We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the Main, fantastic international breakfast, so nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Be sure you schedule a workout while at this hotel--either at sunrise or sunset. The well-equipped fitness room has a wall of windows overlooking the Main River. Can't get a much better view than that anywhere! Equipment and facility was top of the line.
Hotel was beautiful, clean luxurious room, very elegant.
Location is in the center of the action, a nice walk to main transport station and restaurants. We especially enjoyed an evening walk straight out of the hotel along the Main Rivert to dinner.
The international breakfast had something for everyone--no excuse to go hungry. We were at 5 hotels in Germany, this was the nicest food anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisameow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

Our airline (Cathay Pacific - coming back to London from Hong Kong) arranged for us to stay at this hotel during the Volcanic Ashes saga, as our flight was diverted to Hong Kong. Even though there were so many people, the staff, concierge were really up to the task. Although the queue was very long, they had extra staff out, walking down the queue to talk to people and get people with children on another line, and within 20 minutes we were checked into our rooms. Dinner was buffet and very good, however their buffet breakfast was even better. The room was a very good standard, modern, spacious, very clean, really good bed, and the bathroom were luxurious. Unfortunately their TV only has 2 or 3 English speaking channels. There is no swimming pool or spa, but there is a very good gymnasium. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

During the airport closures due to the volcano dust, I like thousands others were forced to stay at the various hotels around Frankfurt. I was assigned to the Intercontinental by Lufthansa.

When I arrived here , there were lines of stranded passengers checking in and the mood was frantic, confused and at times angry. The reception crew was very efficient , polite and was able to keep a welcoming smile all the times, reassuring passengers, accommodating them, and answering without loosing patience the same questions and concerns.

The hotel took it upon itself to contact the airlines for updates and get approvals to extend the passengers stay another day until their situatuion cleared.

The same friendly treatment was felt everywhere , by the concirge, at the restaurant, the bell boys, servers, cooks. It was like a real team effort, all marching to the same tune.

The attention, and help on the club level flooe was exceptionel for a big city like Frankfurt.

They took care of the smallest details and made sure whatever the customer needed was answered in a prompt friendly and professional manner. And always smiling !

The Guest relation Mgr and even the GM spared no effort in talking to the customers and making sure the got what they needed.

This is a place I would not hesitate recommending staying at whenever you are in Frankfurt

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zak009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I agree with other reviewers that this is not a spectacular facility. Nonetheless it is very convenient to the main railroad station (Frankfurt Hauptbanhof). I like to stay here because it is nice to be able to walk to the river, the station and restaurants. The rooms I've stayed in (on the river side) are simple and very clean. The Ambassador Club on the top floor has a fine view of the river, good food, drinks and friendly staff. Internet access is quite expensive, (except for limited free time if you sit in the busy and public lobby/bar area--not too comfortable for a woman traveling alone). The polite and friendly staff keep me returning to this hotel. I must note that when I arrived this time there was a unfortunate overbooking situation. Despite being a Platinum Ambassador with IHG, I was relocated for my first night to a Holiday Inn Express: faraway, at the airport. This would have been enough to make anyone grumpy!!! However, the manager was well-prepared and handled this situation professionally. He clearly explained the problem and offered me a truly generous compensation package (I was able to return to the Intercontinental for the remainder of my stay). He had the authority and the grace to make everything turn out okay, which I respect.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Lobby is big and spasious, room was good enough for me as a corporate traveler, efficient but somehow robotic reception. overall spotless clean with excellent breakfast. InterConti type of welcome and hospitality style.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destichado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

It is a dull hotel, with a large but somehow neglected lobby. The room I got was a large suite, but had a smell of not having been used for some time.
The price was low and the view was excellent, right in front of the river.
Many details were worn out and in general the filling was not very nice and clean.
The Club Loung was very small and with not so nice.
The staff was excellent and very polite, especially the lowest-rank staff. The higher-ranked staff, like Managers greeting you tried to look polite but you could understand that they did not mean it, they just did their job.
The location is good, but it is about 20 min walk from the city center.
In general, it was not a positive experience from Intercontinental. Maybe a lot has to do with the old building itself.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in a week as stopover for our train holiday !

The first night we arrived later then normal because of a train delay so I called the hotel and sad that we arrived later, the staff was very friendly and was very concerned !Around 02.00 hours we finally arrived, the check in went very good and we had a small room on the 9 th floor with no view ! The room was very hot and the air conditioning didn't work at all ! We just put it out and opened the windows. The room is very old fashioned and has non or poor electronics : Old Akai or Nokia tv, no wireless internet, one power stock on the desk,...

We didn't have breakfast but it costs 29 euros / Person / Night. We just ate a fresh bread in the Central station, it is about 6 minutes walking and 10 minutes walking with luggage

Four days later we went back, we checked in around 22.00 hours and like always, the check in was very smoothly and we got a corner room on the 11th floor with a wonderful view of the river and the bridges ! We had 2 separate Bathrooms, One near the door with a Bidet, Toilet and sink . On the other side of the room there was another bathroom with a giant Bath and another sink ! Like in all rooms the air conditioning didn't work ! If you put it on cold it don't respond !

Three days later we checked in around 23.00 hours and we were given a corner room on the 13th floor. The room was roomy but like always, the air conditioning didn't work !

The lobby has two computer rooms, which you can enter with your room key ! In the lobby you can get 3 hours free wifi ! There is also a bar, the restaurant, a hotel shop, ATM,..

The location is perfect for Train travelers , the Central station is about 6 minutes walking and 10 minutes walking with luggage from the hotel ! And about 15 minutes walking to the main shopping street with a just opened Hollister shop !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxiiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Scandic Frankfurt Museumsufer
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#53 of 269 in Frankfurt
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#38 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,443 reviews
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $132 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing