We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apfelwein”
Review of Salzkammer

Salzkammer
Ranked #22 of 2,490 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Apfelwein”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We walked in and saw the average age of 45 or 50 and that's quite a bit older than we are (18 and 20). Still the first impression was positive so we thought we'd give it a try. The waiter recommended us to try the classic apple-wine which is common in the state "Hessen" where Frankfurt is located. We did, and it is quite good. We ordered the "Geschnetzeltes vom Lam mit Rösti-Kartoffeln" and "Spargelsuppe" with an Cappuchino as desert. My fried ordered "Weißwürste" and a Latte Macchiato as desert. We both had an apple wine. All together we were at 43€ (incl. 10% tip) so we didn't think that was too bad. The restaurant was booked out for this evening. We were moved to the bar at 6pm because our table was reserved. Another proof of quality as I think. Just have to say, the food might be a little salty or heavy but good. Typical german food. "Herzhafte ländliche Küche" as we would say in German.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendler-Philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    152
    46
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a very good service.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Very well located just around Goethe House, this restaurant offers good german food, with a reasonable price. Frankfurt 7 spieces soup was a good selection to start with. I tried also wildboar, and it was nice too. It would improve if it had some contrast sauce (sweet). Beer it's like in all Germany: great. The exterior area is very nice, but they have a lot of reservations, so call in advance if you plan to have dinner early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Signore_Colomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAPAN
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wiener Schnitzel done right”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a nice, centrally located restaurant advertising Austrian roots. Schnitzel was done well, the Wiener Backhendl tasty, the beer was fresh. The Schnitel came with home fries, the chicken with a mustard potato salad. We had no complaint but found the amount of over 40 Euro for lunch a bit steep. Service needed to be prompted, but when prompted was courteous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“souper starter & a plateful for a main”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pumpkin soup was divine & the farmers plate main was very ample & delicious. Staff spoke good english and even joked with us! Enjoyed the winter starkbier and service was good despite the busy-ness of a Friday evening. Definately recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antonyschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Warm & welcoming-child friendly”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

A lovely welcome, a nice table, nice restaurant decorations. It was child friendly, which was a plus for us. The food was beautifully presented, and tasted wonderful! The Gluhwein was perfect and served with a chocolate coffee bean! Very clean place to eat, the staff friendly and spoke English. They had English menus, too. Well worth a visit! The pumpkin soup was awesome! :0)

Helpful?
Thank ConeyImagesPhotograp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salzkammer also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Salzkammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing