We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad - but stuffy rooms”
Review of Amadeus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amadeus Hotel
Ranked #120 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Not too bad - but stuffy rooms”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Amadeus recently while in Frankfurt for a trade fair. The hotel is a little way out of central Frankfurt, but the UBahn is only a few minutes walk away and it was about a 15 minute trip into the city centre and a further five minutes on to the exhibition area where my husband's trade fair was held. The free parking at the hotel was what got us there in the first place.

Okay - the rooms were small - standard hotel size and the bathroom miniscule. But we found that in Europe most of the more "modern" hotels we stayed at had small sized rooms. The free supposedly high speed wifi was patchy so that was misleading. We once again found the room to be far too hot and stuff, the a/c which worked wafted out a tiny amount of cool air, no where near enough to cool the room. The windows opened but they had them so you could only tilt open them, not fully open them, so we were hot and stuffy the whole time.

But the room was clean and I have no real complaints. We didn't use the restaurant at all - the cost for breakfast was fairly high (everywhere else we stayed in Germany it was included) and it just didn't seem worth the money. We had all our meals in town anyway. The hotel is opposite the large Hessen Centre which was nice for a wander one morning and had a range of fast food type eateries for a quick lunch or breakfast.

We found the staff friendly and helpful and had a great night down in the bar one night while Euro 2012 Football was on and enjoyed a few drinks and some yummy pizza along with a lot of happy germans (they won that night). It was a very pleasant way to spend an evening out in the courtyard of the hotel with the big screen.

I would stay at Amadeus again if I were in Frankfurt for business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    75
    47
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
28
11
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

First thing first: this hotel is very far from Frankfurt centre. You'll need to calculate at least 15 minutes to get to the Römer/Zeil/Hauptwache area. Luckly, the U-bahn stop is 150m away from the hotel and it is on the lines that go to Hauptwache or Hauptbahnhof, where you can change to everywhere.

The hotel itself is pretty modern, nothing luxurious but everything worked (wifi didn't in the room but did in the hall). Breakfast is 12,5€ more per day which I thought was really too much and didn't pay for. Room was decent sized, big enough to not feel cramped. Tv sucked, I understand that being in Germany means having mostly german channels available but just CNN for german-speaking people is too little. Mattresses very extremely thin and soft. Staff was gentle and ready but they weren't able to help me in finding a ticket machine that sold 1 week valid tickets for the public transportation system (they said "try Hauptbahnhof" which is very vague).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian81_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel had a vibe of having been a really fancy in the 80's. The interiors style was a bit amusing on today's standards. Anyway the room was big and clean. The air conditioning system was a bit old and lousy, we had to turn it off for nights.

Parking was free and easy. The metro station is around 150 meters, and the big Hessen Center shopping center is right next to it.

We had the room in the end of the corridor, and WLAN reception was bad. But it was probably related to the slow capacity of the network and not the distance.

Breakfast was a bit expensive (12,50€) but really good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arttu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Working on line here was the worst. It doesnt work and then there is the rude few girls at the desk that says it works and thats it. There was sone nice people at the hotel, mostly the guys.

I had my dogs there with us and the room was too small for the 4 of us to be honest. I would not stay here again as it just isnt a nice hotel either in looking and the rooms were old.

Oh yeh and there was the hotel rooms advertised for $80 euro and we paid more than that!!.. that really pissed us off - s We left 3 days early and didnt get a refund.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptravellerskiier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Had to travel to Frankfurt for business and stayed at the Amadeus as it came recommended by a friend. The hotel was good. It is in a good location, about a 20 minute ride to the city and the U Bahn is only a few minutes walk away. There is a good restaurant on site and I do recommend the breakfast. Staff were friendly, price was reasonable and there was a large mall about 5 minutes walk away. Overall I was pleased with my stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Everything is fine at that place, excellent staff, good meals, clean building. Its not 4 stars thoug as rooms are just standard size. Nevertheless is pretty cool. You have a LIDL shop and a tram stop just within a stone throw. Location outside the centrum, but area is clean and nice. worth every penny

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christifemus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed there during IMEX 2012. The Hotel is outside Frankfurt , bur very near to U bahn station with good connection about 15min. drive. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast ok and restaurant ok. The only think that should be improved is WIFI reception in some rooms. I was staying at 208 and had problems connecting to the internet with my ipad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioannis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
City Partner Hotel Klein
#186 of 269 in Frankfurt
24 reviews
Hotel Schoene Aussicht
#88 of 269 in Frankfurt
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Borger
#164 of 269 in Frankfurt
11 reviews
Bornheim
Best Western Premier IB Hotel Friedberger Warte
Westend-Süd
NH Frankfurt Villa
NH Frankfurt Villa
#40 of 269 in Frankfurt
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amadeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Hotel

Property: Amadeus Hotel
Address: Roentgenstr. 5, 60388 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amadeus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Amadeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing