We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in an average location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Ranked #44 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed there during the HP Discover on a business trip in early december 2012. The hotel is very tidy and clean but the staff could be more helpful. Some problems with the internet and connections in some rooms in my group.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karelraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 911 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Staff on check in were excellent, very happy to help, and give advice on where to eat, and even offered to call a restaurant to make a reservation for us; nice to get such attention in such a large hotel. The room was of excellent size at the end of a corridor. There was a door in the room with access to a balcony taking in beautiful views of Frankfurt's skyline. Although the decor was slightly dated, the bed was very comfy, and the big old radio was actually a nice touch, very retro! The hotel has lots of parking, and was just a short walk from what I considered to be your typically touristy pedestrianised street, full of restaurants and bars. I would have loved to be staying longer, and I would definitly return

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to take in the views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EimearT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We flew to Frankfurt for a Cosmos Central Europe tour got here a day early to unwind from Texas to Germany time change. Staff very helpful and let us check in at 10 am which was great after overnight flight. Large, clean room well equipped with heat very comfortable. Good included breakfast with more variety and choices than expected. . Ate in Bierstube, split a mixed grille was good and got introduced to great German beer. Yes it is outside the city yet there is great bus service to Frankfurt which we used.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We joined a european tour and this was part of the package tour. Located quite a distance from the city center and the hotel is quite old. Rooms size is okay and tolerable. The only good point i can say about this hotel is there is a bus stop in front.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Sept 2012 it was the start of a Cosmos Tour. The rooms were good. The hotel itself is very isolated with no facilities close by. The food in the hotel pub was microwaved, terrible and very overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Pockets08,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. We would like to apologize that you felt the prices and quality of food served were not satisfactory. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. The hotel was a very acceptable corporate hotel though with the decor of 1980s USA. Watch out for the WiFi though - there is a cheaper rate if you only want to collect mobile devices. (The reception staff didn't inform me so I ended up paying more for a "PC connection". Though why there are 2 rates is another question!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 2 nights here at the end of a Cosmos tour. The hotel is a huge building with a fanstastic staff. Rooms are very large with fantastic views of the south of Frankfurt. It is walking distance to bars and restaurants of Alt Sachsenhausen and a few additonal minutes walk to the river. Breakfast buffet was very nice and there are 2 large rooms serving food. I was glad to see personal safes available, you just need to check in at the front counter to get a small "coin" that needs to be inserted to the safe. There are large glass doors that are near the elevators, so it deadens the noise from the room corridors so a light sleepy like myself can hear no noise from the hallways.

There are 2 good restuarants a short walk up the hill. One traditional German restuarant and "touristy" Italian restaurant just another block further up the hill. A group of ate at the Italian restaurant and I would only recommned it if you are tired of German food and wish to get somehing a little different. I wish I had goen to the German restaurant as I understood service, food and prices were better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
Derag Livinghotel Frankfurt
#47 of 271 in Frankfurt
85 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
NH Frankfurt Niederrad
#29 of 271 in Frankfurt
783 reviews
Hotel Cult
#71 of 271 in Frankfurt
412 reviews
Niederrad
INNSIDE by Melia Frankfurt Niederrad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt

Address: Mailaender Str. 1, 60598 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfurt City - South Conference Centre)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Sachsenhausen-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $79 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt, the first class hotel that puts your comfort first. Frankfurt am Main is Goethe's home town and the Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt are destination for business travelers, visitors to trade fairs and weekend visitors alike. Frankfurt International Airport, Europe's tourism and goods transportation hub, is only 20 minutes from the hotel. The world famous Frankfurt Trade Fair in the heart of the city is host to the International Automotive Exhibition IAA, the Frankfurt Book Fair as well as 'Heimtextil' and 'Achema'. The Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt was one of the first skyscrapers to be built at the highest point in Sachsenhausen, the favourite destination for skyline spotters. This first class hotel is located in the south of Frankfurt am Main and provides top-rate accommodation with 439 rooms in the Comfort, Executive and Suite categories even guests with the highest of expectations will feel at home here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfurt City South Conference Centre Hotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing