We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic yet good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
Ranked #63 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed April 19, 2012

it is a decent place to stay on business.
the rooms are tidy and good for night's sleep.
the hotel is situated close to a railway station and Messe is very close.
a good place to stay in cold winters. however, i am not sure whether it shall be agood option for summer months.

Room Tip: A good option if you are travelling for Exhibition at Messe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 622 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is your typical budget hotel. I am currently staying here on business and had to book this room because everything else in Frankfurt is full. Some comments:

-There is no restaurant in the hotel so forget room service. There is a light breakfast buffet for 13 EUR. However, if you walk 20 steps to the train station, there is a fresh fruit market right outside and a bakery with sweet treats inside so i'd recommend spending your 13 EUR there instead.

-This is right across the street from the S-bahn which is very convenient.

-Not the best neighborhood at night. Don't go for a run in the evening.

-No bottled water in the room

Overall, its just an ok hotel and its more like a 3 star in my book.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

A hotel that does not look like a hotel, a reception resembling a huge shop window, and no driveway (taxis have to pretty much invade the sidewalk). We were given a 1st floor room, with a view of mechanicals and cigarette butt-peppered roof. The area itself is not attractive at all, and nothing of our interest was within the walking distance. Breakfast is NOT included, and wi-fi, though free, was snail-like and barely usable. The room itself was clean, albeit strangely appointed, with separate toilet and shower areas and non-hotel like furnishings. None of the above would be a deal-breaker, if it hadn' been for a tiny boiler capable of filling a tiny tub only half way with hot water. By the time it heated up again, the water in the tub was already stone-cold, so it was all over in circles again. We asked the reception for another room, but were told they're all the same. For this reason alone, the hotel is a definite no-no for me, and for US$ 112, you can get more bang for your buck in Frankfurt

Room Tip: Definitely not the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IgorDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is an eco hotel that means for every room only 80 liters of hot water can be used at one time. If one travel with 2 persosns and wanted to take a shower then it means no hot water for the next person, too bad. Have to wait for another 20 minutes before one get hot water again.The room is small but clean. Not for big persosns while shower cabin is so small. I have difficulty taking shower. Near the central station and nite time expect the noise from trains.
The breakfast room is located at the cellar. First breakfast must eat in the dark, problem hotel had short circuit breakdown. Hotel is not Grand as what is supposed to be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IluminadaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for about 4 weeks in may 2011. Liked the location, pretty close to the city center and good S-Bahn connections. The room was clean and had sort of a young vibe furniture. Service was great, staff nice and friendly. If I will visit Frankfurt in the future, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. Both the check-in/check-out were very slow as there was only 1 employee servicing the desk, who also shared a duty of a barman (the check-in area extends into a bar). The room and the beds were very comfortable but the trains traveling at night under our window were quite noticeable even with the windows closed. Also, we could not connect to the hotel's free internet service (which was one of main reasons why we chose this hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indunlao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Booking through Expedia, I've spent 8 nights at this hotel while working on a research project. True the hotel is on the doorstep of Galluswarte Rail Station and if you have a room at the rear of the hotel, you will occasionally hear the loud noise of freight trains passing by...they are perhaps 20yards from your window, and unless you have our window closed, you might be disturbed in the night. However, I wasn't so troubled by this, but I imagine this being uncomfortable for older/fussier travellers.

The hotel itself is EXCELLENT value for money. I had a Business Class double bedroom and was met by immaculate presentation, contemporary furniture, a decent sized desk and a very comfortable bed. The shower room had contemporary fittings and was fully functional. This is an eco friendly hotel, hot water is on a timer, and if you want it at a specific time you have to ask the reception, but again, this was not a problem and I was impressed by their attitudes towards energy saving. The rooms also include a new 32 inch plasma screen and full length mirror.plenty of power sockets too!

Housekeeping were pleasant and attentive. Reception were very genuine, friendly and understanding, speaking very good English. They immediately resolved a problem when Expedia made an error with my booking dates.

The foyer is modern and has a lounge with coffee and alcoholic beverages served. Breakfast IS included despite what Expedia were describing, and this was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was very substantial, varied and accommodated a vegetarian diet too. Coffee making facilites are available on request, but again this was not a problem - a kettle and selection of coffee was provided immediately on request. There is also a good sized drinks fridge in the room and a complimentary bottle of water. If you're lucky housekeeping will also leave you a packet of Haribo on your pillow! lol!

There is a gym with a new treadmill, mutilgym, crosstrainer and TV. The sauna is also excellent, but again eco-friendly so activated only when in use. It takes about 20 mins to heat up.

Frankfurt au Main station is one stop away, so the hotel could not be better positioned in this regard. There are also plenty of take aways, restaurants, supermarkets and coffee shops, but most takeaways close at the weekend as this is a more of a business location. Frankfurt central is basically a short ride away so this was not an issue.

I would have no hesitation returning to this hotel - superb value for money, oh and did I mention the free wi-fi? Excellent reception with this too!! This is a new hotel, I hope they are able to keep up the standards! I'll be back - thankyou, a satisfied customer!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building, the rail track is located behind and for many would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marineboy_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
DORMERO Hotel Frankfurt
#71 of 271 in Frankfurt
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#56 of 271 in Frankfurt
589 reviews
The Corner Hotel
#51 of 271 in Frankfurt
396 reviews
Innenstadt
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt-Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt

Address: Mainzer Landstr. 261-263, 60326 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Frankfurt)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $66 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city centre of Frankfurt, the TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt is ideal for your next business trip to the city. Situated close to the Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof main railway station and Messe Frankfurt, our Frankfurt on Main hotel allows you to explore the city with ease no matter the purpose of your trip. Relax in your comfortable guest room, with amenities that include free Wi-fi, a flat screen television, a coffee maker and a mini refrigerator, safe and air conditioning. Our pet-friendly hotel also features a free gym and sauna, allowing you the chance to relax after spending the day traveling through the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing