We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a property I'd like to visit again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #38 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not a property I'd like to visit again.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This property gives Intercontinental a very bad name. Arrive after an overnight flight from the states for a business trip....having to share rooms with co-workers. Are told upon arrival they have no double bed rooms, only one bed rooms. WHAT?! This was booked months in advance. They then tried to get me to pay 30 Euro to be allowed to access the room before 3pm check in. I fought back and denied them payment asking for only a room to shower in so I could attend the trade show I was there for and would see what room was available later. I was lucky to come back to a room with two beds (which were so close together it may have been one bed!). The rooms are excessively hot. Heat off and window open, the temperature was over 90 degrees. Kept waking up sweating and feeling suffocated. Business center printers were not working and when I tried to use their computer for internet access it restarted and went into safe mode. No doorman...had to hail your own cab. The entire hotel is old, in need of an update and in need of staff that are more accommodating to the business traveler. I can say the concierge was the only one who went above and beyond to help with reservations. Overall a weird and unpleasant business experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Photogfan
thank you very much for your detailed feedback after your stay with us. We are sorry to read that your stay during one of the past fairs was not fully satisfying for you. We totally understand to check in a room after a international flight, during fair times it is difficult because we were fully booked. I these cases we recommend to book the night before to make sure you have a guaranteed early check in. In term of heating and old status of the hotel, we will give your feedback to our owning company. We thank you also for the positive feedback of our Concierge.Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    667
    264
    80
    35
See reviews for
146
301
204
843
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My first international trip for work led to me arriving at the Intercontinental at 8am exhausted and bedraggled from a 26-hour trip, and somewhat terrified at the prospect of appearing cool, efficient and confident for a round of work meetings in the morning, in a country in which I rather rudly did not speak the language. The Intercontinental was the perfect hotel in the circumstances. Efficient and kindly, staff gave me access to my room, had luggage delivered, clothes pressed and assisted with directions and advice cheerfully. The restaurant made a good and easy dining experience for a woman who had never dined out alone before.
The central location made it easy to explore late-night shopping after work, and the very hort walk to the Stadel ensured a marvellous first day in the city.
In the nine months since my trip to this hotel I have become a more seasoned business traveller in foreign cities, but I remain very grateful for the Intercontinental for such a reassuring welcome to Frankfurt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Cassie77
we say thank you that your write your review after nearly a year staying with us. We appreciate your honest experience and I´m proud to read that we are your high levelling rule for other International hotels.! A big thank you to you and our entire team!
With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I arrived in the morning from an overseas flight and was so thankful that the staff were willing to accommodate a (substantially) early check-in. Staff was always courteous and professional. I also found the food in the restaurant to be of high quality and again the staff were great. The breakfast was constantly replenished even though it was very busy. Unfortunately though the building and rooms need quite a lot of work. The room felt very dated, and I would expect more from an Intercontinental. Also the room was far too hot, even with the heat turned entirely off, but thankfully the window opened and I ended up sleeping with it open as well. I realize its difficult to do anything with the exterior of a dated building, but there is certainly lots you can do to the interior.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrtes TripAdvisor Mitglied
vielen Dank für Ihre äußerst positiven Zeilen auf TripAdvisor. Ich bedanke mich im Namen des gesamten Teams und würde mich freuen Sie recht bald wieder bei uns im Hause begrüßen zu dürfen.
Mit besten Grüßen Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff and service at the Intercontinental Frankfurt were both great.

The physical structure was tired, and dated. It was clean, and well maintained...but its time for a 'refresh'. This hotel shows the great disparity among Intercontinental Hotels. I would say that this hotel is on the lower end of the scales...but not as bad as the San Juan property.

As a Royal Ambassador, I was upgraded to a suite. It was roomy, but just BLAH and dated. Fresh flowers throughout were a nice touch, but the room still left me wanting something better.

The CLUB is not included for Royal Ambassador members at this property. I elected to pay the 35 Euro charge, but after the first day....i had my access removed. The club was not a place i wanted to spend time. The morning and evening food offerings were basic....and fine. There were complimentary soft drinks, wine, beer and spirits. The room was just BORING and sterile.

The breakfast in the dining room was fine, typical.

The lobby reminded me of a large office, with open work spaces behind the front desk creating a very strange esthetic when you walked in. The lobby certainly isnt glamourous or welcoming in any way. Again....old and tired.

The health club carried on the same theme. It screamed 'welcome back to 1988' as i walked in. Nothing special at all...

I come to Frankfurt twice a year for work. I will probably go back to another hotel next time. The Intercontinental is fine....but there are certainly better hotels with better room offerings in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr JamesE339
thank you for staying with us during the fair in Frankfurt. Thank you also for the praise of our staff. Unfortunately we are an old building and we respect your personal impression of the hotel facility.
We wish you all the best! Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a reward night through the IHG Rewards Club program. Without looking into reviews, I booked it. The amount of points I redeemed was way to high for what this hotel is. Even though the staff is excellent and friendly, the rooms are very outdated.

Even though I got an upgrade to a "Superior room" I was quite disappointed upon arrival. As a tall guy, I couldn't even stand up in the bath tub to take a shower and the room temperature was uncomfortably and uncontrollably hot.

I've stayed at many InterContinental hotels before, and my room definitely didn't match what I was expecting from this brand. Would not recommend.

The fact is, I am writing this review for the third time. The first time I wrote a very elaborate review on the official reviews page on their own website. When this review was rejected because of some bogus reason, I summarized it a bit, and then they finally published it. However, not long after that it disappeared from that page.

I can't believe they are deleting negative reviews on their website to make the hotel look better than it is. Not only was I disappointed after the stay itself, I am also highly disappointed in the way this hotel handles negative reviews.

Overall, if you can score a cheap rate this hotel isn't so bad. But otherwise, this hotel is way to expensive for what it is and it is definitely not worth the InterContinental brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Flor H
thank you for taking your time for the 3rd time, writing a review about our hotel. We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectation. We are truly sorry to read that you believe we would delete negative feedback. We as a hotel have no access to the entries, also on the IHG site.
Again we do apologize for the inconvenienced caused to you.
With best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Classic hotel near the business area of the city and not very far from the old center. In fact you can have beautiful walk beside Main River and end up in the old center. Lovely breakfast with german white sausages and small beans with tomato sause...great flavour. There is cozy sitting area for the breakfast, during spring and summer you can sit outside, the terrace is very nice - facing the street. Rooms are clean and especially if you have room on the upper floors with a view on the city towers (what the people there are calling the city: Mainhatten :)) just enjoy it!

Room Tip: 1. tip - I think that some of the rooms are not renovated - I suggest you to ask for a renovated roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear guest Kika 22
we thank you very much for your loyal feedback. Your review will help other guest to find the right location in Frankfurt. Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Quite typical of any intercontinental hotel, with service and property I would expect in Europe. The only problem is the hotel is located not too near and not too far from tourist attractions. Its about 20 min walk to Romer, the river walk is quite pleasant though. But if you choose to walk through Haupbahnhof, the walk is not so pleasant as you have to pass through a not-so-pleasant part of town. The place is very quiet at night, so walking alone is not preferred. Frankfurt being a big city, there are quite a lot of homeless and robbers roaming around town.
Breakfast buffet is small, but reasonably good spread, and the same food is served everyday. Rooms are old but I was given a room with river view, so the fireworks on new year's eve was quite rewarding.
Slow internet speed, not-so-knowledgeable concierge are small irritation but the bell boys are very helpful. Would I recommend anyone to stay here? For tourists, not really unless you want to fit into your budget. Those nearby Zeil and Romer would probably be better for tourists. And for business (I assume you don't party too late at night), this place is quite ideal, given that it is quiet at night.

Room Tip: Join Ambassador club to enjoy upgrades and free wifi, which is on slow speed in this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFirst123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest PFirst123
thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We highly much appreciate your honest feedback. Your concern regarding the location can be seen from different point of views. We are the only hotel in Frankfurt, located at the river and with the nice Corniche walk you are in 15 minutes downtown with all the attractions. We thank you for staying with us, best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,280 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#45 of 269 in Frankfurt
891 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Property: InterContinental Frankfurt
Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing