We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good surprise”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #29 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I went to Frankfurt for a two days after Christmas, ans was looking for an easy low-cost hotel, as my plan was to spend most of the time visiting the city. The price and location of Victoria Hotel seemed fine to me, 2 blocks of the Central Station and close to the downtown. In addition, they had triple room, what would be useful in my case. Actually, it is a little bit old building, and the decoration shows it. But is very clean and nothing was broken or dirty, what is the most important. The rooms are large, even the double, and comfortable. The employees are nice helpful and speak very good english. The breakfast was well served, with good options according to a standard German one. I think it is a good option for short visit to Frankfurt, as tourist or businessman.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flavio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 487 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

The Victoria Hotel is not fancy--don't expect a resort hotel--but it's an excellent choice if you need sensible, clean accomodations in a convenient location.

The hotel appears to be newly refurbished--the first floor had active construction going on. The construction will not impact your stay--we only noticed it because the elevator stopped on that floor.

The rooms are small--single rooms are downright tiny--but efficienty arranged and immaculately clean. Although the room was non-smoking, we got a faint smoke aroma, which seemed to get worse at night--I think someone was smoking in a nearby room. Although our room fronted the street we heard no street noise through the well-insulated windows. Our double room had two narrow beds (as is typical in Germany) and fluffy duvets. The heating system worked well. The bathroom has a tub/shower arrangement with an exceptionally deep tub raised slightly above floor level. If you have mobiity issues this could be a problem; if you love deep bathtubs, you'll be in heaven.

The staff spoke English and were polite and friendly without being overly friendly and were very helpful.

There is a computer in the lobby for free Internet access. It's a Windows machine in German. If you want internet in your room, you can get wireless through The Cloud for a price.

Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage, and juice as well as a lot of food such as vegetables, cheese, smoked fish, and dark bread that Americans tend to associate with cocktail parties rather than with breakfast.

We were somewhat worried about the neighborhood because we knew it bordered on the red-light district. We needn't have worried. Kaiser Strasse is a busy, bustling area that feels very safe in the daylight hours and into the evening. There are four or five businesses in the area that clearly, to adult eyes, have some rather unsavory offerings, but they're discreet enough about their business that you'll never have to expain to your kids why there's a naked lady in the window. You will also spot two or three homeless people on the way from the station to the hotel, but they're all over Frankfurt, so it's not like this neighborhood is unique in that respect.

On the plus side, the neighborhood is extremely diverse and has a very large number of good ethnic restaurants. The Thai takeout place and the bakery across the street are both very good. A block of Kaiser Strasse is blocked off every Tuesday and Thursday for a food market--very interesting.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CarenWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We were pleasantly surprised by this wonderful hotel that is just two blocks from the main train station (Hbf). It has grand marble stairs and everything was very clean. A great hot breakfast was included. There are lots of great restaurants in the area, plus it is only a few blocks to the riverfront foot bridge, the Opera, etc. What a great place to stay if you need to be at the Airport for a flight the next day. We were able to leave the hotel, walk to the train station and be at the airport in just 15 minutes (10 of which was the train ride). There is a free Internet computer in the lobby and the front desk staff spoke flawless English and was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ITDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We (parents and two kids) stayed here for
a night at the end of the August 2007 Museumsuferfest.
It is a clean hotel; suite 512 was a good size for 4 people
but it was unclear whether the air conditioning would have
worked had we needed it. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast, but no hot items. Fast Internet access on computer in lobby. Hotel is near what appears to be red-light district, but the area also features many eateries and is close to main train station.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EugeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

My experience at the Hotel Victoria was very positive. It is very near the Frankfurt main train station with several restrauants and cafes around. The staff are extremely helpful, especially to foreigners who are not familar with local area. The hotel is near a red light area, but it is not in this area only near it. The cost is reasonable and a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sleepy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My stay at the Victoria Hotel in Frankfurt was a pleasant one, The hotel is very basic, clean, central and the staff was friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was also very good. We were 2 people on this trip and booked a triple room which was the same price as a twin room at the time. The room was spacious and the bathroom very clean. The only drawback was the busy street outside the hotel. Nothing earplugs can't fix. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marcodejongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2007

The Victoria Hotel am Main is a great hotel. I love the hotel’s close location to the Main train station. This makes the transition from the airport to the city very simple. The breakfast was wonderful! The staff was very helpful. The rooms were small but very clean and comfortable. There is computer/internet access in the lobby. The only draw back to this hotel was the adult stores in this area of town.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank javabeaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 271 in Frankfurt
737 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 271 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#24 of 271 in Frankfurt
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#22 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,386 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 271 in Frankfurt
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Kaiserstr. 59, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#44 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $108 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing