We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aus tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Ranked #92 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“aus tourist”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

room ok,reception staff not very helpfull but kitchen staff were very good.Breakfast food was also very good.Railway station just across the road with a number of food and restaurant outlets.Short walk to the river,about a 10 to 15 min. walk to a large shopping area.The natural museum is well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Rob,
thanks a lot for your stay and your good assessment , we are pleased, that you like our breakfast buffet.
Please be sure that we have already spoken to our reception staff to be much more helpful .
We wish you good trip and greetings from Frankfurt,
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    301
    187
    62
    43
See reviews for
51
125
98
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a basic hotel with clean rooms and helpful staff. It is across the road from the main train/tram station which was good for day trips by train and travelling back & forth for city shopping/sightseeing & also for getting to the airport. Internet WiFi was not good in the room. If you want fair uninterrupted wifi, go to the front lounge or better still, sit in the downstairs bar with a beer & snack & your laptop. Breakfast was fairly good with variety. Local vicinity night life is a bit shady unless you like strip clubs etc, but there is a good Japanese restaurant in a nearby street across the station which is worth checking out for dinner. There are other bars/restaurants 10 minute walk as well but did not try them. Train station across the road has many cafes, food halls etc open late for quick snacks/dinners.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing away from the centre so you get to see some street life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Johan,
thank you very much for your visit and your good assessment of your stay. We are pleased that you had a nice time.
We wish you a good trip and hope to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is part of a chain, it is a franchised operation associated with Steigenberger Hotel Group
All I can say as an extremely experienced traveller this is just plainly not up to it.
All areas of the hotel operation,reception,e-mail communication, booking confirmations,rooms, housekeeping its plainly not managed.
In 35 years of extensive world travel I have never experienced the list of problems here and believe me a list and the lack of adequate replies.
Plainly the hotel does not address complaint issues.
In your best interests find alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardD833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Richard,
Thank you for your visit and for your opinion of our house.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our house is a Franchise Partner of the Steigenberger Hotel Group,
however, the InterCity Hotel Frankfurt is rated with 3 stars.
Kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room may be on the small side, but it had ample space to store luggage and move around in comfort. Basic, but certainly sufficient and comfortable. Some noise from the construction across the street, but bearable. The rooms were cleaned daily and were kept very nice.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast was a good selection of meats, cheeses, cereals and included hot selections like eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes. Never varied, but was filling and good in the mornings. The coffee at the table wasn't good, but coffee machine provided a decent and acceptable cup of espresso, whatever.
Wifi is provided, but it could be pretty slow, often quirky, and you had to renew password/user name every 10 hours or so. Good enough for email and reading the news, but streaming video was pretty much out.
Easy access to trains, subways and trams; short walk up the street or into the station. Great for railfans and handy to get around the city quickly for great dinner spots and museums. A great added extra is the pass provided for the local transportation. Best of all, coming from the airport, it only takes about 10 minutes and a short stroll with the luggage to get checked into your room.
The comfort and convenience of this hotel more than compensates for the lack of ambiance of the locale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cigarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The only bad things to say on the hotel was that the beds were hard and my AC was tempermental. Other than that, it is 30 seconds away from the train station (noise is not a problem), and 1 minute walk to trams/bahns and busses. The price was nice for our small room. The breakfast was much better than we imaged, a real breakfast buffet with a bit of everything. So even though the quality of sleep was SO-SO, i thought this was a good find otherwise. The convenience of location is great. Real friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babychild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the IntercityHotel in Frankfurt on a business trip as my normal hotel was fully booked. As other reviewers have said, this is a basic hotel right next to the Frankfurt Haupbahnhof. The rooms are very basic and to be honest in need of updating.

One thing I will point out is that the "free" wifi was almost non-operational for both nights of my visit. Another hotel guest was complaining that this was the same the last time he stayed at the hotel and so this is obviously a recurring problem!

The breakfast buffet was good but there was a general lack of available seating - all guests obviously wanted their breakfast at 8am in the morning!!

Readers should also note that this isn't a very good neighbourhood and while that didn't bother me, there are some things that would bother others, especially women travelling on their own. I walked into downtown Frankfurt one morning (which is via the red light district) which was a particularly "interesting" walk topped off by a lady scoring drugs in the street in broad daylight!

I probably won't stay here again as in my honest opinion there are better hotels around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Andy,
thank you very much for your visit and for your opinion of your stay.
We are sorry that the WLAN access did not work . Of course, we have already spoken to the technical department of our house
and fix the problem immediately.
Have a nice trip and
kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was impressed by the InterCity Hotel.The hotel was ideally located for my schedule: arriving at Frankfurt by train in the late afternoon and leaving from the airport the following morning. You're just minutes away from the station platforms and, with frequent and fast S-Bahn trains leaving from underground platforms at the station, the airport is only a quarter of an hour away. Transport to everywhere else in Frankfurt is also close to hand and the day ticket for Frankfurt transport included as part of my room charge was a great idea. My room was clean, quiet and comfortable -- I found the bed particularly good -- and the bathroom was excellent. There was nothing too peaceful about the breakfast room -- this is a business oriented hotel and there were plenty of people coming and going -- but there was a wide range of good quality food on offer along with tea and coffee that was better than many pricier hotels. I was also impressed by the efficient service at check-in and check-out and the professional, positive and friendly attitude shown by the reception staff. This was a hotel where I felt welcome. I'd be very happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Steve,

thank you very much for your good assessment of your stay . We are pleased that you had a nice time and could use the ticket for public transport.
Have a nice time and hope to welcoming you again,
kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Cristall
#87 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#51 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Frankfurt

Property: InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Address: Poststr. 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCityHotel Frankfurt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only business but also cultural and entertainment events attract many visitors to the Metropolis on the Main, Frankfurt. In any reason for visiting our attractive city, the InterCityHotel will be your ideal base. Located directly at Frankfurt Main Station and being connected to the subway and tram networks, take advantage of your free local public transport in connection with your room ID card and quickly reach Frankfurt's shopping mile, the Zeil, as well as our historic city and the Romer, interesting museums, the financial district or the fair grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Intercityhotel Hotel
Intercity Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing