We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Frankfurt
Ranked #34 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Located in a quite spot by the river. Most attractions within walking distance.

The service at this hotel is really great. The staff is very friendly and they will make sure your stay is pleasant. The rooms are of average size, the bed is comfortable, relatively small bath room but adequate. No flat screen was a bit of a surprise. Nor where there any outlets by the bed to charge the gadgets.

Great breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Mr Reslimpan
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Today we are changing our TV´s to modern Flat screens.
We look forward to welcome you back in Frankfurt!
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel on 28th and 29th October 2013. We booked a twin room as I was sharing with my daughter. The room was quite cheap as I benefit from an excellent corporate rate at the hotel which includes breakfast. I am also a member of the Intercontinental Ambassador Club which entitles me to a free upgrade of room. I'm not convinced iI actualloy received an upgrade, though I was assured the room I was given was an upgrade. If so I dread to think what the next room down was like!
The room was adequate but small and the fittings were all very tired. The air conditioning was noisy and ineffective. The TV looked like older than my daughter being a 4:3 tube design. I was also disgusted to find that flipping through the channels on the TV during the early evening could access hard core pornography, not what I would expect in a family room!
The bathroom was passable but the ceiling height was so low I could not put my arms above my head without banging them against the ceiling. I am only 5'9" and found it quite claustrophobic, I would not like to be 6' plus in such a room. The door to the bathroom also seemed to be 5cm shorter than the door aperture, giving it a bit of a wild west saloon bar feel!
On the positive side, I did get the room very cheap, it had an excellent view over the river and breakfast was excellent. We also witnessed the arrival of new flat TV's which might help make the rooms look a little less old.
The Concierge was also excellent and very helpful. He was able to secure us a table at a local restaurant after we were told it was fully booked.
The other negative factor we encountered was the almost aggressive and very over insistent bellboy who would not take no for an answer when it came to help with our luggage. Having forced himself upon us, snatching the luggage from our grip, he then stood there with his hand out for a tip. Not what I consider good service.

Room Tip: Rooms seem relatively small and old fashioned. Ceilings are low and could be a problem if you are ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsahabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest itsahabit
thank you very much for sharing your experience to the TripAdvisor Community. We are sorry to read that we did not reach your expectation.
Rest assured that your comments have been addressed by the respective department heads for immediate improvement. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had 2 days worktrip to Franfurt, booked clubroom after nice experience from past and got upgraded to nice 1 bedroom suite, very nice view from 18th floor to city and also at river. 2 bathrooms, 2 minibars, king-size bed, workdesk... cannot ask more, but TVs , still old, now flat screens here just blur old tvs, so funny.

Beds are nice, living room I liked and work desk, room service were prompt and food very nice, I had both evenings room service dinner and its worth it. Club wasnt so nice, no cognac, and its just big room, for me it was waste of money because suite, but had there lunch before chekout, ordered burger and that was good too and staff is friendly also enough good breakfast was there comparing fussy hectic downstairs.

Lobby bar girls where friendly, at reception I was served by trainee when arrived, she did here job very well, when left another trainee needed help, but chek-out worked well.

Hotel is about halfhour walk distance from center, with good waether now problem. Had meeting at train station, that was nice 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: panorama suite, that it should be :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Jimmy2712
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Club Suite! We appreciate your feedback about our Trainee upon Check In. We will share your comments with the staff.
We look forward to welcome you back in Frankfurt!
best regards
Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel service and personal is excelent, as weel as breakfast, building and beedrooms in general quiet old, unbelieve old fashion 20" TV instead of LCD or LED TVs, gym is good, but no swimming pool or jakuzzi-sauna.
Hotel locations is great, ask for a room with river side view. They gave me a late check out withou any issue, thanks!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank DrMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Dr Mart
thank you for sharing four feedback with TripAdvisor We will share your positive comment with our staff and are happy to have you as a loyal customer. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
best regards
Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only stayed for 2 days and would have loved to have stayed longer. Room was spacious, bed really comfortable, good food and exceptionally helpful staff. We stayed in a club room which meant we also had access to a light breakfast, light supper and other comforts in the club lounge. Well worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear MSM Chick
we thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are thankful for your honest feedback about your stay on the Club Level and hope you will come back to our hotel soon.
best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we were here for just one night, so did not use the restaurant or bar. we cheched in at 1pm and were informed that the club studio had been upgraded to a suite ,though it was not ready. We were shown up to the club lounge and later the key was brought to us. As it was a lovely warm sunny day we ended up sitting on the terrace for much longer than planned! The staff were friendly and helpful.
The suite(1901) was fairly large with sitting room, bedroom,bathroom and guest cloakroom. It was a nice surprise to find so many fresh flowers,desk,hallway and bathrooms!
Yes the televisions are old style but work fine ,though the one by the bath was a bit quiet probably due to the required glass casing. As my partner spend over two hours in the tub watching it on Sunday morning it wasn't that bad :-)
The decor is an older style with lots of marble and inlaid woods, more my mothers taste than mine but built to last.
The bed was comfortable and for the first time in Germany there was a king sized comforter rather than two singles. The shower had fabulous pressure but sadly not a rain shower.
The bad bits are the carpet between the sittinroom and bedroom was frayed and the soft furnishins and carpet in the lobby look rather worn out .
I will return the next time I am in Frankfurt

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongoblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Bongoblog
thank you very much for staying with us and leave an excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest words and look forward to welcome you back. Please let us know if we can assist you with a booking on our Club Level to receive a lovely Club Suite again.
with best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Might be time to downgrade this one to a Crowne Plaza or Holiday Inn. Decent hotel, but showing it's age, overall sense that it is a little worn out. Great location, 10 minute walk to main train station, and right beside river paths. 20 minute cab, or a quick walk and train (4 euro) to the airport. Staff are great, helpful, friendly, genuinely happy to have you as a guest. Gym is average, restaurant is OK. Rooms on the back side have great river and city views.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IC-Frankfurt, General Manager at InterContinental Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Randy R
thank you very much for staying with us and we honor your loyal and honest feedback. Thank you also for praise our staff members. We look forward to welcome you back once again. Best regards Martin Driskell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,463 reviews
Innenstadt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Le Meridien Frankfurt
#59 of 270 in Frankfurt
107 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#36 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Frankfurt

Address: Wilhelm-Leuschner-Str. 43, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $118 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental® Frankfurt welcomes you to a metropolis which successfully combines international flair with regional traditions. As one of the largest conference & business hotels in the city of Frankfurt we offer 467 elegantly designed rooms and 19 flexible meetings rooms, out of which 17 offer natural daylight. Our hotel is ideally located on the banks of the river Main and in the heart of the city with easy access to Frankfurt International Airport which is only a 20 minutes’ drive away and the Main Train Station that is within 5 minutes walking distance. If you visit the Trade Fair Grounds “Messe Frankfurt” – you only need to travel one stop on the underground. We provide the perfect location to experience the best of Frankfurt as most of the cultural, historical and recreational sites are within a short walking distance of the hotel. Visit the city hall “Romer”, to discover historical treasures, loose yourself in one of the many museums that are located alongside the river banks or experience the best shopping opportunities the city has to offer. Internationally renowned designers and trendy fashion labels invite you to enjoy extensive shopping sprees. Our 467 rooms and suites are elegantly designed and offer you all the amenities for a relaxed and enjoyable stay - including complimentary internet access during your stay. Our meeting space on the 2nd floor accommodates 12 meetings rooms of different sizes with the 605m² large ballroom that can accommodate up to 700 persons as the centerpiece. The exclusive meeting rooms with floor-length windows on the 21st floor are ideal for confidential meetings and private conferences above the city´s roof tops. The highlight on this floor is the Salon Silhouette with an exclusive ambience and breath-taking panoramic view of Frankfurt. Our experienced conference team provides a seamless service from start to finish and the know-how to make every meeting or even a success. If you cherish culinary delights, let us pamper you in our Signatures Veranda Restaurant. Our international kitchen crew – lead by our Chef de Cuisine Klaus Bramkamp – combines traditional crafts with creativity, focusing on sourcing all ingredients from carefully selected local producers in the region of Hesse. Or unwind in our DAXx Mainhattan´s Bar and enjoy delicious cocktails, fine wine and exquisite snacks to end the day. If you are looking for an offsite catering in Frankfurt, we offer tailor-made event concepts in spectacular external locations to create magical moments through our own Caterings’ Best by InterContinental® experts. We look forward to welcoming you in our hotel for your next stay in Frankfurt! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing