We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travelling Giebels welcomed with a smile”
Review of Maingau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maingau Hotel
Ranked #121 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“travelling Giebels welcomed with a smile”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Once again we have travelled home to Germany and stayed at our favorite little gem. We have not been back in two years but yet they remmebered our last visit and welcomed us with the same wonderful smiles and greetings. They gave us the same rooms and every morning they knew what kind of eggs to bring for breakfast and its a wonderful german breakfast. They went out of their way to give directions and give us umbrellas for the rain. The ladies wished my wife a happy birthday and one ran around the desk to give her a big hug. Yes the rooms are small and outdated but hey when you think of it, all you really do is sleep there and its all part of the old hotel charm.Every morning I would get up before the rest of the family go downstairs and sit outside to get fresh air and look around. The wonderful laides would pour me a coffee while I read the english paper. Every staff member who walk by on their way in to work greeted me with a hello of good morning Mr.Giebel. This makes you feel valued,welcomed and not just another face. The cleaning staff are simply the best as they waste no time in making sure your room is clean. This hotel is in a very safe part of the sachsenhausen area. We walked at night many times with no concerns and it is close to everything you need like buses,trams,and the U-bahn. Its close to the museums,shopping steet of the Zeil and the wonderful Thursday and Saturday open markets throughout the city. Yes there are many other wonderful places to stay in Frankfurt but this little gem goes the extra mile for family as thats what they made us feel like. Oh not to mention they will look at the weather for you and check all flights, train and bus schedules for you also and give you the best advice on where to enjoy your time. See you in another few years Maingau.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the front the view is much better when looking out to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livingmauitime g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    39
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
30
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The service was good overall. Very clean. The front desk was hit or miss on how well their English was. One woman was very helpful whereas the other isn't. The location is not in the busy tourist area so not ideal if you want to walk home later at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlr206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just returned from another visit to the Hotel Maingau. I am a guest there each February for 5 nights. This is an excellent, small hotel. The staff from year to year recognizes me and treats me as a valued guest. My request for the same room, year to year is honored. The staff bends over backwards to be helpful. And the restaurant is excellent--one of the best for modern German cooking in Frankfurt. I have already made reservations for next February.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the typical hotel that gets away with lots of things just because it is well located to both, the bar district of Sachsenhausen and, more importantly, the Frankfurt trade show ground. There is nearly always a big international fair in town, so the hotel is fully booked for most of the year. In my opinion this is the reason why they feel they don´t have to run the extra mile.
Things I like:
- 5 mins walk to tram stop and 8 mins walk to S-Bahn to the fair ground
- lots of bars, restaurants, convenience shops in the area which is also very safe at night time
- nice breakfast room with good typical cold German breakfast, apparently the restaurant is very good but have never tried it
- overall very clean
- small but functional bathroom, good water pressure and heat though the shower head must be the cheapest they could find
- very friendly and helpful staff
Things I don´t like
- virtually no sound insulation, you can hear everything from next door and the floor you are on
- very basic, dated furniture, not enough coat hangers and storing space especially since most guests come for a trade show with lots of business clothes
- flimsy towels and bedsheets, unusual for Germany where you find a cuddly duvet even in the most basic hotels;
- most annoying: internet costs 12.50 Euros per day, apparently they are in some long-term contract, quite a lame excuse in my opinion
Overall one gets the feeling the hotel tries to get the most money they can from business travellers. I will go back there for shows but will start looking for alternatives.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Was enrolled at the Goethe Institut for a few weeks and requested accomodation, didn't expect it to be this good. The single room at the back I was in was a little dated but such a great place - fantastic location, breakfast and staff. The room even had a fridge and the staff were more than happy to lend cutlerly
PS Frau Meier at reception is lovely and so helpful, look out for her.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

the good thing about the Hotel:
- very helpful staff
- clean and cozy rooms
- good room's amenities mainly in the bathroom (the hand wash and the shampoo are amazing)
- tasty breakfast especially the croissants
- 7 minutes walk to the old city

the not-so-good thing:
- no late breakfast, and you have to run early to get the good things.
- Avoid doing international calls from the hotel. i did a 5 minutes call to Lebanon that was charged 35 euros!
-internet is only free if you use the hotel ipad displayed at the front desk, don't think you can stay standing for more than 15 minutes it's only helpful if you need to check your email. internet charge is12 euros for 24 hours use.

Room Tip: - ask for the international call rate before calling otherwise you could be chocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaOutayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and nice hotel! Nothing fancy but just nice! Comfortable, bright rooms! For Frankfurt, this place is quite cheap. The location is excellent! Close the river and Old City! The stuff is helpful. I will come back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryniooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Hotel Kautz
Hotel Kautz
#140 of 269 in Frankfurt
35 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Eazires Royal City Hotel
Eazires Royal City Hotel
#226 of 269 in Frankfurt
28 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Novum Hotel Primus Frankfurt Sachsenhausen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Hotel Am Berg
Hotel Am Berg
#98 of 269 in Frankfurt
68 reviews
Hotel Cult
#63 of 269 in Frankfurt
401 reviews
Altstadt
Das Spenerhaus
Das Spenerhaus
#87 of 269 in Frankfurt
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maingau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maingau Hotel

Property: Maingau Hotel
Address: Schifferstr. 38-40, 60594 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maingau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maingau Hotel with its restaurant "Döpfner's im Maingau" wants to be your home abroad, making your stay as agreeable as possible, no matter whether you are on a business trip or on a privat holiday in Frankfurt.The 78 rooms with their modern style ambiance are all equipped with direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite TV, internet access (W-LAN), bath or shower facilities, hairdryer and a working desk.The hotel has been managed by the owner’s family for over 60 years now. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maingau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maingau Hotel Catering

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing