We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Stay but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Ranked #43 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Bangalore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Stay but..”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed with friends during April 2013 in twin sharing room. The facilities are good , convenient location with a great view. Hotel was clean , comfortable and breakfast had lot of choices. The staff was friendly and helpful.
My main grouse is wifi was not free . In this day and age free internet has to be a selling point. wifi was very expensive. There was a business center and this was 2 euros per half hour.
Hotel was quite far from Airport and costed me around 30 euros taxi fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousTraveller2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIFRACT, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear CuriousTraveller2711,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
We are glad that that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We are working on a solution for a better and cheaper WiFi for our guests.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    343
    222
    70
    26
See reviews for
105
208
61
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I agree with most of the Reviews I've read, so I'll try to keep this short:

Pro:
- comfortable bed.
- nice views from the upper floors
- balcony
- OK breakfast
- rooms quite spacious
- mini bar with space to add your own stuff or empty fridge

Cons:
- ridiculously expensive Internet ranging from 5 EUR per hour to 19 EUR for 24h!!!!
- some rooms very dated
- balconies have no privacy
- most staff very friendly, some not so much
- about 40 min walk or 12 EUR cab ride from city center (however a few nice places on the Sachsenhausen side of the river)

Personal experience:
Stayed for two nights as part of a conference group, which is why I got to see a number of rooms. Had emailed ahead to ask for a high floor room with good view and have my priority club number added to my reservation. Hotel confirmed my number and acknowledged my request. At check-in no reservation under my PC number - td. After some haggling with the rather tight lipped fellow at the desk was upgraded to ecxecutive room in recognition of my platinium status. Room 2303 had a somewhat fresher look than some of the other rooms I saw and it did have indeed have a nice partial view of the skyline and the airport in the distance. While some of my colleagues complained about noisy rooms, mine was absolutely quiet as it was facing away from the main street.
-

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have very nice vies, those facing away from the main road (towards the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicketo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear wicketo,

Thank you for being a IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We are glad you liked our breakfast selections. Please allow us to apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

So this is my 4th stay at this hotel in 5 years. Quite funny as nothing really has changed! Luckily this time my wife and I actually got a double bed as opposed to the two tiny singles on the last 3 occasions. The separate duvets are weird too!
The hotel is located in the south of the city and is accessible by bus, short walk to the subway or a nice stroll through Sachsenhausen to the city centre. The hotel could do with a little bit of a facelift. The rooms are slightly dated and the televisions are old! The rooms do have a door that opens up onto a balcony which is great to get fresh air. The Internet is expensive too.
The staff are pleasant and mostly helpful. The breakfast is good and there is a good choice of food. The gym is of a decent size and has a few machines, sauna and steam room.
The Bar is very good. Although I didn't eat in there many friends have commented how good the steaks are there.
There are a good few restaurants around the hotel if you fancy the walk. The Italian at the back of the hotel is good and reasonably priced.
I would be happy to stay again as it is a good location and fairly comfortable stay. They just need to sort the price of the Internet and maybe a facelift in the rooms would be good!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the city for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and well situated. Our room had all the expected amenities, including a great bed and spacious bathroom. We didn't use the hotel wifi so I can't comment on that aspect. Our buffet breakfast was delicious, with loads of smoked salmon and a vast array of pastries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agrippina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel many times over the last 10 years. I always found this place convenient and good to stay at. The hotel is just a bit outside the city center. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and you can be in the city center within 10 minutes if you take the bus. You can also walk to Roma or the Main river bank within half an hour.

The rooms were remodeled a few years ago and are still kept very well. Decoration in good taste. There is a balcony in each room and you can have a great view of the city. There are good restaurants in the hotel. Within a few minutes of walk you can get to a great German and a great Italian restaurant nearby,

Staffs are helpful. The gym is well equipped. Room rate is reasonable as far as Frankfurt goes. This is a good place if you want to get out of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A bit of an Anglo-centric title but if there any Holiday Inns in need of a complete refurb (and there are a few) this is the one. It has the feel of a Stasi officers' HQ and you'd expect muffled sounds of thumb-screws being applied in neighbouring rooms. Clean enough though and the staff friendly and a nice Italian restaurant nearby (Casa Isoletta).

A couple of minus points though. When we arrived being Platinum and Gold members we queued at the Priority Check-In part of the reception. And we waited, and waited while the girl who was stationed there just went through the ever-growing usual queue. Now I don't consider myself overly important as a Platinum member and don't really see the need for priority check-in but don't put a sign up when it's not something you do, otherwise we'd have been served third in line instead of sixth or seventh. Internet charges are ridiculously high in HIs and I thought they were waived for Platinum holders but not here. And lastly, the booking with made through Amex was for B&B but by the time we got to the hotel is was Bed only. This is not the first time this has happened with HI (also in Prague) but not sure whether this is an Amex or HI mistake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fido_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Fido_Wokingham,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback.

I am disappointed to hear that the service you received was less than satisfactory. I am truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had during check in and regret that we failed to deliver the highest level of customer care that you deserve. Our staff pay special attention to our elite members and can only offer my sincerest apologies for falling short on our regular standards on this occasion.

As a Platinum elite member, your support and patroage to our hotel are very important. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used for future updates. We all hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the area, you will give our hotel another try and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting ambient trade fair at messe. Good location, 15 minutes by bus to the trade fair, 20 minutes by taxi to the airport. Very helpful English speaking staff. Good food although just ate in at night. ( didn't bother with breakfast as was expensive 18 euros. Very comfortable large beds, clean and good bathroom.

Room Tip: Buses frequent and easy to catch outside hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m40loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#42 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cult
#62 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
#30 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Address: Mailaender Str. 1, 60598 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfurt City - South Conference Centre)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Sachsenhausen-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, the first class hotel that puts your comfort first. Frankfurt am Main is Goethe's home town and the Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt are destination for business travelers, visitors to trade fairs and weekend visitors alike. Frankfurt International Airport, Europe's tourism and goods transportation hub, is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The world famous Frankfurt Trade Fair in the heart of the city is host to the International Automotive Exhibition IAA, the Frankfurt Book Fair as well as 'Heimtextil' and 'Achema'. The Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt was one of the first skyscrapers to be built at the highest point in Sachsenhausen, the favourite destination for skyline spotters. This first class hotel is located in the south of Frankfurt am Main and provides top-rate accommodation with 439 rooms in the Comfort, Executive and Suite categories even guests with the highest of expectations will feel at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfurt City South Conference Centre Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing