We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tastes good, but..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuri

Matsuri
Ranked #55 of 2,444 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Westend-Süd
Description: Monday, nationalholiday Closed.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tastes good, but..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I don't think I will go there again, as the master of this restaurant is so arrogant! he is too proud of his skills, and complains heavily about customers saying that they do not understand AT ALL about SUSHI. he can say whatever he wants, but I'd rather go to the restaurant where the atmosphere is good and I could enjoy my food. I think I could find other restaurants which offer similar or better quality of food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank grisgrisgris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    31
    11
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real Japanese feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This restaurant was a happy surprise. I ate a very nice sushi meny, it was tasty all the way from the starter to the very very good Japanese green tea ice cream (I usually don't like tea in ice cream). The effort and time that was put into the very nicely plated sushi was really worth waiting for I thougt.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lelleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best original japanese place in Frankfurt!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have been to Japan recently and I couldn't believe when I found this place in Frankfurt - it looked and tasted like Japan. The place is simple but the food prepared by the japanese couple is amazing! It is really worth the visit! And save some space for the green tea ice cream...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pocanhontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Went and had Sushi outside on the terrace. The Miso soup was ok, the Hamachi was not the Hamachi you find in the US (but then again, you never find that good Hamachi anywhere in Europe). The Unagi, however, was made very well, grilled and with Unagi sauce on top. They also offer an Unagi + rice bowl, for Unagi lovers (Unagi Don). The Salmon was very good, and they also had Toro, which is hard to find in Europe. The service was extremely friendly and I will definitely return whenever I come to the area. The prices are high for average European tastes, but really, Sushi is not french fries and hamburgers. I think you really get your money's worth, but only if you can appreciate good sushi. If you think Sushi is just raw fish sliced on rice, go elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumkin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuri also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing