarding days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Gerbermuehle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing