We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slightly expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Frankfurt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #35 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Erlangen
Level Contributor
166 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“slightly expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I enjoyed my short stay in this hotel in Frankfurt. The hotel is close to the central station. Hence, the location was very convenient for me as I traveling by ICE to Munich next day. There was no free wifi available in the rooms. This was the only negative about the hotel. So, I felt the hotel was a bit expensive. The rooms were quite and nice. The staff was warm and friendly.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank oxymoron2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    648
    254
    78
    33
See reviews for
135
298
203
806
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was my second stay with InterContinental Frankfurt, this time in a “deluxe room” facing city.

The room itself was a little disappointing in terms of quality. It is a tad dated and in need of renovations. I must stress that the room and furnishings were very clean, but the interior reminded more of a Holiday Inn.

Despite this being a deluxe room, in hierarchy only a step down from their Club Rooms, there were no bathrobes, slippers or large amenity box (only the small square with bare essentials). There is no ironing board in the room but this and bathrobe was delivered within minutes of requesting it. A flower arrangement was on the desk which was noticed favourably as it does give the room a bit more warmth.

The bathroom is clean but small. The bathtub disappointing as it was (or at least seemed) smaller than the usual standard size bathtub. Fabric shower curtain, so be creative for it not to stick to you while showering.

The minibar is automatic and well stocked and has a top shelf for personal items.

My room was one removed from the elevators. I have not figured out of the constant whooshing sound was from the elevators or strong winds outside but suspect it may have been elevators. Soundproofing is not quite good as you can hear anything and everything happening outside the door.

Windows do open. There’s a request to keep the windows closed as much as possible to avoid mosquitoes entering in the summertime.

The general area of the hotel is spacious and I always found an open elevator on the ground floor, so waits are minimal.

I was offered access to the club lounge which is spacious and separated into half a sitting area and half with tables and chairs. A buffet breakfast is offered with warm items and a good variety of cold options. Plenty of juices and refrigerated drinks as well as a great variety of teas and espresso machine are available. In the evening canapés and even a warm meal is offered which contrasts in a positive way to other IC Club Lounges which offer less.

The staff seems to be the biggest asset here. Concierge was a bit grumpy when handing over an umbrella but the check-in staff and guest relations staff in the Club Lounge were accommodating, friendly and helpful.

Overall and objectively I can recommend this hotel. There are a few inconveniences but made up by other positive factors. It is not up to the standard in furnishings and “feel good” atmosphere as the IC in Cologne or Berlin but sufficient for a brief stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canandorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, on business (Messe). Made my choice based on the very nice price/quality ratio, taking into consideration the trade fair period.

Rooms:
One of the main cons of my stay there - had a room on 17th floor, facing the city (skyscrapers), but with two! connecting doors. The noise was coming from the doors every evening / night, which was certainly unpleasant. The room is quite big, the bed was good, enough pillows. Tea/coffee set, safe, bathrobe. Bathroom was fine. Another small dissapointment - you can't switch off the light in the room from the bed)) BTW, in-room LAN internet was free of charge.

Location:
Just minutes from the main train station. Taxi from airport ±23 Euro, to Messe ±8 Euro, to downtown ±7 Euro.

Food: charge for breakfast is 31 Euro (if not included into the room rate), I preffered to eat outside.

Directions:
Mosch-Mosch noodle bar 3 mins walk - cross the street (from the river wing), turn left and walk 200-300m forward. The average price for big ramen is 8 Euro.

Leon's Italian restaurant - situated in the city wing of the hotel. Crowdy. Booking is highly recommended. Good deserts, the rest is nothing special.

All in all, the hotel is quite good for the price they offer. Certainly not a 5*star, but if you want to save some money it could be your option.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Staff were lovely, although the barman was overly suggestive to my female colleague and I when we sat down to have a snack. After exploring the surrounding area, we discovered we were surrounded by sex shops, tackyness and leering men, so unless you are looking for this, I suggest another area of the city. The rooms were clean and quite nice, but the decor looked at least 15yrs old, with peeling wallpaper and scuff marks on the walls/furniture. Not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. The other big problem, and the reason I will not return here or recommend it, is that although it was January and freezing outside, the room was unbearably hot - even with all the heating turned off. The window only opened slightly and although we tried to sleep with it open (and therefore noisy), the stuffy atmosphere kept us awake and very uncomfortable for 2 nights. Checking out took ages too, and BEWARE of your bar bill when settling the bill... we were charged for moving drinks about when looking at flavours etc. They did take off what we said we hadn't drunk.
Fantastic shower and Elemis freebies, but overall disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Service was excellent, location excellent by Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, right on Main river. Food was good. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Booked on a special through Expedia, for a 1 night layover in Frankfurt en route to Sydney via Thailand, this hotel turned out to be one of the worst I have stayed in. Crowded with international business guests, the staff at reception were polite but overwhelmed, making check-in slow. Although the room seemed reasonably clean, the discovery of a previous guest's used band-aid stuck to the back of the Intercontinental Hotel magazine, was a rather unsavoury experience. The main problem however turned out to be the inability to adjust the air conditioning. Heated to almost 30 degrees the room was unbearably hot. When a staff member came to assist, their solution was to lock the window open. This resulted in alternating waves of heat and cold drafts continuously throughout the night. The staff member was reasonably apologetic but the problem remained unsolved resulting in NO SLEEP, partly because of the cold/hot situation and partly because of the street noise that was audible through the open window.

How is it that a 5 star hotel doesn't have individual thermostats or heaters in each room? VERY POOR.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your experiences in the hotel during your stay. We are truly sorry about what happened to you as a valued guest to our hotel.

Unfortunately we are not able to undo what has happened and that you had an unpleasant stay with us.

We are taking this information very seriously and really want to work out a solution together with you. In order to have a more detailed insight into your complaint we would like to get in direct contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Level Contributor
344 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

Intercontinental Hotels never disappoint. This is a classy hotel, close to the city center with first rate restaurants and bars. Parking is expensive, but if one looks there can be plenty of parking space around, especially around the river Main. The rooms are small, but not cramped. The same cannot be said about the bathrooms, which require a bit of aerobics to move around. Amenities provided are of good quality. Free Internet only at the business center in the reception area. The staff is very attentive, responsive and helpful. The city center is within walking distance. Surprisingly rates are extremely competitive compared to similar properties.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Roomers
#11 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#29 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing