We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great wine and food pairings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heimat

Heimat
Ranked #63 of 2,295 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
206 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great wine and food pairings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very small restaurant with a limited but very creative menu. We really enjoyed the appetizer of grilled calamari and shrimp with arugula, rocket and watermelon. Our main courses were sea bass and corn fed chicken. Both dishes were cooked perfectly. Take advantage of the good selection of local wines by the glass. We tried three different Rieslings with our meal and each was perfect for that course. Be sure to reserve early as there is limited seating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    46
    13
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and lovely wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I was in the mood to try something unexpected and was referred to Heimat by a local contact. The location is very small and intimate by with a great vibe. The kitchen is tiny which meant somewhat 'leisurely' service, but the staff was attentive and I was well-looked after. The menu is somewhat small, but delicious and inventive. Huge wine list. The prices are definitely on the high side, but I felt it was worth it. A nice touch of an amuse bouche and small desert at the end - very classy. I will absolutely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeremymmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Small, must book well in advance. Great wines, food and cheeses. Smallest kitchen ever. Staff friendly and English speaking. Menu simple and it's all about the wine. Sit at the bar and watch the staff is good fine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat-kiwis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Was there with my wife and another couple, nice interior, excellent wine list... although pricy... go here if you are into wine, menu choice is a bit to limited in my opinion, i had foie gras to start, to be honest we thought it was a little bit too sweet, we all had veal cutlet for main which was excellent, possibly the best veal ive ever had, although it was a touch over seasoned... too much pepper... again possibly a bit overpriced considering the amount of choice you get.... the only real minus point for us was the the service, to say 1 or 2 of the waitress were ice cold would be an understatement, unfriendly with a look of ..dont dare ask me for anything!!!... it became a running joke with the table beside us over the ice lady... still it did not ruin a great evening

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gjarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went to Heimat in our last night in Frankfurt. We wanted something good. And we were lucky. Great food, although the menu is written only in German, but one of the waitress spoke Portuguese, our native tongue. And the wine list is a must. Fantastic.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Riowinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heimat also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Heimat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing