We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No-frills German food in an authentic setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baseler Eck

Baseler Eck
Ranked #117 of 2,454 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: German, International, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No-frills German food in an authentic setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a German restaurant serving mainly meats, sausages, potatoes and the other types of food you'd expect from this type of place. The beer was good, service quick and efficient if a bit brusque. It was a good night out, we didn't spend a fortune and nobody left hungry. Job done!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mednad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    140
    22
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey/Hants border
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Went on recommendation and weren't disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose Baseler Eck on recommendation from Trip Advisor and were really pleased with our choice: the menu had a good variety of German foods to try. The service was really good, especially as some reviews had said otherwise, it was a really nice surprise. The restaurant was busy, but they found us somewhere to sit and we were really well looked after. I had a lentil and sausage soup. For only 6.80€ I thought it was really good value for a main course, not to mention tasty! What we liked the most was the atmosphere: the staff were helpful when we wanted serving, but gave us the space to enjoy our table as long as we wanted it. We ended up staying there all evening. The feel of the place is very comfortable and homely. I would definitely return if I ever visit Frankfurt again. There were lots of things on the menu I'd like to try and I thought it was great value. Plus anywhere that gives you a free schnapps after your meal always gets the thumbs up in my book, they also let you have separate bills per person. Worth remembering if you don't want the hassle of splitting the bill. I liked this restaurant a lot!!!

Helpful?
Thank BimboDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

As a flight attendant, have gone here for 30+ years. The food is great and ALWAYS consistent. Gerd and Heidi, owners and servers are amazing. They together run the place alone. Americans are used to the fast paced, eat & run, but Europe is quite the opposite, so don't be offended if you feel he is slow, it's worth the wait. Gerd is not the friendliest, quite German, but can be warm and fuzzy sometimes. He gets more irritated once the big crowd arrives, and we Americans like to change and substitute the menu, not a good idea in Germany. Go early for faster service, b4 6pm.
I LOVE this place!!! Makes me want to slap my Mama it's sooo good!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Now if he could only muster a smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Some great German food, mashed potatoes and meat with some sauerkraut (I shouldn't have picked the last part though) in a great original setting....

But why can't the guy who serves it ever smile? Must be a German......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveDeVylder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

This restaurant has an extensive menu. They cater to travelers, especially airline pilots. Just look at the airline stickers on the wall. The food is great, the deserts are great as well. Schnapps may flow after your meal courtesy of the owners. This is a real Mom and Pop place and is outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smokey1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baseler Eck also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Baseler Eck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing