We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Local as local gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Rad

Zum Rad
Ranked #322 of 2,277 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
794 reviews
443 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Local as local gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is a bit outside of the city center but well worth the trip. The restaurant is in a residential area and frequented by mostly Getman. This is an Apfelwein place but they do serve beer and regular wine, which some of these places don't. I had the pork knuckle, hand käse, grune sausse all made to perfection. I highly recommend this place for its atmosphere, food and great service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reslimpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We brought a large group (9) for dinner here. It was raining so we couldn't enjoy the beer garden, but it really didn't matter. With the wooden tables and benches inside, the candles and loud crowds, the atmosphere was excellent. Spargel was in season, and this place does a terrific job with it. The meats we were served were perfect, and the apfelwine they make is truly the best I have had. And you can't eat here without trying the green herb sauce. The servers and host were great, too. Next time I come to Frankfurt this place is at the top of my list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattyaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a must if you are in Frankfurt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the restaurant is quite away from the down town but the 12-15 euro for the taxi will be really well paid. the food is the most classical you can find in Frankfurt.

more, the building is old and like it was, a jump in the past.
a kind of cellar mixed with a pub.
mainly local people only, everyday dressed, very very easy .... seems to be in large family.
seem to be in holiday .. for a few hours.

knuckle of pork is the king of the plates.
Gebraten Haxe = baked knuckle
Gekochte Haspel = boiled knuckle
..... eisbein... or schweinshaxe don't work even if the meaning is the same.

even if they don't speak nothing but german you will not find any problem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 888Canever888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never been there? Go there!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Since many years, Zum Rad in Seckbach/ Frankfurt is the most favourite restaurant for us. In summer you can sit in a beautiful large garden restaurant, in winter time you sit in a very cosy, athmospheric restaurant, nicely decorated with wood paneling, benches/ tables and a tiled stove. The food is excellent, varied and rich, whatever you choose it is delicious - of course it is traditional German food, mostly comes with meat, but also nice salad plates are available. And then .... the Appelwoi (english: apple wine or cider). This is a very traditional drink and you can't make a mistake, tasting it. The service is very attentive and friendly, although they have to be so busy in rush hours. Price are absolutely appropriate. Parking is a problem as streets are very narrow and parking is not allowed. Zum Rad is the right choice and highly recommended for a nice evening after a hard day in casual environment, surrounded by happy, nice people. We will always come back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
“Great food and Atmosphere.. good friendly service....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have traveled to Frankfurt 7 times in the past 10 years....... I have visited this restaurant at least once if not more on each occasion . I will be there the next time I am in Frankfurt which is September 2. 2012. You cannot go wrong with the food...applewine or atmosphere at this locale........Highly recommended ........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Rad also viewed

 

Been to Zum Rad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing