We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Ranked #92 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location, but that is pretty much it. Very basic rooms but the service was completely terrible. I requested an ironing board, but was told I had to collect it myself and walk halfway around the hotel carrying an ironing board. The staff also lost my laundry (and didn't tell me until I phoned and asked), meaning that I was late for my meeting as they had to find my shirt. Really don't recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    298
    185
    62
    42
See reviews for
51
123
98
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very convenient to the main train station in Frankfurt. Very basic, small rooms and basic amenities--old CRT TVs, etc. However it was very clean and there were no complaints.

The tiny bar area would not attract much of a crowd but we had a great time getting drinks there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

After my first stay, i didn't feel the need to stay at this property again. Yes, the location is fabulous, only 3 minutes from the main station (though, things can get ugly after dark in this quarter). But the rest is not. Its more or less your average business hotel, maybe even on the "less average" side.

Location: The hotel is directly located at the main station. Which means you can be at your train within max. 5 minutes. Its not noisy at all, as you might expect when you hear about the small distance to the train station, but actually very quiet regarding to sounds from outside. Yet, the thin walls will make you hear every sound you neighbor produces.

Reception and Staff:

The reception can sometimes be a bit overcrowded, with the receptionists acting like robots, getting through with every guest as fast as they can, without much personal appeal. This is somehow expected and i do not fault the hotel for this. All in all, they do stay friendly, but a bit cold through the whole process. While i stayed at the hotel, we also had a group dinner and a group lunch. At dinner, there was a problem with our order. They said we ordered one meal less, then we are person who want to eat. Actually we found out that we messed up the order a bit (guests and hotel in a joint effort) and in the end all of us got a meal. But the staff was not very easy about this, i felt they were even trying to put the blame solely on us. Even if it was solely our fault, they shouldn't act this way. We are still guests. So, the staff was mixed bag. Mostly friendly, but robotic, to even being a bit aggressive.

Room and sleep quality:

The room was equipped like a typical IC-hotel room:

Bed, a small desk, a very old tube-tv, air-con (yes, but it was not turned on, when i came into my room), a mini-bar, a small closet and even a table with two chairs. Nothing to write home about, but all in all sufficient.

The last time i was there, i had to very small and narrow single beds, which made sleeping very uncomfortable. This time i had a larger bed (thought still very narrow for two person), which was comfortably hard, but only had a very small pillow. The linen was also fixed a few times already, which gave me a very strange feeling (can't they afford to change the linen when it has holes ? does it need to be fixed and used again ?). But, the hard bedding, the reasonably wide bed and the lucky-to-be-found air-condition, provided a very good sleep for me. Thumbs up for this.

The room was a bit on the small side, but sufficient. The bath room on the other side was quite cramped and also appeared used. The shower handle was in need for replacement and so where quite a few other parts of the bathroom, which had seen better times.

But, all in all the room and the bathroom occurred clean to me and i didn't find any ugly stuff, like i did in other hotels.

I guess there is not much more to write. Just a few things:

They seem to have handled the key-card issue. My door opened perfectly this time, not only after several tries like the last time.

I had lunch and dinner at the restaurant. The food ranged from really good to medicore (tiramisu was stilly icy inside). While the food was sometimes really good, i probably wouldn't want to pay the prices of the hotel for the offered food, as a) the portions are not very big and b) the atmosphere of the restaurant has more or less a cafeteria flair.

The same applies for the breakfast: While you can choose you own quantity here, the offerings are rich in quantity and sometimes also in quality. But don't expect a heavenly breakfast, it is still only a 3 star hotel, which supplies breakfast for over 200 people on most days. The cafeteria-atmosphere also persists here.

They still supply free wifi for 10 hours and give out tickets for free use of public transport. Just ask for these two things, if they do not ask you if you need this. They sometimes forget to ask.

Verdict:

I still do not like the hotel to much (i rarely like german business hotels), but its okay for one or two nights to stay here. I wouldn't plan to use it for holiday though, as it is only a business hotel and it does cater primarily for these client-el. It has it strong points, like free use of public transport, a good breakfast and a fabulous location. Apart from that, everything is a bit average or even less. The hotel needs a good fresh-up in some parts if it doesn't want to loose it's appeal. Location is not everything...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear 3d-razor,
first of all, thank you very much for your detailed coverage of your various stays in our hotel. We are delighted that you were our guest one time before and could use the ticket for public transport. Sorry about the fixed linen in your bed, we will speak to our housekeeping staff immediately.
Please be sure that we also speak to our restaurant staff to train and teach them to be much more friendlier to our guests.
Have a nice time and hope to welcoming you again,
Kind regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Intercity Hotel was 1 of 3 choices we had re our Germany Tour. We decided on this hotel mainly for the location, which is great. Right across the road from the main train station. A short walk to "Old Town". From the outside it looks tiny, but it is like a rabbit's warren, goes on forever. Check in was fine, you also receive a free day transport ticket which is a great bonus Reception area is very small and can get very jammed packed with people, suitcases etc once all the tours are gathering ready to leave . We stayed here before and after the tour. Both rooms that we had were pretty much the same. Standard Double. The start of the tour, we had room 459. Very small basic room. No fridge in the room. Also no Tea & Coffee facilities. Which was disappointing. Our bed was very hard. No extra pillows in the room. Pillows are very soft. Our room on second stay was 547, intially we were given another room but we had to change because it was 2 single beds and not a double as requested. Room 547, once we got it was made up as a single with only one of everything, so we rang reception to let them know, within a short time houskeeping arrived and we left them to sort out what they needed to do. We went off to see the sights. When we came back later that evening, yes we did have 2 pillows, 2 doonas, glasses, etc. But the completely forget to go into the bathroom and add towels etc. So another phone call, but I must say that we did not have to wait long for extra towels. Breakfast had a good variety of hot & cold, so no complaints there. Besides there is plenty of eateries around the train station if you did not like the hotel breakfast which is included with the room. Overall as I said a good base hotel, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Dara,
thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and your opinion about your stay.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay and please excuse the fact that your room was not designed for two people with bed linen. Please be sure that we will speak to our housekeeping staff. All our rooms are equipped with a minibar, we have no rooms in the hotel without a minibar.
We wish you a nice time and best regards,
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is hard to beat if you're travelling anywhere by train. The rooms are comfortable and spotless, if not very luxurious. The staff are friendly and professional, and the breakfast is excellent. the bar area is small, and not very inviting, but there are plenty of other locations near the hotel. This is a great central location if you're just looking for a base for a few days. Value for money is excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights during a business convention. Location is very convenient and interesting; easy to get here by train from the airport, also easy to take the trains outbound. Food and other services are available at the hotel and/or in the train station across the street. I visited the Irish pub about a block away on two nights and it was fun.

The staff are generally pleasant and helpful. Reception staff and lobby bartender were friendly and professional. Breakfast staff were ok but a little bit hurried. Due to my US jet lag I'd take breakfast at 9:45 just before the 10am closing time. However at 10:01 sharp they would start taking down the buffet as noisily as possible, throwing all 30 of the serving spoons into a bucket and piling the food trays onto carts. Each day there were perhaps 3 or 4 people like me still eating at 10:01. I wished the staff would have waited until 10:15 to start this clean up process, as it was very unsettling to start the day with all the dish banging.

Best part of the rooms is the large windows that open; mine faced a quiet street and I could leave the windows open all night in June. Otherwise the rooms are small and the beds are rock hard. If they would replace these "foam chunks" with innerspring mattresses I would definately stay here again. But these beds are so hard that I'd look elsewhere first.

During the trade show weeks all the hotels are overpriced due to capacity. This was no exception, costing over 300 euros on some nights. It's a terrible value but very convenient to the trade show. If you are there during non-trade show weeks the rate should be under 100 Euro. At that rate I'd say it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear bradleystat,
thank you very much for your good assessment of your stay. We are pleased that you had a nice time also in the pub.
Of course we have conducted with our staff in the restaurant an appropriate conversation, that the guests can have breakfast in complete
silence. Please understand that our regular breakfast time ends at 10.00 clock.
It would be nice to welcoming you again and have a good time.
Best regards
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Directly alongside main trainstation - very nice hotel. Good wifi areas and a bar where you feel welcome. The restaurant area is ok for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OptiCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flemingshotels, Manager at InterCityHotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear optican,

thank you very much for your good assessment of your stay. It is very nice to hear that you say bar is good, breakfast is ok and wifi areas are good too.
Thanks a lot and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again. Best wishes to you
Knut Anton Werner
Cluster General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Cristall
#88 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#18 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Hotel Excelsior
#49 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#52 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Frankfurt

Property: InterCityHotel Frankfurt
Address: Poststr. 8 | Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — InterCityHotel Frankfurt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only business but also cultural and entertainment events attract many visitors to the Metropolis on the Main, Frankfurt. In any reason for visiting our attractive city, the InterCityHotel will be your ideal base. Located directly at Frankfurt Main Station and being connected to the subway and tram networks, take advantage of your free local public transport in connection with your room ID card and quickly reach Frankfurt's shopping mile, the Zeil, as well as our historic city and the Romer, interesting museums, the financial district or the fair grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Intercityhotel Hotel
Intercity Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing