We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent and Great Value”
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ranked #47 of 2,455 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $41
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Westend-Sud
Description: Monday, nationalholiday Closed.
Reviewed November 23, 2015

I have been here several times and never been let down. Compared to the other Japanese restaurants filled with Japanese clients in Frankfurt we've been to, this is the best value you can find. The lunch and dinner options are the right price for the high quality served and the service is always very good. Everything from the miso soup to the green tea ice cream is delicious. We will certainly continue to return.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brennsag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 337 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2015

my wife and went for an early dinner, we were there when the owner/chef opened the doors. he was obviously disappointed when we told him that we didn't have a reservation. despite his disapproval we followed him inside and had a brilliant meal, everything served was very good, not first class, as well as the sake he recommended.

did he lighten up? absolutely. the chef and his wife? were very easy to turn around, lightened with some smiles, laughter and our poor german and limited japanese. it's not cheap but worth the trip, besides its not often ones gets to practice bowing outside of japan. I love the social respect of the japanese.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank giles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2015

I visited the restaurant in February. This time we made a reservation for the dinner. The chef was really excited for us to come in. He explained how to eat sushi properly and asked us a bunch of stuff. We ate sushi menu with additional makis. The sushi was again really good. Be sure to take the wasabi salad dressing.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nejc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2015

Do NOT EVER go there without reservation, because you can be so embarrassed... The owner was so rude and I was so wrong missing his "fully booked" sign on the door.

Date of visit: September 2015
6  Thank lizzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015

This place is very family style. The sushi isn't first class and quite pricey too. But I guess this is the standard in Frankfurt. The chef is funny and I guess his humour is not commonly accepted. The Russian girl working there also made it up, she was quite energetic and positive even there was a lot of customers.

I only complain the wait for food is quite long, and that the area around restaurant is fairly dark at night.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank kingyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.