We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Christmas stay”
Review of NH Frankfurt Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Frankfurt Messe
Ranked #8 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A perfect Christmas stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The NH Hotel Messe was a perfect hotel for us during our recent six-night stay over the holidays. We have stayed at (and reviewed) several Frankfurt hotels, given our family ties here and the convenient flight connections at Frankfurt airport, and would rate the NH Messe among the top.

The hotel is a bit away from the core of town and mainly caters to visitors of the various trade fairs. But outside the peak trade fair periods, very good deals can be had. In our case, the nightly rate was highly competitive; a truly good deal (we paid Euro 79 per night). On the other hand, breakfast while good is way overpriced (at Euro 20 per person)--maybe affordable to a business traveler but certainly not for a leisure stay. Given our long stay, we were able to negotiate getting breakfast at half this price. But the hotel may not always be amenable to such a deal. There are not too many cafes nearby, but a ten-minute walk could yield some interesting options (e.g., Cafe Laumer on Bockenheimer Landstrasse, a Frankfurt institution).

Our room was very comfy and spotless, helped by a nice hardwood floor and an elegant mix of tiles and wood in the bathroom. We adored the reading lights above the bed; they were like a medieval baldachin. The room was very quiet, and the soft bed lines and hard mattress ensured a good-nights sleep.

Finally, coming back to the location: subway line U4 provides frequent service to the main train station (1 stop), the historic core (3 stops), and the main shopping street (4 stops). It also links the hotel to the quaint neighborhoods of Bornheim and Bockenheim, and the lively Berger Strasse, with tons of excellent and very affordable restaurants and bars. There also are good tram and bus connections to other parts of town. A day pass is a very good deal. But as mentioned above, apart from very few restaurants in some of the side streets, the area around the hotel is pretty quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    273
    43
    4
    4
See reviews for
83
177
41
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Kerry
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We found this hotel perfect for our 3 night stay in Frankfurt with another couple. The location is about a 10-15 minute walk from the Haupbanhof station but if you have luggage definitely take a taxi. Make sure to ask for the NH Hotel in Messe, don't ask for the Messe Hotel which is another establishment.
We flew Ryanair into Hahn and got the 9.15 bus from there to Frankfurt. It stops in Mainz and then again in Frankfurt am main Airport before letting you off at a stop alongside a carpark without too many signposts. However when you get your luggage unloaded, if there are no taxis there walk back in the opposite direction the bus is parked and taxis are within 5 minutes.

The NH Messe Hotel staff were extremely helpful at reception. The rooms were perfect and the beds extremely comfortable. Shower very good, without being a power shower. The breakfast area was also perfect with several choices for mueslis and breakfast cereals, nuts and dried fruits. Various fruits, cheeses and yogurts breads and pastries, teas and coffees etc and breakfast juices also. the Chef came out to us to ask if we wanted any cooked breakfast items. we choose scrambled eggs and toast which were delicious.

we got a few late night drinks at the bar at reception to round off our evening. A very classy touch was the jugs of water with twists of herb and fruit, the homemade pastries and bowls of sweets that were available at the reception area.

All the staff we dealt with spoke good English and we would like to thank Saana particularly who organised a typical German restaurant for us before we arrived.

we arrived quite late the first night and went next door to Jimmys bar where if you can land a table they serve food until two in the morning. Be aware it is a smoking bar. Actually more like an old fashioned gentlemans club where everyone smokes cigars. However if you can stand the smoking and you land a table, the food is excellent and served until late.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dommags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights and the main purpose of our visit was to see the Christmas market. The location was excellent, it was close to the city centre and market and the underground station was opposite the hotel. It was a 5 minute ride on a frequent service. The room was excellent, bed comfortable and tea / coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast was buffet style and again good quality and value for money. The staff were helpful. friendly and always polite, greeting you whenever entering and leaving the hotel. I would definitely book again on a future visit to Frankfurt

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here because we had to take care personal business. This place is about a 15 min walk from the City Centre and right across the street from one of the many train stations. So if you lazy or if its cold, you can take the train to where ever... The good thing about this place is that we were able to find free parking on the side of the hotel.. that was great because all the other hotels in and around the city centre you have to pay an arm and a leg to park... this hotel is good because we paid $102 on a Sunday night... The beds are soft and the room is EXTREMELY quiet. Nice bathroom too... AND free internet... We didn't try the breakfast (20 euros is too much so we didn't try it)... Other than that if you are in Frankfurt on Business this is the place to stay due to the nearby train and other public transport. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riols, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Someone else said: "nice, clean, quiet and new". That about does it folks, but there are small touches of design and class which makes this a little more special than the price would suggest. Think The Hoxton in London minus the glam and the quirks and you are there. Add to all the above a good location with public transport and the Messe on your doorstep with free wifi and friendly service complimenting the localition. Breakfast at €20 seemed over the top, but they do a light breakfast box for €7.50 which seemed more appropriate.

Room Tip: Any will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquesward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Really enjoyed it. Nice, clean, quiet and new. Adequately priced. Images true to life. Located right in front of one of entrances to the Messe. Excellent service — they even sent me a leftover item free of charge. Will come back anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oksidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place at an unbeatable price! Spacious, clean, well furnished and with great staff, free wifi... What else can you ask for? My wife and and (and our one year old son) loved our stay and will probably come back every time we are in Frankfurt!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
708 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 269 in Frankfurt
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Adina Apartment Hotel Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#4 of 269 in Frankfurt
537 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Frankfurt Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Frankfurt Messe

Property: NH Frankfurt Messe
Address: Friedrich-Ebert-Anlage 38, 60325 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Westend-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Frankfurt Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Frankfurt Messe hotel is a brand new facility, opened in 2011, ideally located for business travelers directly across from the Frankfurt Messe fair and trade show grounds. Now you can enjoy a stylish ambience and relaxing comfort right at the entrance to the world-class Frankfurt Messe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Frankfurt Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing