We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, with a small patio”
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ranked #47 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westend-Sud
Description: Monday, nationalholiday Closed.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

I am not a sashimi eater therefore I can judge, however I would share that the place is cute, food is fresh (I had Soy beans, chicken yakitori and grilled salmon and miso soup), and atomphere relaxing sitting in the patio.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank ChrisSep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 337 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

It is a bit pricey but the quality is very good. The fish is excellent an very fresh, the service great. The cook makes the same jokes at all the tables, and he laughs loudest. A great place to enjoy an evening out.

Date of visit: April 2016
1  Thank Wendy732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016

I don't review much but this place was so good that I felt I had to share it.

This not another fancy over-styled pretencious place. Once you come in, you feel that you are in Japan.

The chef was was very funny and welcoming and the food was exelent and reasonably priced.

Also, finaly a place that does not play pop music for dinner (they played clasical when I was there).

BTW: if you are looking for nuddles this is not the place. but if it's great sushi that you want, this is the spot!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paola r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

The place is small, is not fancy, not new. Just ok. The waiter is a very special man, the humor could be uncomfortable, specially first times. The prices are not cheap, about 25e with a drink.

The sushi is just the best of the city. 6 starts sushi for a secret gem.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank MostVotedReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Visited for the first time in December 2015.
It's quite small but we had no trouble getting in. It was getting full when we left there.
I enjoyed a Donburi (a bowl of rice) topped with tuna & salmon and was excellent.
Great service, confortable, warm and friendly.
Well worth it!

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank AAACCC_fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.